We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left after first night”
Review of Cambay Palm Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambay Palm Lagoon
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am sharing my experience about Hotel Cambay Palm Lagoon, KOLLAM. We believe false/incomplete information was provided to us during booking which ruined our stay at the hotel and we had to leave after the first night before completing our 3 night stay. Following are our complaints:
1. We had paid for a deluxe cottage with lake view. However, we were given a standard room at first. After going through many rooms we settled with one, which too was in a bad shape as others. In general, none of the rooms were maintained properly.
2. The rooms had mosquitoes, we had to use three mosquito repellents throughout night. Ultimately, this problem forced us to leave, as we were scared to have fallen ill to malaria.
3. The spa/massage center was closed until February, which we were looking forward to visit.
4. The swimming pool had insects, snails & leaves. We have good reason to believe that the pool was not cleaned properly for weeks and was a source for many water born diseases.
5. The property did not have a license to serve alcohol, so there were no drinks/bar available.
6. The restaurant/room service had only 3-4 dishes to serve.
7. There were no other guests at the facility except us and we felt very unsafe.
8. The hotel management became very defensive when we complained to them about all this.

Room Tip: Will not recommend this property to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gp123NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Palm Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We regret for the inconvenience caused. As the swimming pool is in the open near the lake it gets dirty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 64 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have travelled to India a few times and moved around a lot, and really would not recommend this place. There are far nicer places for the money they charge! This place is really not good value for money. We were disappointed as soon as we arrived. The grounds and facilities are old and not kept in good condition. The pool area is falling apart with safety ropes along the lakeside falling down and rusty umbrella stands with no umbrellas on them. There was bird poo everywhere with no effort to clean it up, including on the sun loungers. The grounds were nice enough but nothing special, and the floating cottage we stayed in was quite old and a bit dreary. We had actually booked a cottage but were told on arrival we'd been upgraded to the floating cottage. However, we asked to be put back in a cottage and they said there were none available - we had been moved to make space for others not to be upgraded! We also asked to check out early having seen the resort, and although we were unable to because of our booking policy, no one came back to us about it on 2 occassions, and we had to keep chasing for an answer. We would have preferred to be told one way or the other. The restaurant staff were friendly and clearly took pride in their work, however, we asked on one occassion to eat at a table overlooking the lake, which was just outside the restaurant, and were told we'd be charged room service to eat there - for a waiter to walk all of 10 steps outside the restaurant! Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Palm Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We regret for the inconvenience caused. Would request you to give us a chance to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This resort is for all those who wish to unwind from the busy hectic stressful life, a real stress buster. Since there are almost no activities and nothing to see around the place one is forced to stay cool and enjoy the 24 hours breeze blowing from the Lake side. The vast expanse of the lake itself is heart warming experience. The food choice and quality is also praise worthy. The only shortfall i would say is the under utility of the resources and ambiance So many water sports activities could be provided for the adventurous guests.
Feather in the cap is the courteous and friendly staff right from the Security guard to the Resort Manager, very rare quality from Kerala employees.There are certain structures which needs repairs and renovations to enhance the quality and facilities at the resort.

Room Tip: Floating cottages are too small hence a deluxe cottage facing the lake would make good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAHESH_JOSHI99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Palm Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We thank you for your wonderful review. Kerala resorts are basically for rejuvenation from the hectic life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was my second stay at Cambay Palm Lagoon, Kerala for my Diwali holidays!! Was delighted yet again to experience the same level of service as before! Was really happy with the consistency maintained in the food..The cleanliness in the rooms was just like before! Goes without saying that the hospitality at CAMBAY is very warm and welcoming!! Thanks you so much for making my Diwali trip special!!

Room Tip: Stay In Lake-View Room...Use Houseboat...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KamaluPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Palm Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We thank you for your wonderful review. A smiling guest is our reward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Property worth spending a week's time. A perfect vacation spot. Not much of activities present at the resort. But what a lagoon. During rain, it looks as if you are definitely in a different world. Staffs are really good in handling customers.....Only problem is the food part which we need to order them before an hour, as they would prepare everything fresh. In another way, it is good as we have it at our home. Unlike other hotels, there is no pre-prepared food at all...Good Houseboat trip.......Overall a calm & enjoyable experience for my family....

Room Tip: Choose the room right in front of the lake..cool view & extreme right side of the resort in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anouka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I strongly recommend everybody to go at cambay palm lagoon, kerala. I have awesome experience of Kerala house boats and floating cottages. I love boating and I enjoyed lot there. Cambay hotel have their own boats and I used it on rent. I spent 2 nights in cambay palm lagoon, kerala in houseboat and got really nice services and nice hospitality by the crew members. Everything was clean, tidy and trip was so relaxing. Food was so delicious. I really like hot breakfast early in the morning which energizes me for whole day. It was such a memorable experience in my life with CAMBAY.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandippami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, good location, service is great. Staff is very co-operative and very friendly. I stayed with my family here in month of November, 2012. It was a lovely experience to stay there and would like to visit here again. Food is very delicious. I really surprised by visiting spa, yoga centre, swimming pool, fishing and boating here. Lovely place in kerala.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joginder s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kollam hotels
0 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
0 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
0 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#3 of 22 in Kollam
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Vaidya Hotel
The Vaidya Hotel
#12 of 22 in Kollam
29 reviews
0 mi away
Nani
Nani
#4 of 22 in Kollam
226 reviews
0 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambay Palm Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambay Palm Lagoon

Address: Vellimon West, Kollam 691511, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Price Range: $50 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambay Palm Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambay Palm Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambay Palm Lagoon Hotel Kollam
Cambay Palm Lagoon Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing