We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel with dunes”
Review of Duna Parque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duna Parque
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is located near the ocean. The hotel separates some dunes from the coast. You can pass through them on small beaches. Room is big, with two bedrooms. There is a small kitchen with a plate. Everything is rather clean and comfortable. The hotel is on the city suburb. Noise isn't present. Staff is helpful, but reception open before 6 p.m.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4apa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Duna Parque
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Rented a house for a group of four, spacious, clean, modern and functional.. nicely decorated and lots of light. friendly and helpfull staff,used pool and tennis court, would definitely go back next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vateix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in this hotel, using it as a base to explore the beaches and inland areas of the Alentejo region. We got a good deal, via Booking.com for half-board which was excellent value for money. Despite being half-board, we did try other restaurants in Vila Nova, Beja and Evora.

The hotel is situated at the western side of VNdM at the end of a hard surface road – the road virtually ends at the hotel. It is no more than 10 minutes to walk to the beach.

Reception: Just a small room, nothing fancy, fairly close to the parking area. The greeting was friendly and warm and we were directed to our room – Rosa – in block 3.

The accommodation: All appear to be apartment type rooms. There are some superior apartments and some apartments that would accommodate several people. There are several ‘blocks’, but all low-rise being a ground, first and second floor. Only the top floor rooms have an actual sea view owing to the height of the sand dunes.

We were in block 3 – the furthest away from reception and on the first floor so no sea view, but a view of the tennis court, crazy golf and a partial view of the swimming pool.

Parking - free when we were there. However, due to a couple of functions, the designated parking areas did fill up quickly and had the hotel and adjoining hotels been anything like full, parking might have been a problem, even on the road and nearby sandy area.

WiFi – free whilst we were there. Not sure if this is the case in high season.

Room – much larger than we had expected and it would easily sleep 3 with the third person using the large, comfortable sofa in the sitting area. There was a good sized bedroom and large bathroom. A well equipped kitchen area having microwave, fridge, full size cooker, a breakfast bar sitting area and a small dining table and chairs (for 4 people). Everything was clean, but the décor was a mish-mash of styles and looked dated – light fittings in particular.

As we say the bathroom was large, but the toiletries were of low quality and we had to ask a couple of times for them to be replenished as this didn’t happen automatically. We also had to wait one day (not a Sunday) for the room to be serviced. In the end, we made the beds ourselves – the maids eventually turned up at 4.45pm, and we turned them away having sorted the apartment ourselves.

Swimming Pool – a good size with sun-beds around it. When busy, these fill up very quickly and can probably only accommodate at most 25 people. Indoor pool was small but great for the very young or very old!

Gym – the gym looked pretty good, although we didn’t make use of it. We can’t comment if this is part of the deal or not.

The grounds – even though there were gardeners, the grounds were rather tatty around the edges I’m afraid. There were a number of flower beds, but plenty of weeds and grass spoiling the effect. The crazy golf was on its last legs and is an eyesore. We never saw it used for the whole of our stay, and they would do well to either upgrade it radicaly, or get rid of it and make more sunbathing areas.

Breakfast / Dinner / Restaurant – very pleasant service in the restaurant. The breakfast is very basic – coffee (tea on request), fresh orange juice, cereal, bread, cheese ham, boiled and scrambled eggs and bacon. Nothing cooked to order, but adequate start to the day.

Restaurant – we enjoyed the evening meals that we had even though we were on the half—board restricted menu – a choice of either a meat or a fish dish. Service from Nicol was pleasant and attentive throughout, despite the language barrier. Unfortunately bacalhau was on twice, and although we are pescatarians, we chose something different on one of these nights (and had to pay for the difference). The house wine at €12 per litre is expensive compared to other restaurants in the town (around €7 per litre), and very expensive compared to Faro where a litre of a very drinkable house-red was just €5.50 per litre! However, the Duna Parque is a hotel, so no more than expected.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Duna Parque in the lovely town of Vila Nova de Milfontes. However, we would say that the room décor needs to be modernized and the whole place just tidied up a little bit more. We received pleasant service throughout, except for the lack of toiletries and the room cleaning glitch as described. Other than that, we would recommend it as a beach location.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The apartment we stayed in was beautifully decorated and clean when we entered the room. It was located on ground floor. The staff was pleasant, the restaurant is good. The only minus point was they forgot to clean my lettuce. The outdoor pool was nice and the indoor pool was hot 25°c. Free use of the fitness room! The beach is only 10 minutes walk away. Wifi is free in the restaurant but payable in the hotel/apartment rooms. The negative point was the bad mini-golf. Small and outdated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BE-Pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

This is the best place in the south of Portugal.
Friendly staff, phenominal location, excelent beef (the best in the world), good swimming and cute little town centre within walking distance

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaap v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The apartment we stayed in was beautifully decorated ("Malmequer" apartment).

The staff was pleasant, the restaurant is good (although a bit pricy).

The only con in our stay was that the indoor pool was not functional, but there was no warning in the website when we booked the apartment.

Also, wi-fi is not free (the site makes you think that it is).

Nevertheless, paying 75€ for 2 nights, it's still a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in one of the 'flower' apartments - had one twin bedroom and sofa in the living room converted into a double bed.

It was clean and comfortable, kitchen had most of the essentials (although a dishwasher and washing machine would have been nice!). Nice bathroom and balcony overlooking the dunes. Cleaners come and clean every day.

Great location, is right next to a beautiful beach and a 5 minute walk in to the centre of the village, where there are plenty of great cafes and restaurants.

On the (slight) downside, the apartment was small - only space for a breakfast bar, with no proper dining area, the decor was a little dated and the bedroom smelt slightly damp. Despite this, we still had a very enjoyable stay with no major complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mi_mi_mi186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Milfontes
0.3 mi away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
270 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sinerama Hotel Apartamento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
289 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Porto Covo
2.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
Hotel Rural Moita Mar
#3 of 26 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duna Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duna Parque

Address: Eira da Pedra, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-291, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range: $62 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duna Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Duna Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing