We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,074)
Filter reviews
7,074 results
Traveler rating
2,351
2,691
1,255
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,351
2,691
1,255
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 7,074 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019

The views from the hotel of the beach were amazing. The beach itself was amazing. The walk on the beach is highly recommended. However, the food was a total let down. I am a vegetarian and nothing was labelled in the buffet. The spoons were being mixed with non-veg food items. After pointing this out the staff did try and accommodate my needs but it was just not up to the mark. The food was cold and we were very lucky not to have caught a sickness bug. We were aware that some guests had been very ill in this hotel and could hear people vomiting through the thin walls. The pool area is nice and some staff were lovely. The other facilities such as the indoor pool and sauna came with additional charges which we were not aware as it is not clearly indicated on the website. The change of pool towels was also at additional charge of 2 euros after paying a deposit of 10 euros. The entertainment at night was a hit or a miss so we would recommend to take your card games :D

Room tip: People with mobility issues request rooms in blocks with a lift
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

We visited this hotel for 10 days from the 06/03-16/10 and booked through Jet2 holidays. We flew from Stansted airport and the checkIn and flight were excellent and we had no issues. The transfer to the hotel took about 70 minutes as we dropped off at a few other hotels before ours. On arrival at the hotel the check-in was slow and a bit chaotic, no refreshments we offered on arrival either. The room was fine with a nice big balcony which had a partial sea view,the beds were really comfortable as they had a matress topper which lead to a good nights sleep. The walls are quite thin in the bedroom which can lead to sometimes hearing noise and conversations from the guest next door. There is also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which for a 4* hotel I would expect. Food in the buffet restaurant is very poor and 3 days into our holiday my husband contracted food poisoning, food that is cooked is not kept heated and chilled food is kept at room temperature. There is also very little choice and the food is very limited and repetitive. Beer and wine are self service in the bars areas and my husband was concerned about the hygiene from the beer pump as you have to place your glass under the nossell and press onto the glass, not very hygienic as some guest were refilling their used empty glass or nearly empty glass. The resort of Jandia was fab with a beautiful beach and sea that could rival some in the Carribean. There is an assortment of shops ranging from designer to tourist tat. Bars and restaurants are plentiful. Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday and will defiantly return to Jandia just not this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
2  Thank GrandTour59051045265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Dear Guest 59051045265,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel.

It is also with great concern that we have read your comments on our réception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the réception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned.

All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

We also would like to thank you for your highlight on the comfort of our beds because at Barceló we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, therefore we pay the finest attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
Guest Exprience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

I use this website for my holidays, I went to fuertaventura for 7 nights last 2 weeks ago, I paid for all inclusive but if you want to use the swimming pool inside €10 per h, bar not everything free food bad the fresh juice acids so has gone eggs for breakfast born...
For kids only 2 h per day 10 to 12am
Food bad we got sick 4 days vomiting and diaree I called the receptionist and I asked for a doctor, they sent me but he changed me €500 and he just checked my daughter mouth
She was vomiting 2 times on bed I called for cleaning one time they come to clean but the second time not, and I slept with the bed full of vomiting
I'm not recommended this website and the hotel the hotel has Occidental Jandia Mar

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
3  Thank Seaside55680915176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel, Occidental Jandía Mar.

We have taken good note of your comment on the extra charge to access our Spa that provides our guests with a relaxing area with thermal circuit and other facilities such as hot tubs, sauna, as well as a selection of sophisticated treatments and a fully equipped gym and regret your disappointment on this aspect of our services, however, we would like to take the opportunity to explain that we study our prices in accordance with the offer of other 4 star hotels in the same area, always striving to ensure the best value for our guests.

Please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service. The involved departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help us to improve. We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations and your review has stimulated us to continue endeavor to achieve your satisfaction if you decide to honor us with a new visit.

Foremost we are deeply sorry to hear that you felt poorly during your stay, however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that our hotel, like all the hotels of our chain, undergoes regular independent audits sent both by the company and the tour operators we collaborate with to ensure our strict food safety management procedures, imposed on a global level by the company, are being followed and respected at all times; under no circumstances would we put our guests health at risk, their safety being of course our main concern, we sincerely hope that you are totally recovered as we speak.

Again, we genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you in the future.

Kind regards,




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Such a shame, lovely hotel but so much let it down. Firstly, i'd gone on my own. So they decided to put me in the furthest room from reception, where it was pitch black and my patio doors led out to a main road!?!? Don't think so. Got changed the next day. I wasn't alone ... met lots of older couples who struggled to walk etc who were placed in buildings without lifts etc... its not rocket science!
Food.... very similar each day but always cold :( lots and lots of people fell ill the week i was there. I was lucky, i didn't. But i'd say about half the hotel had sickness for a few days of their holiday and some even ended up in hospital with it. The hotel was generally clean so not sure if it was the cold food or.. ? Not sure...
Drinks, all ok... didn't limit you to one drink or anything daft so all ok on that. Not branded but i was ok with that. Sometimes the bars were left unattended so you'd be waiting around to get served. The staff weren't great with their English, think the hotel was more 'German' friendly. Entertainment, oh dear. The staff were lovely but the entertainment was terrible. The rooms were good sizes and cleaned daily. All inclusive drinks finished at 11.. you didn't have the option to even pay after that. They literally just turn the lights out about half hour after to force you to go to bed. It mentions a heated pool in the hotel. They didn't tell you that you have to pay for it! Not sure what else to report.. as i say, its a shame as its a nice hotel... good size but just lacking in lots!

Room tip: No lifts and lots of hills so request a special room if difficulty walking
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lisalindley12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2019

Dear lisalindley12345,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel.

We understand reading your review that apprently you were not properly informed about your All Inclusive type of meal plan upon reservation and would like to take the opportunity to point out that,as reported on our website, the All Inclusive is related to drinks, meals , snacks and the entertainment program; the room safes, the parking and the Spa (inside pool) are reported to be available against an extra charge.We also have a heated outdoor pool which is free.

We also have read your comment regarding the type of clientele we accommodate at our hotel, and would like to take the opportunity to clarify that Barceló welcomes all guests who book to stay with us regardless of their origin, skin tone, religion and age, and strongly believes that everybody has a right to a well-earned holiday.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Best regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews