We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raviz Ashtamudi, An amazing relaxing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Raviz Ashtamudi, An amazing relaxing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Raviz Ashtamudi is an amazing experience. Though the travel from Thiruvananthapuram is a long an trying, once you reach hotel and have the exotic view of lake it refreshes you completely. Hotel staff is warm and always attend to your request with a smile and at times goes out of the way to accommodate and keep guest happy. Only flip side is the hotel is situated a bit away form the local connect, but the hotel staff ensures all guidance and assistance is provided. evening traditional show is a good fun. Food at the WelcomCafe Lakeside is amazing, authentic kerela taste with lovely view. Hotel SPA is amazing and gives a completely relaxing experience. Raviz Ashtamudi is a must stay to experience God's own county.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Nil001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    163
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
310
179
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
383 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Imagine a Five star resort on the Ashtamudi lake with view of serene back waters where you can relax and chill with smiling staff to look after your every need. Firstly the property - beautiful and well maintained on an amazing location.. then the accommodation - the room which we alloted on the heritage block was not appealing because of some house keeping issues which I pointed out but that got quickly rectified and we were upgraded to a premium room in the new wing, with a beautiful view of the lake right in front of our balcony. What I truly appreciated was the corrective action they took to respond to my complaint as well as my complaint being passed on to the respective housekeeping department to resolve it. The food was good particularly the kerala cuisine which I had suggested to cater to. The restaurant staff as well as all the chefs were constantly there to attend to our needs and serve us as per our choice. The reception staff too were warm and cordial including the security staff who made us feel welcome at all times. We were specially offered kerala cuisine on their houseboat Raanthal and the chef had personally chosen the menu which we relished in a romantic ambience created on the boat. Their evening tea and snack time in a traditional hut on the banks of the lake, was an experience to enjoy in the rains.The car pick up and drop was punctual and the drivers were pleasant in their conversations. Their General Manager was personally making rounds which gives you a pleasant impression that all is being taken care of and looked after to the utmost guests satisfaction. Having stayed mostly in five star properties around the world, I would strongly recommend this beautiful property if you want to enjoy kerala backwaters in a serene and five star enviornment where you will surely be looked after by the hotel staff to make your visit memorable.. A must visit for me again to this beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pervin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

My parents, my sis and I had come to Raviz to celebrate my parent's wedding anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The facilities were all very good. The service we got was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Preethi, the guest relation executive, was especially very helpful. It was evident that my parents had a great anniversary and the staff helped me and my sis to give them a surprise gift as well. Although our stay was very short, we had so much fun and the ambiance was really super.
We are looking forward to visiting Raviz again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjithKumarKNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent 5 nights here in July. The location is excellent- on the lake, away from the hustle and bustle of the town. The staff were friendly and welcoming while the rooms were spacious and were so clean that they felt brand new. The food was top quality too.
As we were visiting in non-peak season, some of the facilities were closed...such as the bar and the cafe. Additionally, as not many other guests were around, the attention from the staff was quite constant, which some people may find a little too much.
But other than that, we had a great time and would highly recommend this hotel!
This place would be perfect for a couples getaway.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRICHUR, KERALA, INDIA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary @ Hotel Raviz between 15th July and 17th July 2014. Stay was very comfortable, we went with family of 4 with children aged 18 and 15 years. we took one pool villa and one normal bedroom above reception. Sea food was very good. We visited when the property was on the verge of transfer to ITC welcom group. We found the chef Joby and Jude & Chitra at front office offered excellent service.

Room Tip: If possible take one pool villa where u can make merry with family in all privacy!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLASMOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

All that I'm going to say about this hotel is going to be less after having such a wonderful experience at this hotel.

Right from the Check- In to the Check- Out it was one memorable experience. Special mention for Sivapoorna from the Front Desk who was always there to assist us with anything about the hotel. She has a very pleasing personality and this ability to put someone at ease. She also arranged a surprise cake for me as I was celebrating my birthday at the hotel. Other people are Chitra from Front Desk, El Dhose from Riverside Cafe who served us with a smile & Bivin from Concierge who are experience makers for sure.

I loved the hotel so much that I extended my stay for one more night to experience the brilliance for another day. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and have a breathtaking view of the beautiful Ashtamudi Lake.

They have a lovely concept where they take their guests for a ride in the lake followed by tea and coffee with traditional bite eats along with it at Thatukkuda ( The traditional themed tea stall by the Lake)

The Ashtamudi lake adds to the beauty of this resort. Would love to come back very soon.

Thanks for the wonderful experience Team WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi !!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsur134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed for one night only . The location is great , the staff, very professional and offered excellent service. The walk through the pathway near the backwaters was awesome. Had planted a wide variety of local and medicinal plants.

A fine mixture of traditional building and modern amenities

Watching the back waters, sitting on the seat near the window at night..very relaxing

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your reassuring comments. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 8589871999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 22 in Kollam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
2.4 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#11 of 22 in Kollam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Property: The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Family Hotel in Kollam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raviz Resort And Spa, Ashtamudi Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing