We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money subject to the room allocated”
Review of Mil Reis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mil Reis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Central location. Difficult to find parking nearby in peak season. Room options range, two groups with us, one in an apartment and one in a 'suit' which is basically a tiny room with a terrace (with funky mondo grass flooring and great views). Because of the location it's noisy at night with the windows open but there is aircon in all the rooms. Kitchen in the apartment is functional with vented cooking facilities but the food nearby is reasonably priced so not much need for it. Breakfast included is the standard European fare. Swimming options nearby are varied and great for families with small children. Staff are all very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J79guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 149 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved our stay here at the end of May/ beginning of June. Convenient position in the centre of the town. Beautifully, spotless and tastefully decorated with friendly owners and staff. Being British and liking our cups of tea, we were swiftly provided with a kettle for our room. Looking forward to returning in September.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is quite easy to find in the centre of the older part of Milfontes, and in an ideal position from which to walk up the beautiful coast north of town.

Our room was very nicely set up and beautifully clean. We paid a bit extra for a 'suite' which, although most attractive, was really only a small bedroom with a very small sitting area attached, and the premium really wasn't worth it. Our room was up two flights of steep, narrow stairs, and we were carrying too much luggage, so I would just carry overnight essentials next time. However the beds and pillows were very comfortable indeed, and the shower was good.

Minor deficiencies were that the hotel's wi-fi did not reach our room, there was no hair-dryer provided and the window blind in our bedroom was translucent, so the morning sun woke me up much too early.

Breakfast kicked off at 9.00, and there was plenty of variety and decent fruit and coffee.

Overall this was a lovely welcoming little place, with a couple of quirks that would not stop us returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great B&B. Stayed here with some friends off the back of the good reviews online. Excellent, friendly service. Recently renovated very clean rooms (albeit a little small - we chose the cheaper rooms though). Central location, (the town is lovely by the way) with wifi and restaurants close by. Good breakfast as well. Would definitely go there again if I was in Portugal again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CRatatatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were visiting this area from New Zealand and would love to have stayed longer than two nights in this lovely guest house and village, but we didn't have the time. We were offered a great low-season rate for either a small or a large double room - we chose the large one (room 17), which cost a tiny bit more, but it was large and had its own patio and good sized bathroom. The breakfast was included and was very good and although the lady who ran the place didn't speak much English, we managed to communicate okay! The location was great, very quiet and close to everything we wanted to see and do. The bed was the most comfortable one we've had on this three week trip so far and we both slept really well. We would definitely stay again. The village is lovely and has some great cafes and restaurants for its size.

Room Tip: Room 17 is one of the larger ones, on the first floor with a good sized shower and a very comfy bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlienKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed two nights in this really beautiful "Pensao". We booked one of the suites, which was very roomy, clean, with an own little balcony, two flatscreens, a fridge and a walk-in closet. The breakfast was good, it included coffee, two sorts of bread, fruits, yogurt, cheese etc.
It`s close to all the little bars and restaurants as well as the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This is a great find in Vila Nova. The location is great - right in a little square - within walking distance of everything in town. The hotel / bed and breakfast is very well designed - everything seems quite new and very clean. Rooms are well appointed - we had a nice balcony that overlooked the street and rooftops. Only negatives were that there was very little hot water (this was January) and not much heat. Probably not an issue in summer when most people are there. Also you can hear everything outside your door. The service is wonderful - the owner and her staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. It's very comfortable and cozy!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viajeraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vila Nova de Milfontes hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duna Parque
Duna Parque
#3 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casazul
Casazul
#3 of 27 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa da Eira
Casa da Eira
#2 of 27 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
66 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tres Marias
Tres Marias
#5 of 27 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mil Reis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mil Reis

Address: Largo do Rossio 2, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-310, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range: $47 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mil Reis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing