We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VOYAGE TO RAVIZ//ANIL P VARGHESE N FAMILY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Tripunithura, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VOYAGE TO RAVIZ//ANIL P VARGHESE N FAMILY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

First of all marvelous atmosphere,!! cool environment with friendly staffs who had given personal care and attention for us. Really explored the scenic beauty and it was so exiting. The house boat cruising added a specialty to our voyage to RAVIZZZ.
A special thanks to raviz team.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anil_saira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    169
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
315
182
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night here which was a last minute reservation due to a change in our holiday plans due to a strike and the taxis not being allowed on the road, It was a great find by the travel agent and we had an out standing stay. The view from our room over the back waters was excellent as were the reception, restaurant and door men.The food was wonderful. Although it was a 5* it was one of the best. The pool area was very pleasant.At 4.30pm we went for free tea followed by a trip on a houseboat which was an added bonus since we were unable to go on a house boat over night as planned due to the strike.

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking the water and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GordandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Motoring through bustling, congested Kollam, we arrived at the gates of the Raviz. Immediately, the cityscape fell away to a beautiful backwater oasis. One would never suspect that there would lie such a serene getaway in the heart of the city.

The accommodations are excellent, the service is outstanding. The staff really go out of its way to make sure your stay is comfortable. The grounds and the backwaters are a special treat. The Kerala cuisine merits a special mention, being authentic and flavorful. There is so much more to say about this lovely haven, but we will leave that to others to discover!!!!

We sincerely wish we had more time to spend at this visit but plan to return in 2015 with our family for an extended holiday.

Room Tip: ask for backwaters' view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The visit to Raviz, Kollam, Kerala was a long planned one. But the experience was out of the world. A pleasant surrounding, bang on the banks of Ashtamudy Lake. The reception lobby is well decked with a couple of traditional lamps adoring the centre and a beautiful arrangement of spices inside a country boat. The rooms are well furnished and the food is a sumptous treat.
Though the place was well-occupied, we never felt the crowd. The most enjoyable even was the house boat ride around the lake. That was one of the best maintained house boats too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very modern hotel, with good food and very friendly staff. The hotel is about 3 Km
outside Kollam so a little isolated in not being about to walk out and dine.
However this was not a problem as the food quality was excellent, you pay more than locally, but in India I prefer to eat quality and avoid an tummy problems.
This hotel has lovely views of Ashmudi lake, at the south end of the backwaters, and is ideal for houseboat trips on the lake. Would recommend for 2 or 3 day stay.
The Raviz does houseboat trips, but I found their Webpage lacking in information and detailed prices. So arrange my own trip from Saha Yathri Tours (Rajeev )
There are two trips to consider on the lake, a full day houseboat trip, or a trip to Monroe Island and take a small canoe down the very small backwater channels.
Rajeev ( Saha Yathri Tours) did me a package and we combined both trips into one. We had a full day on the lake, starting at 10.30 am and finishing at 5.30 pm
( being collected and delivered back to the hotel on the boat)
We stopped off and did about an hour and half side trip up the side canals at Monroe Island. THe trip included a Shrimp and Fish curry lunch consisting of twelve seperate dishes .!!! In the afteroon we has Tea and banana fritters.
The trip was 8000 Rupee ( abouy £100) the boat can accomodate four, so at £25 a head, it was a great day out. The lake/backwaters at this end are sea water so have adifferent feel to the Alleppey end.Try both if you have the time.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ScottWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

"Atithi Devo Bhava " - This is what you will exprience at The Raviz Kollam.

We were group of 5 couples & every one had a Year old Kid.We stayed here for 3N/4D.
We enjoyed every moment of our stay here.The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay.They took good care of our kids when we used to dine.

You never get bored here as there are so many activities which will keep you occupied all day [swimming,table tenis,snooker,shuttle,tennis,kids room(the best),indoor games,....the list goes onnnnnnn....]

The breakfast,lunch,dinner was awesome & wide spread with lots of varities for pure vegetarians like us.Most of the time we requested for special meals [breakfast/lunch/dinner] for kids & the chef himself used to come to us to discuss the menu.Trust me all the kids loved the food.

Evening Tea/Coffee/Snacks,special sunset cruise,cultural show was very good.

Overall The Raviz is the best luxurious resort to stay in and around Astamoodi Lake,Kollam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rakesh_Bohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, the owner appears to have a close connection with the famous SRK who appears to have done a bunch of marketing for him. The public areas and garden and well kept and impressive as are the views out over the backwaters. The houseboat owned by the hotel is also very pretty, we spent 2 nights on it touring the same.
Where this establishment really falls down is the service and planning. We ran out of loo roll on the boat within a day (we're not heavy users) and the three staff on the boat had little concept of service. Our rooms were not cleaned until 6pm the day after the first night. It appeared that the staff were arguing over whose duty it was, NOT impressive, especially when in the confined spaces the boat offers. The excursion to the 'fish market' to pick up some local delicacies was actually to a tiny stall on the main street in a very busy village....don't bother if you're offered this 'excursion'. It was the chef on the boat's first experience cooking on his own (he was 18) and it showed, all the meals tasted the same

Breakfast in the main hotel was ample but really of very average quality compared to the several other hotels we stayed in in India and once a service was lacklustre and strained.
It's a relatively new company so maybe with time they'll get better, at the moment they're about a decade behind the service you'll get at Taj etc. Until they get this in order perhaps their tariffs should respect their novice status.

Perhaps this is all a hangover from the marxist history in Kerala but it makes for a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Late-Epicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 21 in Kollam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
2.4 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#1 of 1 in Paravur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Property: The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#2 Family Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raviz Resort And Spa, Ashtamudi Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing