We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for relaxing”
Review of Ashtamudi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Villas
Ranked #2 of 38 Kollam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place for relaxing”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2nights n i was very pleased to stay n relax at the Josep's guest house. The view from house is amazing with peaceful environment also Josep was helpful for advising some tour sites and organizing transportaion. Room is clean n decorated very well. It is located in nearby Kadavoor church and ease to go around in Kollam.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    52
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
149
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Münster
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spend a couple of nights at the Ashtamudi Villa and we really have to thank Joseph for helping us with simply everything. He took care of us like a dad, made sure the houseboad-trip was alright, brought us to the bus, made our stay as comfortable as possible and he and his staff made nice food :) If you want to make a canoe-trip and want to see lots of things, ask Joseph for Vjadeesh, he is the best canoe guide you can have! So all in all we have to say that it is a wonderful, nice, clean, beautiful place at the lake and with nice people and a great host! Katharina, Judy and Thomas!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have arrived here with the intention to stay two nights and to continue my trip towards north. But as I arrived here I found myself in a most wonderful, serene and peaceful place with some amazing staff that read you every wish from the lips. The owner is a absolutely nice person that will arrange you the most beautiful trips with Sudhi, the award winning "tourist-friendly auto driver" for most reasonably prices. I felt perfectly well here and prolonged my trip to its limit in time before I had to rush to Kochin to catch my flight. I will certainly come back as I consider it as a gift having found such a piece of paradise. The lake was 10 meters away from my front door! I think that I don't need to write a lot about the food, the rooms and the good value, as other guests did that already before.
Thanks again to Joseph and all his kind employees, and of course to Sudhi, the best guide I have ever met since I come to India in the last 9 years.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hi, I stayed for one night in the Ashtamudi Villas towards the end of August (= low season). Prime location at the lakeside, away from the noise of the town centre. Great rooms, good value, tasty meals on request; but especially the service was appreciated. Host Joseph did every effort to make sure his guests are pleased. In the end, I got a ride with him on his Vespa to the bus station to make sure I was going to catch my bus. To sum it up... terrific!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tompiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is fantastic! We loved every aspect of ashtamudi, from the caring staff to the serene natural setting. Our rooms were surprisingly well designed and Immaculately clean. Special mention goes out to the hotel owner, Joseph, who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is an incredible place -- four cosy huts ecologically conceived yet with all the amenities on a calm, tree-studded estate, on the banks of the Ashtamudi Lake, and in the middle of an urban sprawl. The proprietor, Prabhath Joseph, is a gem of a man who stops short of nothing to make your stay and travels comfortable. And it's service with a smile from the staff who cook up great dishes. Really worth a stop-over if you're travelling in southern Kerala.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayAar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are decorated and furbished in style with a modern bathroom. Great Kerala food is served in the outdoor living room with stunning lake views. This is a perfect place to relax in the beautiful gardens. The host can arrange houseboats as well and generally is very caring. We very much enjoyed our stay and can warmly recommend the guest house.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabfabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
6.3 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#2 of 21 in Kollam
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
207 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
558 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Villas

Property: Ashtamudi Villas
Address: Thevally, Mathilil . Po | Near Nambarath Junction, Kollam 691601, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst Kerala's peaceful backwaters and overlooking Ashtamudi Lake is Ashtamudi Villas, your private retreat in Kollam, offering a unique opportunity to enjoy the tranquility of Keralan life. Accommodation: Situated in their own private gardens, each lakeside villas boasts double bed and modern bathroom facilities. Our brand new villas employ the latest in eco-friendly technology, setting innovative new standards in sustainable tourism. During your stay with us, simply take time to relax in Ashtamudi's tranquil surroundings. Enjoy a book from our well-stocked library or take time to sample the delights of Kerala cuisine. Furthermore, canoe-boat and house-boat tours can be arranged from your own private jetty in the grounds. Location and Access: Ashtamudi Villas is located just five minutes drive from Kollam, near Thevally Bridge. Alternatively guests may arrive via house-boat running between Kollam and Alleppey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashtamudi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Villas Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing