We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ravizing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ravizing Experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 wonderful days on the banks of nature s visual masterpiece that is the Ashtamudi kayal. The cottage we stayed in was perfect. It had a private pool even. The service was prompt. A free houseboat ride was there every evening. The restaurant had authentic kerala cuisine. But the only drawback just one main restaurant. Overall a calm quiet relaxing getaway. We went in the off season. But the cloudy days with a bit of drizzle make this the perfect weather.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    180
    48
    17
    9
See reviews for
326
187
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

It will be extremely hard to put this in words but this place has what it takes to make your dreams accomplish. Right from the check in when I was escorted to the room with me Hari Sankar, wow what a level of service I was provided. Hari, I'm from hospitality from over a decade but you made me learn so much. God bless you for making my stay so comfortable, you were a blessing I'm disguise, keep up the good work. Virtually every staff member in this hotel makes you feel at home. I salute to all of you. From the guy at the pool to the GM Dudley, thank you all to have made my stay blessed. I'm so coming back and so is the whole of AUSTRALIA........you guys rock:)

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aseemtuteja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were travelling back from The Gateway - Varkala , taking back wonderful memories of the place , staff friendliness , food etc. We were expecting similar or better experience.... alas! ... my heart craved to get back to Varkala.

Raviz The Place -

Wonderful location , Lavish and large canvas of architecture - The wood work , artefacts , antique look - Fans just beautiful , perfect blend of modern outlook with the keralan cultural effects thrown in with dollops of generosity used in creating magnificent Lobby area !! The Spice Boat , the Kathakalli dancers at the entrance - smart ,the whole property tastefully done - graceful. Classy Interiors - every where.

The property is just on the backwater bank . Green pathways , hammocks , beds - to see the sky at night ( if the mosquitoes are sleeping) , activities for kids and adults , few not working - under maintainence.

Swimming Pool - Not too deep , overlooking the backwaters , given a nice merging impression.

When we went for a swim there - No attendant or Life guard , no tubes , balls , frisbees for children.... The changing room and lockers - Pathetic. Stinking and unpleasant- makes you wonder if its open to public too.....

Rooms - They are situated at another block away from the lobby-restaurant area. So you meed to get out of the main block to reach the rooms - very inconvinient-
Classy interiors , powerful AC s , hi-tech light switches , plush bathroom area , jacuzzi , simply stylish . Toiletries - up market - Fiama Di wills - Impressive.
But the user friendliness completely MISSING - no hooks , hangers ,in the bath area , you need to throw your clothes out and come out naked to fetch the towel.....how will you manage if you are with kids ???? .
I had to send my kids out every time i wanted to use the Jacuzzi - as it opens to the room directly!!.
With all the electric switches - very confusing - i had to call the front desk to attend the lights that developed a major glitch at 4 AM IN THE MORNING - JUST TERRIBLE- Imagine letting the electrician in the room when your family is sleeping at 4 am????!!!!

The staff although professional - very robotic and artificially friendly !

This place is good for business travelers - i thought.

Restaurant - Good taste , but same variety every morning at breakfast- on the 3rd morning looking at the same spread turned me off completely.

No napkins or water served till requested for, service and response of the staff at Zircon , their BAR - super clumsy, and many more minor things which , if avoided could have made for a very memorable stay.

HOPE THE MAGNITUDE , STYLE OF THE LOCATION , STRUCTURE , AMBIENCE reflected in their service too !!







Rooms -

Room Tip: few rooms of the premium category differ in size and facility in spite being charged the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jugalvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomHotelRaviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

We have noted your comments and I am personally looking into each aspect.

We are sanguine that you will see a marked difference on your next and subsequent visits.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards,

Dudley Screymour
General Manager
WelcomHotel Raviz, Kollam
Mobile: +91 9811099641
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

It is one of the best property I have ever visited , from the rooms , to food . And the best part is the hospitality of the staff . And don't miss the sunset ride , the only place which has a kids play area to top it all the spa is worth taking . . . . . . . . . . .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viral B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

i stayed at the Raviz resort hotel last week and was really happy with the services and the location of the hotel.
The staff is excellent and very well trained thanks to Welcome group and the hotel has a lovely lake view.
The Ayurveda spa is also very good and the doctors are well trained and experienced.
The massagers were also of top quality and really helpful.
I thing the entire experience was Great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROHINTON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have stayed there on 11/04/2014 till 13/04/2014 excellent service friendly staff nd wonderful location and it was a pleasure to stay at Raviz I personally had a great experience on the stay and I promise to to stay there soon muzaffar

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzzafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimapur, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I have been there to RAVIZ in the month of october with my girlfriend...everything starting from the granduer,the view from the room, the boat where the serve food was excellent...the food was really nice,the infinity pool was good as well..as a whole, it was a kickass start to our kerela trip and yes, if you are in kollam...do visit!!!and yes before i forget...you have the best team i have ever come across...!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ndauthina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 21 in Kollam
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
6.4 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
206 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
561 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Property: The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Family Hotel in Kollam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raviz Resort And Spa, Ashtamudi Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing