We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very swish, but a few let-downs”
Review of Nani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nani
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Even my standard room was beautifully decorated, with dark furniture, elegant lighting (yes – no naked bulbs!) and a top notch bathroom. The hotel has central a/c. At the end of each floor is a room for reading and relaxing that has comfortable chairs.

The restaurant was excellent – food is a good quality and well presented. A proper complimentary breakfast is provided – not just the usual terrible south Indian options, but also eggs (including poached if you like) and potato croquettes were available. It might be nice to add a few non-veg items as well to the breakfast selection.

Negatives:
(1) There was no hot water when I took a shower in the evening; it was fine in the morning.
(2) The hotel policy is ‘no smoking’ but there was a definite smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor and possibly also in my room – this is the main reason for me not giving the hotel 5 ‘stars’.
(3) There was a loud banging noise at around 11pm – according to reception it was “painting”. The noise did stop after I phoned reception twice, but loud painting shouldn’t be carried out at times when people are obviously going to be sleeping. When I called up the receptionist rather amusingly asked me if the noise was disturbing me – errrh…
(4) For lunch a lot of items were not available and the waiter wasn’t able to tell me clearly which items were unavailable, which made ordering a bit difficult.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Nani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 208 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed one night at Nani Hotels and Resorts, Chinnakkada, Kollam. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean. Complementary breakfast was supposed to start at 7.30 AM but all items were not ready at that time. Anyway food was good.


Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Vijayakumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Hotel is centrally situated. The rooms are nicely maintained.
The Housekeeping needs to be a bit prompt. The Reastautant ambience is good, however they should also serve some authentic Kerala food for the dinner as well. Overall we had a pleasant stay and wonderful time in and around Kollam

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank HomIrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night following our lonely planet guide. Throughout our stay we did not find any of the staff polite or helpful.

They showed us the price guide and we went for the deluxe which ended up being a lot more then what it said after the add ons.

The only good thing was probably the room. Good size and clean. The restaurant was only a buffet so we decided to go elsewhere to get a fresh cooked meal. The breakfast was appalling. It was also meant to be buffet but with a choice of only three things. Very disappointed compared to what we'd been offered in previous accommodation.

When leaving we paid up without a smile or thanks for staying. We asked for them to call us a taxi which I don't think they did after what we arrived there in.

Would not recommend or return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank season-traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel twice, once during October 2009 & then December. First time I was alone and the next time we booked almost the complete hotel.

I went to some of the so called good hotels in Kollam (before checking into Nani), checked them out to see that some of them looked good from the road but found them pitiful beyond the front desk area. Some of their names were attractive but found them far from even being rated terrible.

To be frank, the hotel was very well designed and well maintained with a good party hall and restaurant. The breakfast at the hotel was fair enough but I am sure they would have bettered it by now. The lunch was great with an average rated dinner, they did not have an attached bar/pub then, like most of hotels in Kerala.

Just few minutes away from the kollam railway station and 2 minutes walk to the city bus station, I found this hotel to be close to the best places in and around Kollam, very much within the heart of the city.

The rooms are medium sized, very clean with nice bathrooms and good warm lights through out the hotel. They have utilized the congested built up area very well, so every part of the hotel feels great except the lift lobbies.

I would recommend this hotel any day.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent, but the suite room was really great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaneeshKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Nani for 1 night in March 2013, before picking up a backwater cruise from Kollam to Allepey. We were so pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel (and the air con!) The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and shower powerful. The restaurant linked to the hotel was fabulous too.

The staff were also very helpful, organising transport for us and trawling round the town to find a working ATM! Is more expensive than hailing your own rickshaw though...

All in all a great one night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claireroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patcash66, Owner at Nani, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Nani. We look forward to your next visit very soon.
Your's truly, Prakash Nair, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Viewed from outside, the hotel is not what it seems. The hotel is very tasteful. It has an excellent kitchen, the rooms are very comfortable and nice, and also the bathroom. Absolutely all the staff are very friendly, and the ladies at reception and travel desk are very nice. It has certainly been the best hotel I have been in India, although it has no pool or spa. It was nice to be there. I recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraswatii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patcash66, Owner at Nani, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for the good review of our hotel and it's facilities. The high rating you have given us will be a source of encouragement to the entire team at Nani. We hope that you will choose Nani for your next stay in Kollam thereby giving us an opportunity to be of service once again.
Your's truly, Prakash Nair, Managing Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kollam hotels
1.8 mi away
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
1.7 mi away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#3 of 22 in Kollam
273 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grande Muscat
Hotel Grande Muscat
#15 of 22 in Kollam
12 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fragrant Nature Backwater Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nani

Address: Opposite Clock Tower, Main Road | Chinnakada, Kollam 691001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kollam
Price Range: $31 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nani 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nani is a 3 star luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Kollam town. It boasts 28 well appointed rooms, a multi-cuisine restaurant, conference hall, business centre, library and fitness centre. All rooms are stylishly appointed using only the finest of materials to satisfy the most discerning of guests. Welcome to Nani, for an experience as unique as you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nani Kollam, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing