We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 * experience”
Review of The Ivy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ivy House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 * experience”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really impressed with the quality of the whole establishment. Clean and fresh looking, the new management have made every effort to make it more cosy and comfortable and it works. The rooms are clean and tidy, a reasonable size. Was visiting friends locally, so was ideal. The breakfast is scrummy and the location is so convenient to catch a train into London or to get to local destinations like Old Amersham or Great Missenden.
I treated myself to dinner when I stayed too and have never had a better Steak! Wow. And the peppercorn sauce was the perfect compliment to it.
I started off with the bubble and squeak starter with a beautiful fresh hollandaise then couldn't resist the steak. A friend of mine had the duck breast which was cooked to perfection. We shared the Amaretto baba dessert with their homemade bay leaf ice-cream (UN-believeable! sooo good).
Would 100% recommend and will be back most definitely in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    34
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
35
27
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The best of the old staff still there and very cheery new manager. Not a jus or drizzle in sight on the menu - hooray - we only had starters but the food was a serious cut above your normal pub food. Having given up under previous management we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Number3Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a great stay in one of the themed rooms with a brilliant view. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was 5 star. The staff were also very friendly. Would certainly return, especially considering the value for money you receive.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart T, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Matt,

Thank-you very much for your feedback, we take every review into account. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Many Thanks,

Stuart and the team at The Ivy House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks Cross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had my 60th Birthday party here and some of my guests stayed in the ensuite bedrooms. Lizzie (General Manager) and Adam (Executive Chef) were exceptionally friendly and organised, and were very helpful with my requirements. The service was good, all the staff most welcome, food was superbly cooked and presented to the highest level. I could not have asked for anything more, it ran very smoothly and we danced the night away - it all went so quickly. I chose the right place to have my party, they did everything and more to make my evening complete. My guests all commented on the standard of food and the hearty breakfasts.
Enjoyed every aspect of my party held at this lovely welcoming place.

Anne Atkinson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 575AnneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed one night with my husband to attend a family function at the local golf club. Nice pub with excellent breakfast the following morning.

Our room "The Captain" was at the front of the pub. Nice room, clean and cozy, but if you are 6ft 6ins ish I would suggest you look at the other rooms, due to the oak beam running through it and above the loo!

Pleasent stay and we would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First £85 per night is exorbitant ! Plus the add 10% service charge on meals without warning ! On arrival we were greeted and shown towards the "accommodation" - via a staircase with worn stained carpet (with silverfish residents) and a stale smell. The girl had trouble opening the bedroom door (card keys) and we entered a bedroom the size of a postage stamp (no way a double room) - ok for Gnomes, but not humans! The lighting is weird - works of the door card. Our room was the "Captains Room" - 1 = the TV Remote didn't work. 2 = the WC didn't flush. 3 = Light Bulbs not working 4 = Dust in the tea box 5 = stained carpet 6 = Lucky me ! I found £2.20 under the dressing table plus used tea bags, loads of dust, dirty skirting boards, empty shower satches 7. Insufficient power points (extension lead supplied) -- 8 Shower cubicle so small difficulty in getting in. HOWEVER, we were shown to a larger room - Fairways. Again classed as a double, but really a big single. 1= Badly stained carpet, 2 = Wall light hanging dangerously off the wall 3 = dirty seals round the shower tray. In all, a dreadful experience. Plus points ? The girls there are friendly and the food in the Restraunt is good (apart from the surprise 10% service charge added without informing guests). The Ivy House really needs to make it's mind up what it wants to be. My advice ? Close the B and B side of the business and concentrate on gastro food !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalfont St. Giles
2.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
765 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
492 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Beaconsfield Central
1.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
756 reviews
1.7 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#2 of 3 in Chalfont St. Giles
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy House

Property: The Ivy House
Address: London Rd, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chalfont St. Giles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chalfont St. Giles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ivy House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ivy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy House Hotel Chalfont St. Giles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing