We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashtamudi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Villas
Ranked #2 of 39 Kollam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed 1 night here in August 2012. The rooms were very spacious, clean and stylish. The location is very beautiful being right on the shores of the lake, with plenty of bird life and lots of boats cruising by. The highlight for us was the excellent service we received from the staff. They were friendly, attentive and went out of their way to make sure we had all that we needed. We would highly recommend Ashtamudi villas for anyone seeking a wonderful and peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aunties_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    51
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
149
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Astamudi Villas for 2 nights at the end of our months holiday in India. It is situated right by the lake shore of Astamudi Lake and it was a Haven from the busy town of Kollam nearby. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully clean. The bathrooms were the best we'd seen in India.

Food was good - some of it had to be ordered in but this was no problem, and we so enjoyed sitting under the canopy eating our curry with the view of the lake and the birds, and the coconut palms all around us.

The best thing was the kind attentiveness of the 3 staff who cared for us - they really made us feel welcomed and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were brilliant and worth their weight in gold.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you're looking for quietness, deep calm, gentleness and helpfulness of people, if you're looking for comfort, nature beauty and the lapping sound of water lake : so you've found the right place to live in for a while...Bungalows rooms are pretty new, confortable and nicely furnished and designed, so are the prices, very low, regarding to the quality of the location and the helpfulness of the staff.
We just arrived yesterday and we feel great, at home. It will sure be difficult to quit this wonderful place.

Si vous cherchez un bel endroit, au calme, en pleine nature, au bord du lac Ashtamudi, un endroit où vous reposez...ne cherchez pas plus loin ! Magnifique endroit, gentillesse et serviabilité du propriétaire et du personnel, jolis bungalows très confortables, prix défiants toute concurrence. Difficile sera d'en partir !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Ragaz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ashtamudi Villas is a wonderful place to stay. You sleep in little cottage with view of the lake. The staff is very friendly, helpful and really cares to make your stay comfortable. You really get great value for little money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Joseph and his staff are wonderful!! So helpful. The food is amazing. Joseph goes out of his way to help you with every little detail. I strongly encourage anyone to make a point to come here. The rooms are sparkling clean as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danigout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I came for 2-3 nights, stayed for a week.

Helpful, caring, friendly manager and stuff.
Spacious +immaculate accomodation.
Safe and secure place!

I definitely recommend this small paradise in the margin of the hectic, bussy, noissy Kollam town.

Ariel Rubenstein
Raman Gan
Israel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arund1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived in Kollam from the busy city of Trivandrum looking for somewhere nice to relax and that is exactly what we found. Ashtamudi villas are lovely bungalows located on the lakeside. The rooms are in little bungalows and are really nicely decorated with very modern but tasteful facilities. The staff were very pleasant and willing to help answer any queries we had. We really enjoyed a peaceful relaxing stay here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bongodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
6.3 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
0.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 21 in Kollam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
7.0 mi away
Munroe Island Backwaters Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Villas

Property: Ashtamudi Villas
Address: Thevally, Mathilil . Po | Near Nambarath Junction, Kollam 691601, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst Kerala's peaceful backwaters and overlooking Ashtamudi Lake is Ashtamudi Villas, your private retreat in Kollam, offering a unique opportunity to enjoy the tranquility of Keralan life. Accommodation: Situated in their own private gardens, each lakeside villas boasts double bed and modern bathroom facilities. Our brand new villas employ the latest in eco-friendly technology, setting innovative new standards in sustainable tourism. During your stay with us, simply take time to relax in Ashtamudi's tranquil surroundings. Enjoy a book from our well-stocked library or take time to sample the delights of Kerala cuisine. Furthermore, canoe-boat and house-boat tours can be arranged from your own private jetty in the grounds. Location and Access: Ashtamudi Villas is located just five minutes drive from Kollam, near Thevally Bridge. Alternatively guests may arrive via house-boat running between Kollam and Alleppey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashtamudi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Villas Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing