We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location ,good food !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi, Kerala, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location ,good food !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

stayed at raviz from 9th to 11th august to attend a residential seminar.enjoyed the stay .the room was good overlooking the lake.the food was good. enjoyed the boat cruise and the cultural programme.however,the housekeeping staff can be a liitle more prompt in dealing with the guests' needs

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    163
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
310
179
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Male, Maldives
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is great, overlooking the lake. The property workmanship is good but the overall design and space planning is quite poor, whilst some furniture and decorative items were very interesting, many others were quite ordinary to poor. I would rate the effort from the staff as excellent but their training and service quality was very poor.

Room: We had taken 4 rooms in total. One of the rooms had a damp smell. Otherwise, the room was reasonably well spaced.

Room Service: Room service was quite prompt.

Housekeeping: Great effort by the housekeeping staff. Very prompt and helpful. Provided extra towels etc since we had kids. But training was poor because this requirement had to be followed up every day - one would have hoped that at a high quality resort like this, the training would have ensured such specific requirements were communicated and the guest did not end up asking time and again.

Restaurant: Firstly, there is only one restaurant which is inadequate for a 100 room hotel. It was always packed and felt quite small and claustrophobic. The veranda seating is great but very limited. The lack of training was quite dire here with the waiters looking totally harassed and actually running around the restaurant trying their best to meet guest requirements. This is hardly the kind of environment where you can sit back and enjoy the meal. The buffet was quite substantive and food was, for the most part, great. Some items, particularly tea, coffee and milk shakes were too milky. It may be just me but I prefer my mango milk shake to have more mango taste than milk! And so on. Quality of food was otherwise excellent and when we had a problem, the service staff went to great lengths to solve it. Full marks to their effort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrikant_Dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent property. Awesome staff free cruise at the prestine ashtamudi lake free evening snaks with tea or coffee. Good food and absolutely clean rooms. I appreciate mr. Ravi pillai for his vision and looking forward to his new ventures. Would like to thank clear trip for this awesome experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Vishud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel sits on river front and similar to Kadavu resort in Calicut and run by same management. Somehow the attention to details seems to be missing here too...I gave feedback on the wet smell in the room, the loud music in the corridor,inadequate knowledge of the staff, the bad condition of the pool changing area.for a hotel sitting in the heart of Kerala fishing industry I expected to be served really fresh sea food but the karimeen in the pollichathu dish was an old stock.the seer fish ordered later was fresh,no complaints on the food otherwise. The management did call me later for further feedback on my stay so I guess they really do care.The hotel has to work on many areas to reach the quality of a taj or leela or itc particularly the professionalism of staff and giving attention to small details.Should mention the spa and salon area was very well managed and serviced.

Room Tip: The river view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jissbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Awesome! Breathtaking!! WoW!!!

I may be marked as biased by my fellow readers if I write more adjectives about the Raviz, Kollam. Hence, I will stop with the above.

I stayed there for a workshop on July 17,2013 to July 19,2013.

Impeccable pick up at Thiruvananthapuram Airport and a long, smooth 2 hour drive [barring a small patch of bad road in Kollam as you approach the Raviz] takes you to yet another concrete paradise in God’s Own Country.

A huge Boat welcomes you! It is loaded with choicest Spices and is a treat to see. You cannot miss it.

Perched on one of the arms of Ashtamudi, the room where I stayed offers stunning, yet tranquil view of the lake. The room was just right with good lighting and sipping the morning coffee watching the Ashtamudi Lake from your room window is heavenly bliss.

The staff is more than helpful and follow the instructions to the last word at every stage and step of my stay. The food an apt blend of local cuisine and the regular stuff one would look for. At our group dinners, they had Appams with Vegetable Stew and I gorged on them keeping aside all other items. So was the Adhapradhaman.

On our return journey, we had an even excellent Driver [we took the car from the Raviz] who drove us to the famed Anantha Padmanabha Temple and the Attukul Bhagawathy Temple in Thiruvananthapuram. The Bhagawathy Temple I am told is known as Women’s Sabarimala and has a Guinness Record. Sometime in 2009, the temple organized making Pongal as ‘prasad’ to God and 2.5 million women had participated in the event. We were told the entire city came to a standstill. Incredible India, indeed!!

Staying at the Raviz has one serious problem though. Once there, you don’t want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLR43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Raviz is a decent hotel to stay or dine in Kollam, food is quite good, however comparing the price and star rating, I would give average over all rating. Poorly managed and run by relatively inexperienced staff appears to lack international work or service experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have spent the past week at the property while in town for a friend's wedding. I found the staff and hotel to be excellent. I was was traveling solo so Anoop in the travel department arranged an evening tour of Kollam for me, along with a houseboat cruise of the lake, and trip to the local beach. The property is beautifully maintained and the staff were all exceedingly friendly and attentive. The meals I ate in the restaurant were all very god. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the region.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiannBrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 22 in Kollam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
2.4 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#11 of 22 in Kollam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Property: The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#2 Family Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raviz Resort And Spa, Ashtamudi Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing