We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT - AWAY FROM THE MADDING CROWD”
Review of Hotel del Teatre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Teatre
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Regencos
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the Senior Suite with our two teenaged children and had a wonderful experience. The hotel makes up this small village just a few minutes' drive from Begur and some of the most beautiful coastline on the Costa Brava. Our room was very big with two spaces, one for sleeping, the other with a fabulous view over the hills. Our children used the foldout couch and were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge. The restaurant is beautiful and we ate there two nights - delicious food and wine - out on the terrace. You feel as if you are the only people in the village, and in a sense you are. There are only seven rooms in the hotel. When we went to Begur, we were astonished at how overrun that town was and were grateful for our little oasis. There is a relaxing garden and small wading pool to cool off in. Towels are provided by the hotel. Breakfast is included in the cost and is simple, delicious food: orange juice, yoghurt, toast, pastries, cereal and coffee all enjoyed outside on the covered terrace. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Our Senior Suite was very spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonGirl9311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Teatre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 111 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed one night and ate in the restaurant. We booked a suite which was very large, with a spacious and well equipped bathroom. The bed was not the most comfortable, but the welcome was warm. Our dinner in the restaurant over the road was first rate and the hotel is in a good position to visit the beautiful local beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had dinner at the restaurant, which is located in this hotel. They did a very nice job with the decor, blending the old with the modern, giving the place a warm and homey atmosphere. The food and service were very good. Prices were very reasonable. If you're staying nearby at one of the coastal towns or visiting the Dali museum in Figueres, its worth the detour to have dinner there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCL077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The junior suite was very ample and charming. Having booked through I-escape, we received some chilled champagne and watermelon on arrival - what a treat!
Both Mercedes and Alicia are incredibly helpful hosts, with endless customised tips to make our holiday one to remember. We spent most of our time exploring the beaches nearby, long walks, and the occasional bike ride.
One thing to mention is that despite being a remote part of spain, this region is renowned for top notch food, and with it comes the prices. We ate at some great restaurants in begur and beyond, but not without a hefty price tag (at least €100 for 2 people with wine). The food is a mix of Spanish and French, so a little on the rich side (foi gras and pâté a plenty). The hotel restaurant was nice, but a little pricey for the meal we had - we would recommend finding others in town. Also be warned - this is a popular destination for the high class in Spain - people are very dressed up, even heels for breakfast!
All in all, an amazing stay - would definitely return. Pool side was incredibly peaceful to lounge and relax amongst the countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a long drive from La Rioja. The building is lovely. Small village but quite close to other towns. Out of season so restaurant closed but we were given lots of information of local restaurants that might be open, we'd recommend Los Platillos in Begur-excellent! Booked with Mr & MES Smith so had some fizz waiting for us. Also had tour of medieval town Peratallada included too. Wasn't looking forward to it really but loved it, Nik was very informative. Had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ccdusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel del Teatro. The hamlet of Regencos was small and basic (as expected) and not as picturesque as some Spanish villages, but the hotel made up for it. We booked a junior suite, which was excellent. It was spacious, stylish, with laptop and a great bed. The communal areas were similarly charming. My only frustration was that the table tops were not sealed, so (our) ring marks were all too easy make! Also a couple of beers in the mini-bar would have been appreciated.

Unfortunately we went out of season so we had to get taxis to local restaurants in the evenings, as the hotel restaurant was shut. But this was no problem and the local coastline was a highlight. The staff were very friendly and were extremely flexible with our breakfast and check-out time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68,394,944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay.Our first impression wasn't great because it was so quiet and in the evening we wondered if it was really a nice place.As soon as we were shown to our beautiful suite we were more then satisfied.
The rooms are more danish looking then spanish, very comfortable,modern and stylish.The large bathroom with big tub just great.There were lots of nice amenities and products, lacked a bathrobe. The restaurant was also really excellent and a good value and so was breakfast. During the day we thought the hotel was truly charming and the village beautiful. We went horseriding just 2km away and it was magical.I highly recommand this place if u don't mind a small hotel charm luxurious but with little staff (to b expected in small places)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Regencos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Can Casi
Hotel Can Casi
#1 of 2 in Regencos
197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
453 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Teatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Teatre

Address: Placa Major s/n, 17214 Regencos, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Regencos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Regencos
Price Range: $144 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Teatre 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel del Teatre, is a charismatic hotel located in an XVIII century building in the medieval village of Regencos in the heart of the Costa Brava. This four star hotel has 7 exclusive cozy rooms and it's located 5 minuts from the best beaches, golf courts, medieval towns and sports clubs.The restaurant "La Cuina del Teatre", is located in the town's old theatre, in a hundred-year-old building dating back to 1800. Our restaurant has not lose any of his initial essence, evidence of this is the conservation of the actual stage where images are now projected, while soft music is played creating a special atmosphere for our guests.Our hotel is located in one of the most beautiful regions of Catalonia known as the "Golden Triangle." This area offers the visitor a wide variety of typical Mediterranean landscapes and scenery: pine trees, cultivated farmland, hidden coves and beautiful sandy beaches typical to the Costa Brava. Making the Ampurdan region even more unique is the numerous inland medieval villages waiting to be visited.EL TEATRE HOTEL OFFERS:- Outdoor pool with porch and shaded areas.- Cozy garden for our guests' exclusive use.- Reading room.- Restaurant "La Cuina del Teatre."- Large terrace for relaxing- Conference room- Private parkingENVIROMENT:The hotel is located in the heart of the Ampurdan region of the Costa Brava, one of the most prestigious and renowned destinations in Spain.The area offers an extensive range of diverse natural beauty to its visitor. Medieval villages such as Peratallada, Palau Sator, Ullastret, Monells or Pals are recommended visits as are the pretty coastal villages with their beautiful coves or beaches. We suggest: Begur (Aiguablava, Aigufreda, Sa Tuna, Sa Riera), Palafrugell (Calella, Llafranc, Tamariu), Palamos (Cala Estreta, Platja del Castell, La Fosca) or Cadaques (Cap de Creus). Other towns of interest are La Bisbal (ceramics and antiques), Figueres (Dali museum) and Girona (capital of the province and site of one of the most famous Jewish Quarters visited in Europe). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel del Teatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Teatre Spain/Regencos, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing