We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed folllowing a Funeral Service at Amersham Crematorium”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Hart Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stayed folllowing a Funeral Service at Amersham Crematorium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is easy to forget to say thank you for an excellent stay. On Saturday February 15th following a Funeral Service for a cousin at Amersham Crematorium, we wanted a quiet comfortable night to collect our thoughts. Despite a Valentines night celebration, the B&B block is 50x from the delightful pub. So a quiet comfortable night we had. What more can you ask for? We skipped the full breakfast as we knew we had eaten well the previous day. Altogether a very pleasant, refreshing stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogleddcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We at the White Hart are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for your lovely comments. We are also glad we could make you feel comfortable on this day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    68
    36
    13
    17
See reviews for
45
81
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The White Hart looked clean and smart from the outside. Our room was pleasant and reasonably comfortable, if a little tired. There were only two pillows, and on requesting two more, no-one on the staff seemed to know where to find any. After several reminders, two pillows were brought to the room mid-evening.

The restaurant was, in our opinion, very gloomy and dark, and it was quite difficult to read the menus. The food was good - my duck spring rolls were about the best I have had anywhere. Unfortunately, breakfast was not so good. My husband ordered scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, which was fine, but he asked for toast, which never came, and the coffee was cold.

The real problem was that there were not enough staff. The staff on duty were pleasant and helpful, but had far too much to do, and just couldn't keep up.

A proper path across to the annexe would be a good idea, rather than a few small, slippery stepping stones across a slimy lawn.

We would visit again, but hopefully by then the staff situation will have improved.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Stuart and the team are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed, and I am sure if you came again this would not be the case. Thank you for letting us know and we are deeply sorry, we will do our best to fix/change it for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northolt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

stayed a sunday and Monday night at the white hart my husband and myself really enjoyed our stay. we ate in the restaurant both nights good food and breakfasts also very good. Jack who was a very busy young man he did reception,bar,and was the waiter nothing to much trouble looked after us very well will definitely go back.

Room Tip: stayed in the cottage accommodation nice and comfortable. would probably pay the little bit extra ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Stuart and the team thank you for your lovely comments and are happy that you had a good time with us. We do try to give the same amount of time for every guest/customer regardless of how busy we are, and I am sure Jack will appreciate these kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I was visiting Chalfont St Giles lunch time 10th December 2013 with my mum as we had an appointment at the epilepsy centre and came across the pub even though we have been going up there for years and only just found it.
Stuart greeted us and even though they had a big Xmas party going on they still accommodated us, Daniel too was very helpful, we are already looking forward to our next visit, didn't know there was talent outside of London

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Stuart and the team are very grateful for your kind comments. We look to give the same level of service to every guest who visits us non-dependant of how busy we are. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a friend was having a party in the pub. After reading the reviews we weren't expecting much but the rooms were clean and beds were comfy. The staff were great and the service so friendly. We had dinner in the pub before the party, which was great and we all met for breakfast in the morning which we all agreed was a great way to start the day. Will definitely stay over again when visiting friends.

Room Tip: The superior doubles have more room and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Stuart and the team are very grateful for your nice comments, I am glad your stay was enjoyable and you had a great time at Sue’s party. I am also glad to hear you will be returning to us in the future. It was a pleasure to have you with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saundersfoot
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights ended up staying 6 ! We stayed in room 5 which was very big and clean small issue with bathroom , which was rectified after telling Stuart ! All the staff at The White Hart Inn were excellent and Stuart was very informative with places to visit and routes to take ! We travelled in to London on 3 occasion,s by using the tube at little chalfont parked the car there at a reasonable rate ! Then straight in to Baker St ! We ate in the white hart on several occasion,s Jack recommend the belly pork which was very nice ,curry was good also the create your own burger was nice !
We have stayed in Old English Inns on several occasion,s and if there was some money spent on updating the rooms i would be rating it at the TOP ! Because all the STAFF are EXCELLENT

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cawlchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Stuart and the team thank you for such kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and thank you as well for extending your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon and hope the cupcake shop starts thriving in the summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Heyford
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife's family live in the village, but this is the first time we have use the White Hart. Following a family function within the White Hart itself we stayed overnight in the annex building with a double room on the first floor within the eaves of the building. It was fantastic, bed extremely comfortable, ensuite bathroom clean and with all facilities. Then the morning breakfast lovely lovely.

A great hotel that we will use again.

We also use the restaurant for an evening meal, very good and very competitively priced, starter and main £7.95.

Room Tip: Their rooms go quickly so don't delay in booking. Also the village of Chalfont St Giles is a bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Stuart and the team are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with them at the White Hart. Every member of the team works hard to ensure that all needs are met and that everybody enjoys their stay. Thank you again for you kind comments and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalfont St. Giles
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
3.9 mi away
Denham Grove
Denham Grove
#1 of 1 in Denham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn

Property: The White Hart Inn
Address: Three Households, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chalfont St. Giles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chalfont St. Giles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Chalfont St. Giles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing