We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,059)
Filter reviews
7,059 results
Traveler rating
2,343
2,687
1,253
463
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,343
2,687
1,253
463
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 7,059 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2019

This review is based on an all inclusive package.

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Occidental Jandia Mar very much, we found the hotel to be clean and well maintained. Our room was spacious, clean with a good size bathroom, we were at the very top of the hotel but we had no problems getting there by using the lift and stairs, we could also see the sea from our balcony which was a nice touch. The room was cleaned and tidied every day.

The Hotel was nicely laid out with 2 decent sized pools, plenty of sunbeds and never a problem getting a place and not getting crowded in. The Hotel is situated at the top of a steep hill which is fairly easy as long as you do not have mobility problems, the road leads to the main beach which is absolutely beautiful.

We found the staff to be attentive and polite, we never had a problem at all in this regard.

The Gym is excellent, good equipment and plenty of space, probably one of the best we have seen in our travels at an all inclusive hotel.

We found the food to be excellent and very varied, if you want pizza every night you’ll be disappointed but if you enjoy seafood and local fare then you’ll find much to satisfy you. The coffee was very good, the machines are plentiful but they do tend not to be all working all the time, this is quickly fixed but can lead to queues. The bars are good with self service drinks, we found the cocktail menu fairly limited though and the beer was not to my taste, we bought some vodka and ingredients for bloody marys….these were very much to our taste.

We saw nor experienced any kind of sickness bug whilst there, we did feel that the food did improve as the holiday went on, soup was returned to the kitchen for example for not being hot enough and the bacon on the last morning not swimming in grease but nicely cooked and smelling wonderful. We did see many people entering the restaurants and not using the sanitising hand gel, you’ll see people picking food up with their fingers and often eating as they walk around, couple this with that I also saw people not washing their hands after using the toilet, or going to the toilet mid dinner and then not sanitising their hands after leaving the toilets and it gives you “food” for thought.

We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gregg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

This is my personal opinion only and I have to say I had a great time there. All inclusive food with its ups and downs, but mostly positive about it, great pools to dive and cool down when it gets to hot, nice friendly staff and lovely evening and day time entertainment. Small gym to use but more than sufficient to have a little workout and good local alcohol served during the day & evenings to enjoy, with hotel cocktails every evening. Didn’t have a sea view room but not fused as who spends time in the room apart from when u sleep. Room was huge and the same for the bathroom. Hotel 10 minutes walk to the beach and about 15-20 to the small town & shops.
All in all it was a great 1 week spent there and believe me it was hard to leave the sun and this place to return to UK. I would definitely go back again!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Utzu1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

I have NEVER laughed as hard as i have on this holiday #day3. The craic is 90! Guys This place is STUNNING! All these bad reviews on here are how you say ........, pure #nutjobs. From the house keeping to the ground staff... so friendly. If your looking an all inclusive holiday thats budget friendly this is your gaff! Just been for dinner... the grub is HOT and plentyful... again... reviews on here are stupid!! Elvis tribute was on last night, roared with the bants! Now on with our holipops!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2019

Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for sharing these great reviews of your stay so far at our hotel, Occidental Jandía Mar. We are thrilled that you are enjoying your stay and we will do our best to deliver a high standard of service so that you enjoy a warm, memorable experience. 

We appreciate so much your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

It is also good to know that you are enjoyeing the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.

We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team.

On behalf of our entire team, we greatly look forward to your return. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if we can assist in making your return even more memorable.

Our best regards and hope you have a lovely stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

Day 2 and three meals in no sight or sound of any illness, the First Choice Rep Adam said they had not had any new cases of gastro for 5 days. The hotel is spotless and the food we have consumed was hot and we have enjoyed the variety so far. So please don’t be put off by previous reviews.
Will keep you posted

Room tip: Room 428 has a sea view to the side of our balcony
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Clarkey1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Spent a week at this hotel from 10th March. The hotel was great the only negative comment would be amount of steps to our accommodation. If I stayed at this hotel again I would request a ground floor room.
Although we read some negative reviews about illness within the hotel and on day 2 of the holiday we received a letter from our Jet2 rep letting us now about unexplained sickness. To be honest we had no issue as hotel was spotless and so was the restaurant. The restaurant had hand stanisers at the entrance but it was surprising to see the amount of people who didn't use it before entering the restaurant.
The entertainment staff were excellent with the children and there was something for everyone.
The reasons for the 4 stars was due to the location of our room. I'm sure if you needed a ground floor room it wouldn't be hard to request.
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews