We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,068)
Filter reviews
7,068 results
Traveler rating
2,346
2,690
1,255
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,346
2,690
1,255
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 7,068 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

reception staff very rude.bar staff rude. Food was ok, entertainment crew amazing, rooms, ensuites and balcony huge but in need of an update, hotel is at the top of a rather steep hill to get to the beach and shops, but there is a bus available if you can get on it. an hour and a half transfer from airport so perhaps not the best choice for such a short trip. Be careful to look at what is included in your all inclusive!!!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs Susan,

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success

We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision.

It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.

We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

The hotel was as expected, having been there before. Only went back because the all inclusive package was a real bargain.
We were there from 06/04/2019 to 17/04/2019.
It's a big hotel, so it wasn't really possible to get to know the staff, but all were friendly and polite.
The dining room can be a bit of a chore sometimes as it was always busy. If there's more than 2 of you, you may to hunt around a bit and wait for a table.
The staff in the dining room work hard, but there's just not enough of them, so as soon as they clear a table, it's back in use by the next group of people.
Food was OK and was hot when you put it on your plate, but by the time we'd queued round the various food stations and got back to our table, it wasn't always as hot as it was when we started.
They had a theme each night (Mexican, local, american, Italian etc.) which gave some variety, but you couldn't always tell as pizzas and pasta (for example) were available every night.
We always found something we wanted to eat but by the end of the 11 days it was getting harder.
You CAN have spirits on the all inclusive package, but not the premium brands unless you pay 2 or 3 Euros. To be honest, with the exception of their "Bailey's Irish Cream" the rest if them (vodka, rum etc.) were OK and not watered down. Being able to help yourself to beer, wine, sangria, prosecco was a bonus!
Probably wouldn't go back again unless it was a REALLY good deal, but that's mainly because we like to try different places.

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank geoffw163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Booked sea view and that’s what we got . Room bright airy and plenty of storage - water and fridge great asset .
TV limited only BbC2 (says bbc1) but we really got into the snooker.
Food was fine but you have to be adventurous to really enjoy - fab to have honey from a honey comb at breakfast/ variety of bread u believable
Plenty of variety in lunch / dinner but fish was unpalatable - salmon and other fish was tasteless but plenty of theme nights so great fun
Loads of fresh fruit and salads -catering definitely towards Franco- German market which was reflected in menu
Crazy golf great fun - pools good fun
Variety of events during the week from circus to Hawaii - join in or not all very relaxed

Bus to beach great asset pity tour operator didnt advise - found out from chatting to other guests

Staff very friendly and reception very accommodating
Recommend if you have a late pick up to avail of late booking out either at 2pm or 6pm makes that wait to go home more relaxing but let them know early on as sometimes can’t do it .

Great place to stay

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank madraduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

Just back after a 7 night holiday all inclusive at Occidental Jandia Mar. Coach transfer took almost 2 hours to get there but we know it was a fair bit from hotel. The hotel itself was lovely, but to get to our room was a struggle as there were steps and lifts that would only go so far so maybe not so great for families with prams and older people.

We booked a standard room but when we eventually got there the room looked onto another part of the hotel rooms making the room very dark and dingy. Spoke to receptionist who told us this was a standard room we had booked so i asked if it was possible to change. She told us it would be 3 days before they could find us another room as the hotel was full. She then spoke to another member of staff who told us if we were interested in an upgrade but would cost an extra 16 euros per night. We reluctantly agreed and fortunately the room we were offered was better
the only difference from the standard room was coffee and tea facilities and a 'nice' view. The room was spacious, bathroom/shower cleaned every day with fresh bedding and towels. Bed was comfortable enough for us.

The location of this hotel is up a steep hill, there is a free bus to the beach or a taxi for around 2 to 3 euros. The beach is amazing, gorgeous turquoise sea. There were a few nudists so if you're into that kind of thing great. Plenty shops and cafe restaurants along the beach.

We tended to eat out a lot as the hotel food, for us, was not the best. Not much choice. Some of the meats were tough and fatty....and the choice was repetitive. Great if you like chips for breakfast, cold eggs, sausage, bacon, beans etc etc. Lunch and dinner - great if you like salads....hot food well it's not. Paying all inclusive for a breakfast of coffee, orange juice and croissant, lunch typical salad and dinner we tried a couple of times just to give it the benefit of the doubt....not the best. There is a microwave....just sayin. Once you were finished eating what you could the staff took a while to remove the plates and cutlery so when you came back to your table with your sweet, you main dish plate would be still there.

Day time entertainment was poor. There was a programme of activities but we didn't see anything apart from dance exercise in the pool. (thought there may have been competitive activities...table tennis, basket ball, archer the usual stuff but there wasn't. There was a warm pool and a cooler pool so whatever your preference. Plenty of sun loungers and seating area but at this time of year that is expected. Mini golf on site which was great. One or two cats wandering about....

All in all the Occidental Jandia Mar was okay if you want to rest your head, but if we knew now what we knew then we would not have booked this hotel and definitely not all inclusive.

Occidental Jandia Mar will suit some but definitely not for us and has actually put us off going all inclusive. Definitely spent a lot more than what we should have as the option for eating out was fine for us.

Room tip: Accessibility to rooms so if you have small children with prams or elderly it can be difficult to access the room.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chelseadrysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear Chelseadrysdale,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Jandia Mar. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.
We are glad to read that you really enjoyed the location of the hotel and its proximity to the beach. Truly, our hotel is located in an unbeatable area near Morro Jable and allows guests to enjoy the coast of Jandía.

We have also taken good note of your remarks on the dining expériences and sincerely lament reading that we fell short of your culinary expectations on this occasion, although I would like to take the opportunity to point out that our Executive Chefs follow a weeks menu rotation including a wide array of both local and international delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, this is why we are sorry to read that we were not able to conquer yours and will make sure to discuss your critics with our team.
Please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening.

Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds.
Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
Your Guest Experience Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Staying here at the minute the hotel is fine. Pool area is lovely plenty of sunbeds no mad dash to get one. You will always manage to find something to eat, although the temperature of the food is cool. With so many comments about the temperature of the food surely the management would review this and sort it out

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MPD208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MPD208,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel for your holidays in Jandía, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us.

All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews