We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at The Raviz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay at The Raviz”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff are very engaged in the guests here, especially kids. The food was good. There are many activities here for children. The facilities are nicely situated, and they have a good quality. The surrounding nature is great, and this hotel brings out the best of it with boating trips etc.

Room Tip: Lake view is necessary to enjoy the nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuH163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    177
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
323
184
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Recent stay at The Raviz was definitely unforgettable experience. The whole choice for the hotel to be constructed next to backwaters and getting it to blend in with the area and not stick out as a sore thumb is definitely something which need to be appreciated.
The time from arrival to checking out went on like a breeze. The checkin was no hassle. We went straight in for the evening tea and snacks while the details were collected by the staff. The tea was very good but they had ran out of snacks. Though we were assured that they are on the way,nothing for the next half an hour.
We had checked in just in time for the evening boat ride. The boat ride is a pleasent affair which we enjoyed especially because of the weather.
The rooms were really nice and very comfortable. The furnishings have a traditional flair to it though with very modern entertainment system. Our room didnot have a good view from the balcony ( some thing which i thing should be pre offered to the guest on choosing the room). The dinner was excellent though the buffet was some what limited in variety as compared to some other resorts we have been to. The post dinner stroll that we took is something i would recommend though it is not in any brochure.The breakfast the next day was again very good which both indian and continental foods on offer. There are different activities which are on offer which the hotel staff would tell you but the spa was our destination. Highly recommended if you are into rejuvenation..! The only probable blip would be the saloon which seemed under staffed and under equipped considering the hotel is international class. While we were busy the children were in the playing room. There again was other woefully under staffed and under cared room which had a mouldy smell to it when i first entered. They had half the toys broken and looked dusty. Not very good considering they have labelled it as children's play area.
We finished our day with a nice evening stroll before checking out. Throughout the staff were exceedingly pleasant especially the concierge. We had loads of fun and throughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend definitely was a part of your holiday. Some of the things i mentioned makes this a 4 star on an otherwise 5 star destination.

Room Tip: Check out for monsoon and off season deals. They can be quite good on the pocket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harigovind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

surrounded by amazing vegetation just over the lake. excellent services and attention at the guests, good food with wonderful terrace where you can really enjoy your lunch or dinner.Incredible views of the surrounding. Nice rooms and nice entertainments. Very good SPA services. Great place where to relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: I had a suit on the first floor of the main building and was simply excellent with the view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msm21367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvanathapuram
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

From C. Marathe
I have visited Raviz thrice so far and my experience every time is better and better. Courteous but professional staff. Good food, stroll, swim & spa and what not..... wholesome & enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the lake.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crmarathe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

لقد اعجبت بالمنتجع حيث فخامة السكن وجودة الخدمة ولذة الاكل.service by the hotel staff was excellant.i had taken private pool villa which had taken me back to my honey moon time was like a nostalgic feeling to me.staff were well trained and very proffesional.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdulazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasaragod, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Raviz Is one of the best resorts I ever used to stay. I been to there last year only , but it was a great experience with their warm hospitality, wonderful rooms, large swimming pool, tasty food and its quite a superb option for those want to spend some days in a peaceful resort. The only limitation i found is the lack of many cottages . One traditional mind blowing cottage is there with exotic atmosphere on the shore of back waters, rest rooms are on the main block. I love this property and recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in New block other than the Reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadicstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Loved the view of backwaters. However, food services at the main and only restaurant are poorly organised. Staff has no knowledge or coordination. It felt like a 2 star hotel where I paid like a 5 star.

Room Tip: I strongly advice not to eat here. Go for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ishunplugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#2 of 21 in Kollam
255 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
2.4 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
207 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
558 reviews
8.0 mi away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#1 of 1 in Paravur
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Property: The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Family Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raviz Resort And Spa, Ashtamudi Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing