We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, great service”
Review of Tres Marias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tres Marias
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a week long cycling trip. It is located down a sandy track some way from the road, really peaceful. Our room had a lower floor with small kitchen area, room for a child's bed and a sofa. Upstairs on the mezzanine floor was a large double bed. We also had a small patio area to sit and enjoy a beer offered as soon as we arrived in the afternoon. Meals are lovely. Super variety and quality at breakfast; great bread and rolls, various fresh yogurts and fruit, cereals, fuirt juice. All served on the covered veranda overlooking the fields. Dinner is served in a small dining room, again lovely food and local wines. All of the staff were very helpful. Our bags were moved on to the next hotel by the owner while we cycled the route. I enjoyed our stay and could have spent a few more days based here. As long as you have a car to tour around you can reach lovely local beaches north and south within about half an hour. You can also reach the coast by bike but a car gives access to a bigger area of the coast which is worth seeing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

This farm, in the middle of the fields, with a large view of the small mountains on the East, and the Alentejo's plain, is the perfect place to relax, read, write, paint or just meditate. The staff is very helpful, although somehow invisible, to keep the privacy of guests.
It is very close to the wonderful Malhão beach, umpolluted, one of the few reminders of how the coast when they were pure wilderness.
We could say, properly, that Tres Marias, if there was not an adjective too much and to often misused, is Zen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked this place for 8 nights in may to go on my july holidays as I read about it on the casasbrancas.pt webpage and I thought the place would be an idilic post surrounded by nature and near the beaches, as they mentioned there. (Taking into account it is quite expensive)
Nevertheless it is all the opposite. The access to that place was awful. The road is a neverendless dirt track and the only nature that surrounds the house is a plain with yelow dry grass. If you wanna break your car, do not hesitate and go there. We couldn't stay ther 8 days! Each time we went to the beach, or to the village...we had to pass through that awful long road!
The first day, when we finally got the place we were very dissapointed for all that and told the employees that we didn't expect that at all. One of the employees called her boss Balthasar Trueb and exposed our problem. The employee told us that her boss didn't want to have 'sad guests' in his house so they would give all our reservation back as they can understand the problems of access that the place have. So we finally left the place and start searching for a place to stay in HIGH season...we lost the whole day! But that is not all. After that, Balthasar Trueb wrote us an e-mail to tell us that he would just give us back 90€ of our reservation! INCREDIBLE. A FRAUD.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank raqueltap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very relaxed and peaceful. The setting is rural and in practice one needs to have a car - or a bike - in order to explore the local area, though of course there are taxis. We were made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed the setting, the comfort and the excellent food. A great place to unwind, soak up the atmosphere, read a book, and make friends. Really appreciated our stay.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Wallowsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a great place to spend some relaxing days. Near the beaches in Porto Côvo and Vila Nova de Milfontes, it's located in a very calm area. The only thing you will ear is the birds.
The breakfast is great, the staff is very nice, the service is quite good.

I really recomend it to spend some nice days just relaxing and enjoying the wonders of the Alentejo.

Room Tip: The small room in the back is very nice because noone goes by that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We booked Tres Marias as a break in our journey down the southern coast of Portugal without any great expectations. Finding the house was made more challenging by road works on the main road forcing a long and difficult detour but we eventually made it and were more than pleased with what we found. The house, which was set into a very pleasant rural setting, was formally an ostrich breeding facility before a major makeover converted it into guest accommodation. The rooms were more than acceptable with all of the facilities you would find in this type of accommodation. What makes Tres Marias exceptional was the relaxed atmosphere, the wonderful people who prepared and served the meals and the meals themselves. Dinner was essentially a series of courses based on local cuisine served with local wines and a choice of eclectic music. The food was excellent and once finished the cook went home leaving us to enjoy the rest of the night by ourselves. The next morning was very relaxed with plenty of time to sleep in or go for a walk before breakfast wad served. This was the highlight of the stay as it was the best breakfast I have ever enjoyed anywhere in the world. Lots of variety with breads and cake cooked fresh that morning, freshly squeezed orange juice, omelets, fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, etc. It was beautifully prepared and the presentation was fantastic. Our only regret was we only had one night and could not stay for longer.
I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone, it was one of those very special places you find only occasionally while traveling abroad.

Andy and Julie from Melbourne Australia
November 2011

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Fantastic place for a serene break. The rooms are contemporary in design, the location is remote and peaceful, the owners are so considerate and accommodating... I cannot say a bad thing about the place at all. I WILL be going back for sure.

Come here if you want somewhere a little different, somewhere peaceful, somewhere stylish yet affordable.

No pool, no internet, no gym.... this is a place to switch off....

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkyMarkLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Milfontes
5 mi away
Duna Parque
Duna Parque
#3 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
219 reviews
5 mi away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
281 reviews
4.3 mi away
Moinho da Asneira
Moinho da Asneira
#8 of 31 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
55 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casazul
Casazul
#3 of 28 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Marias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Marias

Address: Apt. 44, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-065, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range: $110 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tres Marias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Marias Hotel Vila Nova De Milfontes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing