We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total let-down after all the super star hype...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A total let-down after all the super star hype...”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were totally disappointed with the entrance and reception received on entering the Hotel....

Even after all the Presidential and Super star hype this place has not gone beyond its natural beautiful surroundings. ..which is a very natural thing in GOD'S OWN COUNTRY. ..

Service is below average....staff not well trained. ..the word hospitality is very rare...the warmth of the south was missing in the premises. ...staff was more pre occupied with some marriage happening in the premises of someone big and rich it seems...


They should not take booked travellers for granted...

Except for the beautiful surroundings. ..the hotel and its staff is a big let-down....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilimates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    178
    48
    16
    9
See reviews for
324
184
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Right from receiving us at the airport the chauffeur had made us feel special and once we entered the hotel the staff received us with a cold towel, garland and fruit juice. after i sat down the manager had handed asked me that he can take me to my room any time i wish. the hotel had upgraded us to a private villa on request and as we came to know that that particular week was off season for the hotel and very few guests present at that time. from that moment we were made to think that we were the sole guests on the property. we had a complimentary boat ride in the evening and great candle light dinner arranged to us by the chef. next day we had session at the spa and went out for light house and local beach visit which was arranged by the hotel. we had a plunge pool at our villa. next morning hotel has surprised us with a cake in our room as we had already mentioned before booking that it was our anniversary. we went for fishing and had caught fish which the chef had cooked for us. we enjoyed the time very much as the staff were very attentive and courteous and in no time took care of our requests. we were made to feel special while returning from the hotel as they had given us flowers we had requested the previous day. we did not feel like leaving the hotel and really wanted to extend the stay

Room Tip: go for a higher floor or chose private villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddysriram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful property,sitting right on the bank of the Ashtamudi lake.Combination of modernism with traditional touch .
Relax,enjoy the cool breeze with beer watching the sunset ....Amazing!!
The rooms adjacent to the lake side has a breathtaking view.....u could sit for long.Great pool and good indoor activities to be engaged in.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roopam1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjul, Gambia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Once again an excellent stay at the Raviz. Brought my family to Kollam for the first time and must thank my hosts as well as the Raviz for helping me make them fall in love with Kerala.
Absolutely nothing to complain about, except probably about the hi tech light switches, which required a bit of learning.
I'm sure if we had asked, we'd have had a full explanation.
Every window of every room we stayed was like a painting of Kerala.
The majestic view of the hotel from the river is not to be missed.
The over endowed statue of the Lady with the light ( across the river), though a subject of possibly lewd discussions, has enough intrigue to make us waste a few mega bytes of the cameras memory card on her.
If you have to visit Kollam, dont miss the Raviz. In fact even if you dont have to go to Kollam, stay at the Raviz.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanuku
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the resort from 9th August 2013 to 11th August 2013. The location of the resort beside ashtamudi lake is superb. Though the resort is located in the city of Kollam, it looks as though we are in a village. It reminds us of a heritage property built in kerala style. The rooms, pool, and boat houses are neat and tidy. Vegetarians will be disappointed in this resort as the vegetarian food does not taste good. But, breakfast is very delicious. But, lunch and dinner will be a disappointment for vegetarians.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srikanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Raviz for a friend's wedding earlier this year.

I have been visiting India many times over the past 25 years but this was my first trip to Kerala.
The hotel regally sits on the banks of the Ashtamudi Lake which gave us a beautiful surprise when we stepped onto the balcony in the morning after our late arrival the previous evening.

The stay at the Raviz was doubly good for us because we not only had the fabulous staff looking after us but also our gracious hosts, celebrating their daughter's wedding.

We had a brilliant afternoon on the lake cruising around on a boat enjoying some delightful views.

Kerala was pristine and beautiful - quite different from the hussle and bussle of North India and a wonderful experience. I recommend the Raviz to anyone who finds themselves in that part of the world.

Room Tip: The hotel caters well to vegetarian food requirements - mention your preference to the staff and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielHutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

cant help gushing over the food in raviz!the restaurant staff excellent service.the ayurvedic spa massage etc not great but ambience is good!the pool villa was excellent!but the resort is nothing to write home about!we stayed three nights and one of the staff even misplaced another guest 's glasses with us and kept bugging us even after our stay there!which was very irritating!very less space to walk around but the ashtamudi lake view made up for the resort!i would definitely go back for the food and buffet but not for the stay!the staff spooked us out!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavita_eapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#2 of 21 in Kollam
255 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
2.4 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
207 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
558 reviews
8.0 mi away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#1 of 1 in Paravur
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Property: The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Family Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raviz Resort And Spa, Ashtamudi Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing