We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,073)
Filter reviews
7,074 results
Traveler rating
2,351
2,691
1,255
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,351
2,691
1,255
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 7,074 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

My husband, 6 yr old daughter and I stayed for a week in Feb and had an amazing time. We stayed before 4 years ago and there jave been many improvements since then.
The hotel is large, really clean and well tended. It is also relatively quiet for such a large hotel, but with a nice buzz.
The staff everywhere are fantastic and all do an amazing job looking after all the guests. We had an issue with our door handle upon arrival, and it was fixed within 5 minutes which was amazing.
The pools are lovely, the top one is heated and the daught had a fantastic time learning to swim while we relaxed and swam with her too :)
The children's animation team were amazing, tirelessly working to entertain children of all ages and nationalities, keeping them happily entertained well into the evening at the mini disco! Thank you to Cecilia and all the team for all your hard work!
Food was great, with something for everyone, the restaurant staff all work super hard to keep food constantly available and tables constantly cleared. We did find some of the food to be less warm than we'd like, however, this was usually due to the fact that we spent a long time browsing the large amount of food on offer while it cooled on our plates!
Our room was lovely, with a vast, comfortable bed, lovely shower and great view, our daughter had a folding bed which was a bit squeaky but she slept brilliantly. All was spotlessly cleaned each day and towels were replenished whenever we needed.
I really recommend visiting if you want a relaxing holiday with good entertainment and lovely surroundings. Sure the beach is a bit of a slog back, but shuttle buses are provided and if helps to burn off the calories from the lovely buffets :).
Thanks to everyone at the Occidental Jandia Mar for a lovely holiday!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Mrs_Staflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2019

Dear Mrs. Staflet,

Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Jandía Mar; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home.

We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

Moreover, we would like to thank you for pointing out the efficient service you received when reporting a minor issue in your room and we sincerely thank you for informing us immediately so we could intervene minimizing the disruption during your holidays among us.

Furthermore, we are really pleased to hear what a wonderful time your daughter had thanks to the dedication and care of our professional entertaining team at Barceló we believe that the real holiday feeling goes hand in hand with good fun and entertaining sport and leisure activities, it is therefore a great reward to hear that our little guests took some unforgettable memories of their stay among us.

Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Our best regards from Jandía,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

Myself, my wife & 5 year old daughter have just returned from a week at the OCCIDENTAL JANDIA MAR where we enjoyed a fabulous last minute getaway.

HOTEL & FACILITIES - We found the rooms to a high standard, cleaned everyday on your request and really comfortable beds. We had some lose/cracked floor tiles but nothing to worry reception about (you’d hope the cleaning staff would notify them) The hotel was clean & tidy and you’d always see a cleaner on your travels. The downstairs lobby/theatre area did seem to increase in ‘drain’ smell as the day went on - which was a little disconcerting. The lower pool (not heated) was freezing for the time of year but upper pool (heated) was spot on. The barcy splash park feeds from the lower pool so it was a bit cold for the time of year and some of the sprays weren’t what they use to be - I assume. Beware there are a lot of steps however it was our way of burning off the food & drink we over-indulged in every day. Staff were always happy & helpful.

FOOD & DRINK - I was worried by all the comments about ‘cold’ food but we found it fine (however I don’t like my food overly hot). It’s about timings - if you turn up 1hr into the dinner service the food is going to be ‘warm’ not hot. My suggestion would be to turn up early if you like your food really hot. It’s a buffet style with a variety of different cuisines that change every night. The food does get a bit ‘same-y’ after a week - I’d struggle to be happy if I stayed for 2 weeks. There is a selection of hot & cold drinks available with help yourself beer pumps (big thumbs up) & soft drinks at all the bars. Snack bar is great for lunch or afternoon ‘treat’ with a good selection of fast foods & salads.

ENTERTAINMENT - The shows were good and the Animacion team was fantastic. Our 5 year old was a bit tentative in the beginning about the Barcy Club & mini disco but by the end of the week, she didn’t want to leave or go to bed.

BEACH & WEATHER - If you want to go to the beach just beware of the hill - there is a steep walk. We walked down & got a 3 euro taxi back up from Jablo. We went from 9th-15th Feb 2019 and had a fab week for weather. 23-26 degrees every day, no wind or rain until the last day. Pretty unusual for the time of year I was told.

Overall our week was fab - the hotel rooms could have been a little more modern & general areas looked after a bit more but it does what it says on the tin - 4 star. If you want a 5 star - go over the road to Ibreostar.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank leegauntlett84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

We had a lovely holiday here. I was a bit apprehensive about the holiday due to some negative reviews on TA.

Rooms a wee bit old fashioned but clean and spacious, sea view, but only when standing.

We enjoyed the food, sometimes a bit on the cool side, still nice though. They are very strict with the gentlemen having to wear long trousers in the winter time to the restaurant, in the summer time dress shorts can be worn, always think this is a bit strange as woman can wear shorts. Some men wear trackie bottoms or jeans and these are deemed ok, where a nice pair of dress shorts is not allowed, better to be safe than sorry, if you are a gent take long trousers with you.

Entertainment was good with a Abba, Jersey Boys And Elvis tribute acts.

Swam in the heated pool, which was huge, got decent lengths done here.

Excellent animation team, loads of activities on daily, enjoyed Stretching, Yoga and Pilates with Silvia and Armando.

10 minutes to beautiful beach, did not find the hill that bad, managed it fine, would be hard going if u had a buggy to push up it, though.

Would we return here, yes, in a heartbeat. Helped that we had beautiful weather too.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 48sheenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

We arrived last Tuesday 5th Feb for a 3 week stay first impressions very good our room is in the main building and excellent one of the best rooms we have in our balcony overlooks the pool area and we wake to unbroken sunshine every morning . Having read the reviews prior to our arrival we were apprehensive but need not have worried , so far every aspect has been great food in the restaurant is excellent with a wide choice of , service is excellent. The all inclusive is great bars very well managed not too much queuing I'll review again during our stay but so far so good

Room tip: Main building suits us
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank johnkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews