We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our group of 80 persons stayed at Raviz for a team meeting for 3 days. I must say that the location and the service helped us add lots of fun moments to this official trip. The staff ensured that all guests had a comfortable stay and a great experience during these 3 days. The view from lobby and boat ride were simply great. The afternoon tea with snacks in the garden was enjoyed by all. We never got a NO as response for any of our requests. Thank you Aslam, Aneesh and Mr Nair for your personal attention.
I look forward to coming back to this place for a longer relaxing holiday with family.

Room Tip: I stayed on pool facing room and the view was great. For people who love old age charm- stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 801 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We found this hotel by accident - and what a lucky find. It was in a gorgeous location, with lovely staff, good food and ace facilities. My toddler was very happy in the cool of the hotel and great swimming pool (complete with very good life guard). There were swings to play on and gardens to explore. Just super.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here in early Feb 2014 with my husband and my extended family for a week.
From the moment we checked in, the staff were absolutely fantastic - professional yet warm and friendly. They made us feel extremely comfortable and no request was too difficult.
My dad was wheelchair bound and yet everyone from security, front desk, floor staff, house keeping ensured he was comfortable and that he was able to enjoy most of the activities/facilities the hotel had to offer.
The hotel offered several activities on site and if you are there you should make sure you try and do some of them.

The food was wonderful and the meal choices were superb. The restaurant was run by a team of very professional staff - thank you !
The pool was fabulous and under used (a good thing for us !!) and the pool staff was always very friendly and helpful - thank you !
The housekeeping staff - you are the best !

All in all, we had a very relaxing and comfortable stay at the Raviz - a magnificent building by a beautiful lake - run by a very professional and dedicated team, always warm and friendly without the pretentiousness often seen in some other resorts.

I would strongly recommend that if you are in Kollam, then a stay is an absolute must and enjoy the experience !

My last comment for possible improvement is that a minor improvement for wheelchair access to the lakeside from the hotel. The current slope from the back parking lot is rather steep and uneven, i think if that strip of path can be paved with less incline then it would make for easier wheelchair/pram access.

Room Tip: lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a great place to stay, the rooms have this old world charm, very spacious , clean and comfortable . We stayed in their deluxe river view room with very authentic furniture.
Excellent customer service, at check in a detailed letter explaining the services offered by the resort, an itinerary of all the available activities, proactive information about the evening cruise, tea, entertainment program etc. A great hotel is also made by the people who serve you and this place had a great team of customer service professionals who actively worked towards making your holiday special. It is also perhaps a very good reflection of their team leader. We had great experiences at the restaurant, bar, with the front office staff and the housekeeping. Keep up the good work . Would love to visit again and recommend this great place to all my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

this is one of the best resort, I have stayed.Best location lake side, very nice view from large rooms, very big bathroom with jakuzi, excellent service. Hotel also offer complimentary boat ride. very tasty food with large selection in breakfast. hoping to visit again with my wife.....

Room Tip: go for lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamba1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

KOLLAM/QUILLON

The Raviz

An idyllic lakeside location, the Raviz is on a small peninsula looking out on two expanses of Ashtanudi Lake. It is a beautiful building in the Keralan vernacular style, that to Europeans, may suggest a touch of Switzerland.

We had a charming welcome and the reception area impresses with its open airiness and spaciousness. We had booked a premium room and were upgraded to the King’s Suite.

What can one say! It is one of the most comfortable and luxurious accommodations we have ever encountered. It hasn’t the opulence of, say the Leela, Chennai but it is more relaxing and equally spacious. Three major linked rooms, a sitting-room, a dining room and a bedroom are all very generously and tastefully appointed. In addition there is a separate cloakroom, “powder room”, at the entrance to the suite and an enormous bathroom off the bedroom. Our guide, when he saw the bathroom, declared it was bigger than his bedroom at home. A long balcony overlooks both branches of the Ashtanudi Lake and the sun sets between coconut palms across the lake on the corner of the balcony. A stunningly beautiful sight, free every evening. It must be one of the world’s great relaxing hotel spaces.

Friends who were staying also, showed us their accommodation, which was the lakeside traditional Keralan house – a transposed wooden marvel with carvings and brass fittings. It had a private plunge pool and was a delightful hide-away. Perhaps a little like an elaborate doll’s house but authentic and delightful.

The Raviz, now part of the same company as the Leela empire, offers great value for money in comparison with it’s artner.

The hotel dining room is large and has a verandah with lake views through the gardens. Breakfasts were generous and perhaps need a little attention by management. The tea and sambar were both lukewarm on the first morning and the choice of fruit less than many hotels offer at this level. “Four-and-a-half- minute boiled eggs were served from the collection in the buffet and were almost cold and had spent a long time since they came out of the boiling water. This is being critical of what is a good breakfast buffet.

We had a great buffet dinner on our first night and, for our second night, discussed our preferences with the chef, who prepared a meal especially for us. The presentation of all the Keralan dishes was world class and the food excellent. It was reasonably priced and great value for money.

If you can run to the King’s Suite it is a memorable experience and worth every penny.

The staff make a point of remembering the guest’s names. Service, if not faultless, is charming and professional.

We hugely enjoyed our three days at the Raviz and would highly recommend the hotel. It isn’t five star grandeur, but it offers an extremely high level of comfort and service.

What’s not to like? We found the canned music broadcast through the hotel including the pool area and gardens, tedious. No doubt many guests enjoy it.

The complimentary sunset cruise is a beautiful experience, though sometimes the younger guests blast out Indian dance music on the pa system and bop away on the upper deck – a lively diversion if it is what you fancy. Our second cruise was entirely quiet and tranquil in comparison. The view of The Raviz from the lake is spectacular.

Along the lakeside there is a small botanical garden of newly planted ayuravedic plants with labels – “for intelligence”, “for piles” etc. There are quiet places to sit and read around the property though these are not obvious.

The infinity pool is a good size in a garden setting beside the lake.

There are sometimes blasts of noise from the festivals in the Christian church next door. We had the misfortune to be staying during one of the five days festivals and the loud broadcast of Indian devotional music started at five a.m. Sounds also drift across the water from temples- local colour when it is from far away, a racket when up close.

Wi-fi comes at a hefty price as it does with all the hotels in this group. It should be free.

Room Tip: If you can run to the King's Suite it is absolutely stunning and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Brilliant location, very very helpful staff, great food very nice spa, lots of extra activities. Sunset cruise was quit nice. Should improve evening tea coffee. Sunday brunch was excellent...arranged a great trip to a cashew factory.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeelRatan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#3 of 22 in Kollam
281 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
6.4 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#5 of 22 in Kollam
209 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
578 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Family Hotel in Kollam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kollam
Price Range: $59 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raviz Resort And Spa, Ashtamudi Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing