We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice. Restaurants are a little drive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very nice. Restaurants are a little drive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Loved my room & experience here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Wausau WI (Weston).
Very clean, and kept up. Comfortable and friendly staff.
I was a bit surprised when I first arrived to see that there were no restaurants in the immediate area.
But if that's the worst, at least you know you'll get a good quiet nights rest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_TravelerMidwestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hoping to get restaurants out in our area soon. We do have frozen pizzas at the hotel. They are homemade and the taste is wonderful. Please be sure to visit us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    36
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
54
23
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
134 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a very nice HIE. Rooms are clean, updated, and everything works. Beds are comfortable. Very large breakfast area so no over crowding when busy in the morning. I stay here several times a year when in the Wausau area on business. I've tried lots of the other hotels in Wausau - this is the best value - very nice, but reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to make your stay comfortable and welcoming. Please visit us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had my first stay at Holiday Inn Express Weston last weekend. It is a newer hotel (2007) with a very nice lobby and friendly staff. The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable. There were a lot of teen and pre-teen kids the 1st night and I heard no noise even though I was near the elevator. I get to Wausau a couple times a year and have always stayed at the nearby Holiday Inn Rothschild but tried the Express this time. The kiddie pool at the Express is nicer, having 2 slides instead of 1. It offers a hot breakfast whereas the Holiday Inn has a Green Mill attached so they only offer a cold carb breakfast. The 1st morning they had hot sausage and scrambled eggs and very good hot cinnamon rolls. The 2nd morning they had a little poorer offering of very thin and burned bacon that broke into tiny pieces when you bit it and some pre-made omelets that were kind of bland, but I offer that only as a comment. Overall, I was very happy there and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jd318us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We appreciate your feed back. The breakfast is our brand standard, but as we receive comments about it we can pass this along to our corporate offices. We want to make sure you enjoy all asoects of your stay. Please be assured any comment will be addressed. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

this is a very clean and a nice hotel, its location is very close to the main highway. the very breakfast is sufficient and the staff is helpful and it is also nice to have a choice of firmness on several pillows provided in the room. great job hei.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityboyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a nice clean and quiet hotel. Its a good stay for the price and in a nice safe area. The bed was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here again and plan to when I am in the area.

Room Tip: This was my 3rd stay and all rooms have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is actually the first time I have stayed in a HIE. I was quite surprised on the quality of the room. Very clean, up to date and the beds were very comfortable. I will try the HIE again, with hopes that the quality is as nice as this one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, MN
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the 2nd time in a year that we've stayed here. The kids like the pool area and we like the lounge area in the lobby. It's nice to come back there and visit with our friends and family by the fireplace and watching the game on the tv. The rooms are very average, but comfortable. The free breakfast in the morning isn't great, but very adequate. Must be good enough because we are all full when we're done. This is the place that we will be staying when we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyOwatonna_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wausau
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
4.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Weston
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
Address: 4210 Barbican Ave, Weston, WI 54476-4187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Wausau, WI near Central Wisconsin Airport. Our Wausau hotel offers you ideal amenities and a convenient location off W-29, just a few miles from St Clare's Hospital, 9-Mile Recreation Park and the scenic Granite Peak Ski Area. Your family will enjoy staying at our pet-friendly hotel in Weston due to its close proximity to area attractions like the Grande Theater, Leigh Yawkey Art Museum and many choice skiing and snowmobiling areas, including Rib Mountain State Park. There are also plenty of shopping spots within four miles of our Weston hotel, including the Wausau Mall and the Cedar Creek Outlet Mall, where you can find great bargains. Business travelers looking for lodging in Wausau, WI will be pleased by our accommodations in Weston, which offer an ideal location near area businesses including Greenheck, Weyerhaeuser, Siemens, WPS, Kruegers and Lignotech. Our Wausau hotel near the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) offers premium services, such as a 24-hour business center, free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a meeting room with seating for 80. During your stay at our hotel in Wausau, WI, you can enjoy the heated, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and a separate kid's pool with a small water slide. Hotel facilities also include a 24-hour fitness center, a gift shop and a game room. Check out our great Wausau, Wisconsin hotel room deals and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wausau
Holiday Inn Weston
Weston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Wausau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing