We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bunch of holiday memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A bunch of holiday memories”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our holiday at the Quilon Beach Hotel, Kollam, Kerala gave us a bunch of beautiful, Arabian Sea view memories to take away with us to London. We had 23 delightful nights of stay at the hotel, checked in on 19th June 2014 and checked out on 12th July 2014.

The main aim of our holiday was total rest, relaxation, peace of mind, security, unbridled freedom and a care free getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday, mundane London life. We can honestly say we achieved our targets to a very high extent during this absolutely lovely holiday. The lovely hotel, its sea view location, and oceanic backdrop provided a perfect setting for enjoying our holiday. Surrounded by Kerala’s ravishing natural beauty and the vast expanse of the mighty Arabian Sea, clearly visible through the great, big glass windows of Room 707 on the 7th floor of the hotel, we had the most magnificent and magical view of the distant horizon and the beautiful sunset in the evenings. It was the greatest show on earth to watch, one of the most enchanting, spectacles of mother nature’s magical shows re-enacted every single day.
In our opinion The Quilon Beach Hotel is undoubtedly a charmingly beautiful and stunning five star hotel. It is extremely neat and tidy, very well maintained and looked after.

The sight of the security guards doing their jobs gave us a lot of reassurance and a sense of security, all of the time. The great big lounge, the extremely large restaurant, the bar, the swimming pool are all set up beautifully for the customers to enjoy.

Myself and my wife greatly enjoyed the rides in the glassy, transparent capsule lift giving us a panoramic view of the buildings, trees and other greenery as it ascended and descended from floor to floor.

There are some minor shortcomings to pay attention to which need rectification, for example not getting hot water on time or not having brand new chairs in the room. These can be put right by the management easily once it is notified. The overall standard and quality are very high and quite enjoyable. One of the other things to be mentioned is Ayurvedic massage and other treatments which were excellent. We enjoyed it very much.

Breakfast was complimentary (included in the room rate). The food and drinks provided were very good and the choices were great. The chilli chicken and chapatis were very tasty and delicious. So were the other items of food and drink.

Being an elderly couple food and drinks were not our first priority. We mainly wanted rest and relaxation, peace of mind and friendly treatment, which we got in plenty.

One of the great things that we specially noted was the genuine effort on the part of every staff member, from top to bottom to make our holiday enjoyable and unforgettable. They were dedicated, courteous, friendly and professional. The behaviour and attitude of the staff at the hotel played a big part in making our holiday enjoyable and successful. A couple of them even raced to room 707 to save my life when my blood sugar level went right down, in the middle of the night.

I am going to mention here, if I am allowed, a couple of managerial names as shining examples of service with a smile which we really liked and enjoyed. One of them is Abraham Santhosh and the other one is Rajeev Pillai. I pay tribute to their dedication and professionalism along with all others. The service rendered by the staff was exceptionally great.

Finally the sweet memories of the Arabian Sea view holiday will last for a long time and we will recommend the Quilon Beach hotel to all our friends. A great big thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: Try and book rooms towards the top floor which will give a very good view of the sea and the surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakoob K, General Manager at The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful long review on TripAdvisor following your 23 delightful nights at the Quilon Beach Hotel Convention Center!

We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service provided by our Ambassadors as well as with the facilities available at the hotel, particularly with the room you had stayed in and the food & services.

All your valuable positive comments are greatly appreciated as it is always of immense value to us to receive such awesome feedback further to motivate our Associates to do extra mile on Guest services. We are glad to know that you had warm experiences on our Hotel all in all. It is always best to hear from our guests that our product and services met and exceeded expectations of our guest, Fabulous.

It is nice to note that your recommendation for fellow travelers and family is really appreciated. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back for yet another relaxing stay with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Yakoob Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    103
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
103
67
21
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kottayam
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

it was in May 16 of 2014 we myself and my wife check in at 10.30 pm , being it my home town I was a little excited to see the hotel, It was our IADVL Kerala Branch annual conference, I was occupied room 509 facing the sea ,being the night nothing was visible, even at 11 pm as it is the time for closing the restaurant they are very courteous to prepare dinner for we people, it was really felt the sense of :adhithy devobhava" , in the morning I was really surprised to see that we are above the sea as it is so close to the Arabian sea. room is neat and tidy , in the morning if view the sea through window we forget everything , we can see people walking through the sea side road. breakfast is complementary , all the season fruits are available, south Indian , western and European break fast are ready , they are tasty. in the conference venue the supplied food of top most standard and quality, the bar in the upper floor arranged in such a way that you can relax and have a chat with sea
it is still a sweet memory of quilon beach hotel I Will definitely recommend to all my friends

Room Tip: select sea side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadeepms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakoob K, General Manager at The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Quilon Beach Hotel.

It was great to read that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. I was also delighted to read your comments with regards to the hotels location along the walk, as well as the service which you received during your stay with us.

Your positive comments about our rooms, food, services and the beach were well regarded and greatly appreciated for your wonderful review.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Quilon Beach Hotel in one of your future trip to Quilon.


Truly,

Yakoob Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Well visited this hotel only for the purpose of having a glimpse of the sea view which was so enchanting and I was not disappointed.The rooms are clean and well maintained.The only minus I found was the food their breakfast is complimentary but do not have much varieties.The idli and vada supplied to me was so terrible I have never had idlies so hard any where.The coconut chutney they supplied did not had salt when I reported this the the chef and others came and apologized for the mistake ok to err is human I thought but the tragic part is with much hope I ordered my lunch fish and chapattis it was half cooked and the fish was not fresh although the hotel was very near to the sea which shocked me very much I personally feel it is time that the hotel has to rethink about its team in the kitchen.
They told me they are going to upgrade me to a new room and when I was moved I find there were no difference except the beds were kept apart.So the effort of shifting all our luggage was resulted in mere waste of time and energy.It is better to fore check the offer made before you accept it.
The reception staff were so nice and cooperative.The room service was excellent except the quality of the food and its exorbitant pricing.I was forced to go out to have dinner as the quality of the food was so poor.

Room Tip: Prefer higher floors to enjoy the sea view.They accept reservations over phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSubramonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakoob K, General Manager at The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stays with us at the Quilon Beach Hotel

It is good to read that you are happy with your overall stay at the Hotel, We are however sorry to read from your comments that you were not fully pleased with our Food services, we take such feedback extremely serious and whilst we continue to take necessary improvement, Please do accept our since apologies for any disappointment caused.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and we truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back at the Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Center

Kind Regards

Yakoob Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the best hotel in kollam town. Stayed there on business. Fantastic view of the beach and the Arabian sea. Rooms are clean with appropriate furnishings. Ask for the rooms on the upper floors which have great view.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kranthikpebbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakoob K, General Manager at The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with the Quilon Beach Hotel, gald to read you are happy staying with us.

Your positive comments about our rooms and view are well noted and your recommendations for fellow travelers are truly worthy.

Once again thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you back for another remarkable stay with us.

Best regards

Yakoob Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My family and I were in Kollam for a day, and we were very happy that we chose to stay at the Quilon Beach Hotel. The staff were very welcoming, warm and courteous. The restaurant is quite good. We stayed in the premium rooms, which had a fabulous view of the beach. As the hotel is right on the beach, access to it was easy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will most definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakoob K, General Manager at The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for a wonderful review of the Hotel, your comments with regards to our staff's service and the Hotel food is well received. Your positive remarks about our employees further motivate them to do better and the best.

Once again thank for your review and recommending the Hotel to fellow travelers, looking forward to welcome you and family back for yet another wonderful stay with the Quilon Beach Hotel.

Best regards

Yakoob Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

perfect hotel for business travelers - neat, clean - and simply has the best views. the hotel claims that every room has a beach view - which I think is correct - but still ask for rooms that at the right in front of the lift - that is the lane in front - and not on the sides. The difference between the price of the rooms on side and front is meager and should not be a bother. the rooms with a flat view of the sea from the window that is that make the real sea facing ones - have a breath taking view - which i dont think any hotel in Kollam would do. I have only stayed at kollam apart from this in ITC - ITC is more soothing experience because of other luxury elements - but if you stick to better view - this hotel has it. lovely coast, pretty decent food, and very courteous staff. rooms are nice, nothing fancy - but clean and with basics - nothing more, nothing less - but the sea view is enough to book this one!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesha19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakoob K, General Manager at The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with the Quilon Beach Hotel and for your wonderful review of the property. Glad to read that you had a comfortable stay us.

Your comments about our product and services were warmly received and thank you for your recommendations to fellow travelers.

Once again thank you and looking forward to welcome you to the Quilon Beach Hotel and assuring you of our best personal services like before.

Best regards

Yakoob Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a nice stay in this hotel. We stayed there for 3 days. Reception, service, quality of food, location, view all very nice. We really enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend this hotel. The only draw back was no hot water. if this is rectified it is really excellent.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manju P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakoob K, General Manager at The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent say with the Quilon Beach Hotel, good to read that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us.

With regards to Hot water, its been generated by solor power plus during winter this has been heated by Electricity and the issue is resolved.

Once again thank you for recommendation to fellow travelers and looking forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with us.

Best regards

Yakoob Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
2.4 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
2.3 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 21 in Kollam
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nani
Nani
#6 of 21 in Kollam
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sea Pearl
Hotel Sea Pearl
#8 of 21 in Kollam
67 reviews
6.4 mi away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre

Property: The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Address: Kollam Beach, Kollam 691006, India (Formerly The Beach Orchid)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kollam
#3 Family Hotel in Kollam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first 5 star luxury hotel in Kollam with 95 rooms, located on the beach offering panoramic view of the Arabian Sea from every room till its horizon. The hotel is an ideal host to a holiday maker as well as corporates for their meetings, conventions, weddings at a destination which is untouched by many....Providing seven wonder views of the sea, beach, park, city, greenery harbor and backwaters. It Provides 95 sea facing rooms with Multi-cuisine restaurant, coffee shop, an infinity swimming pool, international spa and Kerala Ayurvedic centre, Health Club, is well designed and managed to offer international standard amenities and services to both leisure and business travelers alike. The concept of MICE tourism is incorporated with full size international convention centre that can accommodate up to 1500 people, one of the biggest beachside business facilities in India. The other seven conference halls of different capacities provide variety to conferencing and make it a pleasant and peaceful location for conducting business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quilon Beach Hotel And Convention Centre
Beach Orchid Kollam
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing