We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay”
Review of Ashtamudi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Villas
Ranked #2 of 40 Kollam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friend and I had planned to spend 2 nights only. But after the first night, we asked the owner, Joseph, to extend our stay. That place is just like heaven. It's very quiet, overlooking the lake, and Joseph is just the best friend everyone should have. I truly hope to go back there soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alco1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 363 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed 2 days in this place. It is a relaxing oriented place where you can read, sleep or simply stay looking the Ashtamudi lake without any disturbing.

The house we stayed in was not shared one. We paid a little bit more but it worths if you are looking for some privacy. The other houses have 2 rooms each. The garden where the houses are built is a beautiful place to relax and rest. Even it could be a place to stay all day long if you dont feel strong enough to deal with the outside world.

It is necessary to take a rickshaw if you want to move because it is located 5 km from the town center (80 INR more or less).

The 2 poorest things are that the breakfast and the wifi are not included. So, your bill is larger than you expected in the beginning...

The staff service is nice and helpful. Not specially enthusiastic.

Good place to stay in kollam if your budget is around 2000 INR (not wifi and not breakfast inluded).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inakibeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Ashtamudi villas and the first thing I noticed were the relaxing surroundings. The garden has palmtrees, many beautiful plants and a few hammocks. From any point in the garden, you can enjoy the view (and the sunset) over the lake.

The room was large and clean with a nice, big bed and a modern bathroom. The room also had a terrace on the side of the garden.

But the best part of this place are Joseph, Jason and Alocious. They arranged anything we wanted to do and did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. By example, they arranged transport, boat trips, a ricksha guide to go to a festival, local beer... Jason and Alocious answered all of our questions, made breakfast, lunch and dinner, answered every question (and we had many), provided things we needed or asked for, even not related to our stay, they made our stay as pleasant as they could. I cannot say enough thank you for that!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not just the location, and the rooms, and tha hammocks - the owner is the real treat of the place.
He showed us around, sent us to a small local fish market in the neighbourhood, took us to the port, sent us to an amazing festival at a temple. And the best thing - we could feel he just wanted us to have a nice and interesting time, and nothing more.
Highly recommended...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We only stayed one night, and I regretted having to leave so soon. The location is lovely, on the water, so serene. It is not walking distance to the Kollam, have to take an auto and it is a bit of a hike from the road to the hotel. But it is worth the trouble. The decor in the rooms is lovely and so clean and fresh. The owner was very helpful, booked a canoe trip for us on the backwaters, and although we were pressed for time, we managed to squeeze in a lovely trip and get to the train station in time for our train.

Room Tip: All the villas are facing the water. Just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperTravelerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

stayed for two nights before christmas and very much enjoyed the its serene location at the bay with a spacious coconut grove. Good place to rest, read - to just be - and be supported by the hosts in undertaking things and in planning the next move. The rooms are spacious and clean. The new bungalow rooms have insufficient roof insulation or roof cooling through shade, roof planting or watering (eg. by using bay water). The host is laudably conscious of social and ecological issues pertaining to sustainability, and how tourism and development might have to be reshaped to bring us away from paths destructive to nature and people. By visiting Ashtamudi Villas you will contribute to this effort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isidor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place was such a lovely treat to find. It is right on the water's edge with loads of palm trees and plants with numerous hammocks to just relax and enjoy. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and very modern and clean bathroom. The service was very good and food tasty. They only have 4 rooms, 3 attached/terraced and 1 stand alone, definitely try and get the stand alone room for privacy. Very good value for money, though as they do not take credit cards had to do a bank transfer to ensure room which is a minor hassle. Kollam itself is not very interesting, though you can have a backwater house boat pick up or drop off which would have been so convenient! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Solo hut not attached to others if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#3 of 22 in Kollam
292 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nani
Nani
#5 of 22 in Kollam
214 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
589 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sea Pearl
Hotel Sea Pearl
#8 of 22 in Kollam
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Villas

Address: Thevally, Mathilil . Po | Near Nambarath Junction, Kollam 691601, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Kollam
Price Range: $24 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst Kerala's peaceful backwaters and overlooking Ashtamudi Lake is Ashtamudi Villas, your private retreat in Kollam, offering a unique opportunity to enjoy the tranquility of Keralan life. Accommodation: Situated in their own private gardens, each lakeside villas boasts double bed and modern bathroom facilities. Our brand new villas employ the latest in eco-friendly technology, setting innovative new standards in sustainable tourism. During your stay with us, simply take time to relax in Ashtamudi's tranquil surroundings. Enjoy a book from our well-stocked library or take time to sample the delights of Kerala cuisine. Furthermore, canoe-boat and house-boat tours can be arranged from your own private jetty in the grounds. Location and Access: Ashtamudi Villas is located just five minutes drive from Kollam, near Thevally Bridge. Alternatively guests may arrive via house-boat running between Kollam and Alleppey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashtamudi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Villas Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing