We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and a waste of money”

The White Hart Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bucks
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing and a waste of money”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This pub should be my local but every time I 'give it a go' it is disappointing. We decided to have an impromptu meal there because the weather was good and we could sit in the garden with the dog. I ordered Beef Lasagne and when it came you could tell by the bubbles in the cheese it had been heated in the microwave, especially since the edges of the dish (which was rather small) was so burnt it was solid and inedible. The dressed 'salad garnish' was not dressed and was so limp it almost stuck to the plate and consisted of a very few tiny leaves and soft peppers which were clearly past there best by date. My husband had gammon with 2 over cooked eggs on the top and my son had a pulled pork burger which had about a dessert spoon of pork on top. With meals averaging £9 I think the food is overpriced for the portion size and badly cooked and presented. It's not even as if the place was particularly busy. My previous visit was for a cooked breakfast with a friend. When we entered the waitress asked us to sit on stools in the bar and when I asked if we could sit in the conservatory, her response was 'if you must'! We have lived in the village for almost 30 years now and when we moved here, The White Hart was a thriving village pub with regular locals and packed summer weekends with boules in the garden. As new managers have taken over, the place has slowly deteriorated and their main profit is probably from the accommodation offered. The garden could do with levelling as there are so many pits and troughs, it is difficult to walk balancing a tray of drinks. Very disappointing experience and we were never once asked if everything was ok, clearly no-one cares. It's a shame because this Summer we are having a special birthday celebration for 40 guests and we were considering booking the White Hart to cater for our guests as we are within walking distance, but last nights experience has convinced us to cater at home. Uncaring staff should consider the possible future business of 1 or 40 guests when making sure that every customer is happy with their experience. Whatever happened to customer service?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueflinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at The White Hart Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Stuart is extremley dissapointed that you did not enjoy your visit to the White Hart. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and atmosphere and he will be investigating as to who was on shift during your last visit.

I would emplor you to please try us again soon and make yourself known to either Stuart or Jack for a personal apology.

Once again we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    15
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Slightly odd place. Looks very nice from the outside, pleasant garden. Small front bar looks ok, but the 2 restaurant rooms are somewhat dispiriting. They are almost bare, other than what looks like some left over fairy lights. It makes a change from the all too common pubs cluttered with faux antiques, but not necessarily in a good way.
Service was cheerful, a bit unprofessional but acceptable. The food was standard pub fare, slightly overprocessed burger (although with reasonable bun and toppings). My wife's fish was a reasonable size (far from the large it was described as but adequate). Maybe we should have chosen something more exciting from the menu. Overall acceptable but not exciting or particularly well presented. Prices not unreasonable (although the beer was overpriced for a pub). Perhaps it was just being a wet bank holiday that made it a little depressing. don't go with high expectations and you will be ok.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at The White Hart Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Stuart and the team thank you for your constructive comments. We are looking at art work for the back room and also looking into the lighting issue.

We hope that you give us a second chance and I will ensure that all comments are passed onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Pub food . Night much more can be said than that. However the crockery could do with some proper cleaning . Sauces should be served with a small spoon with which to use them . Chipped crockery binned And replaced. Don't expect too much and you should ok.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at The White Hart Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Stuart and the team at the White Hart thank you for your comments. I have looked into the crockery and all chipped has been binned and spoons are now served with all sauces.

Thank you again for taking your time to raise these comments. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lunch at the white hart”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lunches are very good value for money; portion sizes are generous and food is well prepared and tasty

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at The White Hart Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Stuart and the team thank you for your kind comments regarding your experience with us and the food. The comments have been passed onto the chef. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for Pub Food well within reach of Gerrards Cross”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a family meal at the hotel/Restaurant one quiet Monday in cold January

Food is all freshly cooked and kids menu catered brilliantly for.

The young manager and were very friendly and attentive in between serving drinks at the bar, being on the phone to the boss (regional manager!) and booking guests into the hotel.

Simple burgers, nuggets and fish were served perfectly. Was a deal on two main course for £10, so great value with drinks, the bill coming in to around £30.

We also noticed locals ordering takeaways like fish and chips - a very good sign and smart thinking to drive up business in the dead month of January.

If you want simple food done well in good surroundings and live in Amersham or Gerrards Cross - this is an option worth thinking about.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adrianm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at The White Hart Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is great to see that you recognised the effort of the young gent and that is appreciated by himself.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart Inn Restaurant also viewed

Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
 
Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
 
Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
Seer Green, Beaconsfield
 

Been to The White Hart Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing