We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Portuguese townhouse in a lovely town”
Review of Casa do Adro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa do Adro
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Traditional Portuguese townhouse in a lovely town”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a beautifully looked after townhouse in the older part of Milfontes. Our room was so pretty, on the ground floor and immaculately clean. We were offered orange juice and homemade cake on arrival and made to feel extremely welcome. There is a roof terrace for drinks and breakfast and our picnic the next day (we were walking the coast) fed us for 2 days or more. Lovely place and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
189
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arriving hot and dusty from a days walking we were warmly welcomed with fresh orange juice into this charming and traditional home. The hostess could not have been nicer. In our rooms were slices of fresh cake, with tea, coffee and platters of fresh fruit in a small kitchen. The sunny terrace was a lovely place to sip the complementary wines and nibbles as the sun went down. The rooms were cosy, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The breakfasts were the best we had .

Room Tip: There is one with a double bath, but they are all nice and the website is the best place to look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Like other reviewers we were on a walking holiday; we arrived weary, footsore and stressed. Within moments we were transported into a cocoon of comfort. A warm welcome included chocolate cake, tea or freshly squeezed orange juice. There are six bedrooms and bathrooms Ours (comfortable and decent sized double bed) had a large bathroom with a luxurious corner bath and towelling robes. We were shown round the two lounges, then up the stairs decorated with personal knickknacks to the little sun terrace, and invited to help ourselves to coffee from the capsule machine, fresh fruit from the fridge or a drink from the drinks trolley - "all included in the price." In the morning breakfast on the terrace included a beautifully decorated fruit platter, freshly prepared scrambled eggs, cheeses, cold meats, as well as all the usual jams, breads etc. This is a lovely establishment, run by a houseproud and capable couple who could not make you feel more at home. There are several good restaurants for dinner all within easy walking distance. In the morning we were taken to the spot where we were to be rowed, for the next leg of our journey, across the mouth of the river by a local fisherman; we waved goodbye with a spring in our step. Apparently some-one once gave this B and B a not so good review. But I think it is very hard to see how anyone could rate it less than perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pays d'Ajaccio, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A lovely B&B run by a family eager to please in a really interesting town. The rooms are comfortable and the wecome was good. When we set off for our next days walk, the owner made sure we had his phone number in case of difficulties! Mini bath shower was great and the tea on arrival copius, breakfast served on the terrace and the best I've seen in years! Wonderful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbelbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent two nights at Casa do Adro while on a recent walking trip. The place is a home/b&b on a small street in a fabulous Vila Nova de Milfontes location. The hosts were incredibly accommodating and thoughtful, down to every detail. There were snacks and drinks at our disposal. The staff was there to assist with anything needed. The home was immaculate, with lots of traditional Portuguese decor everywhere. Our room was comfortable, large enough (but we had two twin beds, with separate bedding, which was... interesting.) The breakfast was wonderful. Although everything about the place was great, we had somewhat of a sense of being overwhelmed. It might have been because everywhere else we stayed was so much more simple and quiet, which this was not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlene08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was a positive surprise from the very beginning..
Where to start? it is a very familiar, very clean, small & cozy place. The rooms have quite enough space and a very sweet terrace/balcony.
At arrival, you might be offered freshly pressed Orange juice & cake & tea.. and from then on, there should be no reason to stop smiling :)
The owners and the people working there refer to each other in the first name basis and pay many attentions to all you might need. For example, I was sick with a cold and they prepared lemon tea with honey and so on, making me feel very at home.
Breakfast is just AMAZING! All kind of fruits ready to eat, typical Portuguese meat and the top cheeses from the region..
I wish I could have stayed there forever... We were there just for 1 night, but next time we will plan to sleep there longer and do day trips to other cities in Costa Alentejana, since it is so well located! Otherwise, it is also quite central in Vila Nova de Milfontes and you walk 1.5min to be at the beach..
Well, I hope you have the chance to visit it and enjoy it as me and my boyfriend did!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

You really feel as though you are staying in someone's home (which you are:)) and are being cared for by family (you will feel like they are by the end of your stay). Fresh tea and cake is provided in the spotless and comfortable rooms. Decks provide good light and a comfortable place to take in some sun. Breakfast overflows with eggs, fruit, hot toast, freshly squeezed orange juice and a hot caffeinated beverage. The picturesque beach is just a short walk away. Idalia and Antonio (and staff) are the perfect hosts. If you're headed down the Portuguese coast, don't miss this!

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is unique, but similar in what they provide. We took up 3 of the 6 rooms and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Milfontes
0.1 mi away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duna Parque
Duna Parque
#3 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
196 reviews
6.6 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Porto Covo
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
#3 of 25 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casazul
Casazul
#1 of 25 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Adro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Adro

Property: Casa do Adro
Address: Rua do Diario de Noticias 10, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-257, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Adro 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Casa do Adro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Adro Hotel Vila Nova De Milfontes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing