We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed this time.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
Schofield, Wisconsin
1 review
“Not impressed this time.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Got a suite for the weekend, usually the staff is very pleasant and helpful. Not this go round. The room above us was overly noisy well past 3:30am,sounded like the ceiling was caving in. Talking to the front desk was like talking to myself. Usually it's very a pleasant trip, this is why we choice this hotel over going across the street. Not this time....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieLee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with my staff and I. We try very hard to impress the guests and in your case we failed to do so. I want to assure you I personally will address thse issues with all the staff. We will work harder to deserve your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    36
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
54
22
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Thought I should start with the Positives: Food. The breakfast spread(quality and selection) was above average and the staff worked hard to keep up with the demand which at times was relentless. Staff. They did try hard to fix our group's reservations [BTW, if you go through some site like Hotels dot com then make sure your reservation is transferred to HIE as your EXACT requirements for bed configuration (King vs 2 Queens) instead of 'Best available room', just sayin]
Negatives: Capacity. When the hotel is full, expect to have no hot water in the morning. And get down early for breakfast. Noise. The doors slam like you won't believe and when there are a lot of kids, well, you get the idea.
As adults, we'd look for a different place next time, however for families, especially if you're skiing, etc, it's probably fine.
Suggestion to HIE - take out the TVs in the bathroom(useless) and install soft closers for the doors.

Room Tip: We were on a second floor end room and I'd say anywhere where you could limit the number of door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustOverPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your stay with us. My staff and I work very hard to make it enjoyable for you. With all the families on the weekends we realize it can become quite noisy. I fI can make a suggestion the next time you stay with us request upper floor to get away from the noise. We certainly will take your concerns into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and found it excellent each time. This time, however, I was put in room 206, which is above the furnace/mechanical room. Every 20 minutes or so a loud noise came on that sounded like a shopvac. This went on all night. I will definitely be back, as the staff, rooms, breakfasts and amenities are terrific, but I will know which room not to stay in.

Room Tip: Dont stay in 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jd318us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
My staff and I want to thank you for your kind words. We will definetly check that room to see what is going on. We want to invite you back during your next stay in Wausau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This property delivers typical HI fare when it comes to amenities, but excels when it comes to guest service. This review is not about the property, its about the people. I have been a guest numerous times across the years, and the one thing that always stands out for me is the people. From check-in through check-out, every employee I've ever encountered has been genuinely friendly and accommodating. I choose HI for consistency from property to property, but can definitely say that the staff here excel in their attitude of service to their guests. Location is convenient. Breakfast is above average. Employees are the #1 reason I keep coming back to this property!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanceWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
My staff and I want to thank you for taking the time to let the hotel hear our responses. We work hard to make sure your stay is a enjoyable as possible. Please continue to visit when you are in the Wausau area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at many HI's before and this one had the typical HI amenities. I liked the workout room and the beds were comfortable. I was a little disappointed that they didn't have individual creamers for coffee but that is something small. They did have a TV in the bathroom though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
My staff and I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We always supply indivual creamers in our coffee area. I will definetly check into the reason they were not there. Our pool was not closed down entirely for repair, We block it off when we are adding chemicals and doing readings. This is for the safety of our guests.
With your feedback we can stive harder to let the guests be more informed . We would like to invite you back during your next visit to the Wausau area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express facilities. This facility fit the general pattern. There were also some things that were unique of worth mentioning. We were surprised to find two TVs, off course there was one viewable from the bed, but the was also a TV in the bathroom. All of the staff that we encountered greeted us and were friendly. Unfortunately the breakfast area has a pinball and game room next to were the food is, and a jaw breaker machine in the eating area. These will certainly cause problems for some families. We used the fitness facility, but the elliptical machine did not seem to work smoothly. There was an interesting pool for tots in the swimming pool area, but it was roped off for repairs. That would be a disappointment for some families with children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svenskjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear svenskjim,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I booked this hotel over the internet. My wife and I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels, but never at this one. The staff was very knowledgeable and made check-in fast and fun. Our room was large and very comfortable. It had all the amenities including coffee maker, mini-fridge and microwave. Our only complaint was that the bed was a little softer than we like, but that's a personal preference. Breakfast was very good and included their famous cinnamon rolls. Check-out was as pleasant as check-in. We will definitely stay here again if we're in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
My staff and I want to Thank you for your positive feedback. We try to make every guests stay a pleasant one. Please visit us again when you are in the Wausau area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wausau
4.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
Address: 4210 Barbican Ave, Weston, WI 54476-4187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Wausau, WI near Central Wisconsin Airport. Our Wausau hotel offers you ideal amenities and a convenient location off W-29, just a few miles from St Clare's Hospital, 9-Mile Recreation Park and the scenic Granite Peak Ski Area. Your family will enjoy staying at our pet-friendly hotel in Weston due to its close proximity to area attractions like the Grande Theater, Leigh Yawkey Art Museum and many choice skiing and snowmobiling areas, including Rib Mountain State Park. There are also plenty of shopping spots within four miles of our Weston hotel, including the Wausau Mall and the Cedar Creek Outlet Mall, where you can find great bargains. Business travelers looking for lodging in Wausau, WI will be pleased by our accommodations in Weston, which offer an ideal location near area businesses including Greenheck, Weyerhaeuser, Siemens, WPS, Kruegers and Lignotech. Our Wausau hotel near the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) offers premium services, such as a 24-hour business center, free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a meeting room with seating for 80. During your stay at our hotel in Wausau, WI, you can enjoy the heated, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and a separate kid's pool with a small water slide. Hotel facilities also include a 24-hour fitness center, a gift shop and a game room. Check out our great Wausau, Wisconsin hotel room deals and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wausau
Holiday Inn Weston
Weston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing