We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro...!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Retro...!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Was not completely functional...but had a nice time with frndz.

Effort to create the overall Kerala's traditional natural ambiance (by Architect Ugene Pandalaa) should be appreciated rather beautiful.

Its more off a place for senior citizens who want to just relax n try some ayurvedic massages, spas and stuffs that the resort has to offer...but nothing to shoot up young blood like us other than the cost (even if the dream rate RS60/- against $ is happening) ;)

View of Ashtamudi Backwaters and nice breeze from it was awesome.

Great Food, nice stay, cooperative staffs, relax n enjoy and rip ur wallet off...!!!

There is nothing that Kollam (where the resort is) has to offer as a tourist destination other than some similar resorts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    163
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
310
179
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were on vacation and stayed there for one night.Check-in was smooth,the worst part was dining.Our package included Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner.They have a restaurant called Riverside.As we entered we were told there was no buffet..and were surprised when their staff handed a single-page laminated card which was for part-veg and part non-veg food.We were tired and had the food offered which was a roti,nan,two vegetables,salad(small portion) and NO RICE.Food was not replenished too!!!For dessert, we were offered Fruit Salad, but instead only got cut-fruits.The horrible part was known when we went for dinner.The same single page laminated card was offered..with exact same food that we had for lunch.I was flabbergasted and protested to which the staff told us that the same food..was offered for lunch and dinner between Monday-Friday.Another reason offered was low occupancy of 3 rooms only.Hence the costs were higher.I am a diabetic and have food restrictions,but here THERE WAS STALE FOOD AND SAME FOOD which i am sure none of us will want eat.Besides, food offered was Incomplete and not Replenished despite the fact that it was included and a result both me and my wife had to eat biscuits and sleep hungry for the first time in our lives.Hence, i would WARN everybody in here to Avoid this place.Housekeeping: We had been for a boat ride at 5 pm and in our absence and without our knowledge and consent someone cleaned our room!!!This shows their level of professionalism.I did protest at night but they had a rather worrying reply..that we will look into it.Please, i do not recommend this Hotel..Stay at Your Own Risk...and Sleep Hungry !

Room Tip: Please Avoid this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jiten1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raviz, General Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Mr Jiten,
Greetings from The Raviz
Thanks for your mail. Your comments on the service front have been taken up seriously.
I have already instructed the concerned look into the matter. We have planned an extensive training session for our hotel staff. I assure you that we will not leave any loose ends in providing the best services to our valuable guests.
Your valuable suggestions are always welcome as it gives us a chance to improve further and helps us in growing further in the hospitality industry.
Looking forward to serving you again in the near future. Please contact me personally for your future reservation.

CR Jayachandran
General Manager
Mob 09947033322
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed here for a fam trip and I just fell in love with the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and you would want to just stay in your room, enjoy the jacuzzi tub overlooking the lake! The balcony in the room also adds up to the coziness of the room. Rooms are very clean and the room service are of course very helpful and very true to their jobs. Food were also good and it is really a warm experience to be welcomed and treat you as a royal queen or king by their staff and all the employees of the hotel!

The must do to this hotel is the ayurvedic spa and backwater cruise lunch..

As a travel consultant, I highly recommend this hotel to all travellers who seek relaxation in Kollam!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed for 2 days in Raviz this property is a good one i recommend all the viewers to make a visit their.This is purely a class hotel all the staff and very friendly and co operative and hotel features hi speed net.good gym.spa,Saying about the restaurant i was not fully satisfied with the pricing of the menu but the dishes where awesome and the ashtamudi kayal fish curry which i felt was the best dish i had ever had,Over all good place to stay enjoyed it,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deepeising15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

It’s a new generation luxury hotel .Ideal for groups, Conferences, Weddings etc .The service standards should still needs to improve .The infinity pool and conference hall is awesome .Hotel have a floating restaurant and a Houseboat

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayamkulam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Went to "The raviz" for brunch. The starters were good but the main course and dessert failed to impress. Kappa and fish curry was mouth watering, other dishes dint live up-to the 5 star quality. Most of the dishes were bland.
The ambience of the restaurant and service of the staff were good.
But the place is good to spend with family and friends, were you can sit and chat enjoying the beauty of Ashtamudi lake.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marypips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raviz, Manager at The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations in terms of food & beverage offerings. On behalf of the team, would request you to consider this to be an aberration and not a reflection of our normal standards. We would like to invite you to experience a better offering during your next visit.

Looking forward to your continued patronage.

Jaychandran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Excellent views, great kerala food, excellent rooms, very polite and helpful staff, and great facilities . It was a great experience and luxurious stay at the Raviz. The only drawback with this place is their pricing. Its exorbitant pricing which is more in terms of top end international 7 star hotel rates. It doesnt match the pricing of the region or country to be frank. Overall it was great stay and completely enjoyed the time at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shenekurien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 22 in Kollam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
2.4 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#11 of 22 in Kollam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Property: The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kollam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raviz Resort And Spa, Ashtamudi Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing