We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxing ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“great relaxing ambiance”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

me n my friend stayed there for 4 days n we were so impressed with their service. from the time we were met by the driver to resort, a warm welcome from a receptionist with a refreshing towel n fresh coconut drink. they also welcome us in a traditional way (red dot on the forhead). while we were checking in n told about the programme, they took our bag in the room. we took a normal lake view room, the facilities is good enough for the basic room. but i have to say the resort is very beautiful. u can feel the peaceful n relaxing atmosphere from every corner. even there were other guests but we didnt feel annoyed or disturbed at all. and the best thing about this place is the staff. they are so friendly n helpful. u can tell they were also well trained. this point makes a big difference for me campared to other places. and another best thing is food. we didnt expect at all that we would have enjoyed the indian food this much. the taste, the appreance n the presentation are so perfect. the activities they have in this hotel mostly is good for relaxing n enjoying the beauty of nature. it was a good break from a busy city life for us. i have to say, it's worth everything we spent at this resort n we would like to come back here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supawan1782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination. It is a pleasure to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and found our services up to the mark .Your positive comments on our service is really a source of inspiration for our staff.We the Fragrant Nature team earnestly thank you for sharing this valuable comments on this public forum.

We look forward to serve you again on your next visit to Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    150
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
232
203
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed here for a night on the way down south through Kerala. The location is incredible - right on the edge of a beautiful lake. We watched the sun go down and the fishermen come out in the canoes, and the colours change from blue to pink to violet. We stayed in a villa - the bedroom was comfortable, the bathroom was smaller than expected, the sitting room area felt fated and not worth the extra price. The view from the balcony was truly amazing. Unfortunately the villa was advertised as detached and peaceful, but it adjoined another villa (some are detached, some aren't) which was occupied by a very noisy family with two small children, and didn't give us the peace we hoped for! Reception staff addressed our concerns very efficiently the next morning, and immediately gave us a generous discount, but by then the tranquiltiy of our break had been shattered. The hotel had a Kathakali performance in the evening, which was unexpected and fantastic. The restuarant was OK, but was a buffet instead of the multi-cuisine that was advertised. Nothing wrong with the food, but if you're looking for a break from South Indian cuisine as we were at that point, a bit of a disappointment. Overall, I think a great escape for families of groups of friends, not quite what we were looking for as a couple. But the location is truly amazing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_and_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at fragrant nature and it is a pleasure to know that you have loved the location and the cultural program.We are really sorry for the disturbance caused by the other family, This was the first time we are experiencing such a problem and will certainty look into this matter and all other concerns .

Looking forward to host you again at fragrant nature on your next visit and assure you a unforgettable holiday experience in all means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Fragrant nature could be an amazing resort. We stayed 2 nights whilst heading from the backwaters to Trivandrum. The great things about this hotel:
Reception staff are amazing will try and help with anything you need.
The location is absolutely stunning on the edge of the lake, and the general ambiance of the hotel is luxurious
Boat ride on the lake is very beautiful

Not so good bits
Wifi connection only in reception and only sitting literally next to reception desk
Restaurant staff - most were amazing BUT 1 or 2 had personal space issues. Certainly not the standard of other similar resorts we stayed at.
No buffet breakfast (maybe lack of guests whilst we were there)
Pool area small and not so amazing - very dangerous broken tiles around pool area and the fake timber tile heats up to a billion degrees as well as ultra slippery - maybe not the best choice of tile.
Menu was average ( I'd have put this in the average section if I had one).


I probably wouldn't recommend this place to our friends. Think there are better options that hit the mark in this price range. Have a feeling the resort is more geared to Ayurvedic treatments which we didn't get to try.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDR3W_PHOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with Fragrant Nature for two nights.

We are really thankful for the positive review on our location and front office staff.We shall certainly take all your negative feed backs and will shortly implement so as to meet the guest comfort.

Looking forward to host you at fragrant nature along with your friends in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We took advantage of the offer on cobone and headed to Kerla for 3 days/2 nights. Arriving early on Friday morning, we were met by our driver and headed to the resort, about 1 hours drive away. A warm welcome on arrival with a refreshing towel and cold drink while our bags were put away in our rooms. We were one of only a few couples staying at the resort this weekend but got 100% attention from every member of staff. Whether it was the folks at reception, the security guard, the boat drivers or those at the spa, everyone had a smile on their face and always checked that we were ok.

We ate Lunch and Dinner at the restaurant (food was included as part of our package) and every meal was excelllent. The staff were very attentive and we were never left wanting more.

On the Saturday, we took a taxi to drive to Verkala (sp?) beach to look at some of the sights. However, I can't say i was massively impressed with the beach. It seems to just be an group of hostels/hotels catering for the hippies that have found themselves again!

Leaving early this morning to the airport, we grabbed a few things from the gift shop, and headed back, only stopping momentarily to see an elephant being walked down the street at 2AM.

It was a whirlwind trip but both of us look forward to heading back again soon and spending some more time there just relaxign and unwinding!

Room Tip: We had a lake view room but I think all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kourosh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Fragrant nature ,Kollam and for this wonderful review on Trip advisor.Fragrant Nature team is really happy to know that you found our services to your satisfaction and has taken back some fond memories to cherish.

Once again thanking for giving us 5/5 and looking forward to host you on your next trip to Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2012

My family and I had already been in India for a week when a friend recommended we visit this place. I was so glad we decided to go.
This place is the perfect place for folks who've been beaten down by the travelling in India. Once we got here, we were treated like absolute royalty. I've never seen anything like the view and ambiance this resort offers, I never expected a place like this to even exist in Kerala, let alone India. Amazingly, that wasn't the best part, Sajeesh and his team of hospitality professional were absolutely fantastic. We made a few, I thought, unreasonable requests, but it was amazing how the team responded to address them.

We intended to go to the various sites using this spot as a base, but given our experience here on night one, we never actually left the premises for the rest of our stay! They catered to our every wish. I visited the Spa in the morning and the massage Therapist, Vinod, was fantastic!
The view of the sunset here is as perfect as anywhere I've ever visited.

Congratulations to Fragrant Nature on creating a wonderful experience for the tourist, both NRIs and foreigners (I was travelling with both). You truly have a world class resort experience.

Couple of comments, better signs to find the place (It is definitely off the beaten path, and I spoke to management and they are working on it)
Internet access in the reception was reliable and of good quality, we made several VoIP calls off it. But WiFi in the room was not reliable, but great when it did work.

I would absolutely visit again!!
Best wishes
ramsan

Room Tip: I walked to premises, and didn't see a bad Spot for a room. We stayed near the Pool and the Spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you staying at Fragrant Nature, Kollam.It was pleasure having you as our guest for two nights and appreciate you taking out time to share your experience on this public forum .Receiving such positive feedback motivates our team to do better

Once again, we greatly value your feedback and look forward to having you with us during your next visit to Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Really enjoyed this resort. Excellent management, accomodations, Spa (Ayurveda) treatment and restaurant service, large pool. Management went out of their way to make our stay perfect.They arranged for a personal Katakali performance, for atrip to Alepey and for limousine service for local site seeing and local activities. We received royal treatment during our 17 day stay. The resort is beautifully located on the backwaters and leaves nothing to be desired for an enjoyfull vacation and exploration of the Kerala region. It's not to touristic and to pricey. Highly recommend taking as a minimum 14 days of Ayurvedic treatment under the well trained staff and under the supervision of Dr. Sheba.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvano-Gino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajeeshkurup, General Manager at Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear Mr,Silvano,

Thank you for choosing Fragrant Nature as your holiday destination. It is a pleasure to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and found our services up to the mark We the Fragrant Nature team earnestly thank you for sharing this valuable comments.

We look forward to serve you again on your next visit to Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

It was a relaxation weekend. Myself and my wife were the only guests in the resort. it was good experience in the resort and horrible just outside the resort. i had the chance to get an offer there, so the value of money was fair enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_dubaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
8.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
8.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#2 of 21 in Kollam
255 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
6.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
207 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: CP11/709 Nedungolam P.O, | Paravur, Kollam 691334, India (Formerly Fragrant Nature Hotels & Resorts - Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kollam
#1 Family Hotel in Kollam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Nature is an exclusive 4 star Luxury Lakeside Resort offering the ultimate in relaxation and seclusion from the hustle and bustle of city life. The natural rural village setting of this Luxury hideaway, gives you the chance to see and experience the authentic Keralean way of life. The Resort is also well located for travelling and exploring the excitingly diverse wildlife, geography and rich culture of Kerala. Price range(per night) : £85 to £315Breakfast is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrant Nature Retreat & Resorts Pvt Ltd Hotel Kollam
Fragrant Nature Retreat And Resorts Pvt Ltd
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing