We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,074)
Filter reviews
7,074 results
Traveler rating
2,351
2,691
1,255
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,351
2,691
1,255
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 7,074 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

Arrived Dec 29th and stayed for the week, 2 adults and 2 kids 12&9.

1 hour taxi transfer (viva transfers were brilliant)

We had joining rooms so plenty of space, 4th floor in the Main building so good location with a sea view, as others have said, cleaning is poor, we put this down to staffing levels, clearly our cleaner worked extremely hard, however she had a huge amount of rooms to complete within her working day..... hence the “flash clean” with dirty floors the result of this.

Pool area was clean with plenty of sunbeds, lower pool was freezing upper pool was chilly but bearable, animation team worked hard during the day, evenings I hope will be quickly forgotten..... disaster!

We were aware of the location at the top of the hill, by the end of the week it was laborious and prevented us from attempting the return up the hill! The Hotel does a “shuttle” however it’s only 3 times per day, so largely useless.

All important WiFi was pretty solid, in both rooms and public areas, we happily streamed movies and sports in most areas.

Food and drink was the biggest let down, and it’s this area that would prevent us from returning. Excluding the NYE gala dinner, food was really poor, luck warm, lacking variety and poor quality, it gets extremely busy as you would expect, however the serving areas are disproportionately small compared to the overall restaurant size, this could be easily remedied, however I suspect cost will prevent that improvement.

Drink was mainly self service, with the exception of the local fire water (local shorts) - this didn’t bother us as at least the service was good!!

Restaurant staff, particularly the Maitre De were miserable as sin ..... mainly focussed on turning tables, again minimal staff with a huge amount of work to do. The “clapping in” of guests as we entered for the NYE dinner was ridiculous and completely out of alignment with ever other sitting, where is was difficult to even get a smile!

It also feels like to Hotel looks to squeeze every last penny out of you, payment for safe, Towel Deposits even have to pay for the mini golf as well as a further deposit....just leaves a bit of a sour taste.

Local shops at the bottom of the hill are OK....Spar, Mango and other usual tourist tat plus a couple of bars, one screening most sports. Pretty much the same for the other shops a short taxi/30 min stroll away down the coast, just more of them!!

Shouldn’t finish my review without mentioning the local beaches..... simply stunning and the one thing that would pull us back to the area, the Iberostar on the beach looks great and maybe our next stop.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank 239JamesK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

Dear James,
We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.
We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Barceló we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel as comfortable as possible in our hotels, for a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards.
We sincerely regret reading that our location did not meet your expectations, we encourage you for a future occasion to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you select the Barceló hotel that best meets your holiday needs and wishes.
Please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service. The involved departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help us to improve. We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations and your review has stimulated us to continue endeavor to achieve your satisfaction if you decide to honor us with a new visit.
Lastly, our We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision.
Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.
Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

Let me start by saying this is a lovely hotel and a great improvement on the one we have been transferred from .
We are still here at present until 12th Jan and are having a great time . As said previously the room cleaning is haphazard and if we walk about without shoes our feet are filthy after showering. We can never tell if the bed has been made or not ?
Our main concern is the change in standard and choice of food since Thursday 3rd January . There is much less choice at lunch and dinner and some only Luke warm with the soups being cold.
The other big disappointment is having to pay for bottled water for the room. On arriving it was free from the bar but in Thursday we were informed we now have to pay and collect from reception but having just been for some have been sent back to the bar and it will be added to the room bill. Why this sudden change ? Surely we should receive the same treatment for the whole of our stay as at the beginning. An answer would be appreciated as noone seems to be able to answer this question.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank aliaasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear aliaasa,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay at Occidental Jandía Mar. We apologize for your impressions about the service. Please, come to the reception as soon as possible and we will help you for sure

Best regards,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019

The food was amazing, all staff were so friendly, our room was always cleaned and beds were made, location is good and close to the beach, we were given a complimentary bottle of fizz and treats as we were staying there over Christmas.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Passport01591262480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear Passport01591262480,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Jandía Mar was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

Having stayed here previously we were looking forward to returning, and are still here on holiday. I wouldn't normally review until I finished my holiday but Feel so disappointed in the fall in standards tjat5i want to raise my concerns and maybe someone management will take the time to meet me to discuss. Most public areas are still lovely, although garden areas around the pool are not maintained add they were. Drink cups still in the same place after 2 days and my husband moved them. Saw a little boy almost stand on a knife by the pool. A lot of paint missing on wooden surfaces. But our main concern is with mimosa restaurant. We have been here 3 nights and have yet to be acknowledged on entering or leaving the restaurant . The older maitre 'de seems solely concerned with finding fault in the staffs work and policing the guests. Never a smile on his face and I never feel relaxed when he's around. There is a younger guy who appears to be a manager, wears a blue suit, who also seems constantly concerned about operations and not about the guests. He has passed me twice at doors and never even smiled. Very poor customer service. The biggest drop in standards is by far the quality of food. Poor quality ingredients, lack of choice, and so much more. Desserts were great last time we were here. This time it's cake, profiteroles and ice cream. Cannot believe that in 18 months this hotel has changed so much. Worryingly, we have booked to bring our family back in May, which we now need to seriously reconsider. We have also just left one of the most excruciating nights of "entertainment" ever. A karaoke night. It was awful. While the animation team try their best they obviously don't have the budget they did previously. Most definitely not a 4 star property now. I have been in the travel industry for over 35 years and visited hundreds of hotels and I'm afraid to say this is one of my biggest disappointments

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank FalkirkFeefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Dear FalkirkFeefee,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel.

Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Occidental Jandia Mar , please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. Your comments do not seem to quite match with the usual feedback that we receive both on this support and onsite, please do not hesitate to voice your concerns and approach the management team to inform us of the service imperfection you report on your review, we will be more than pleased to assist for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

I have just moved room literally because my previous room 5208 had paper thin walls and I had loud noises from the next door occupants constantly who thought they were in Ibiza by there behaviour. The lady at the desk on the first night told us to phone security. The second night i was told the same but after persuasion I was given a different room which we packed and hiked to. Some 20 flights of stairs with no assistance offered what so ever. Upon Arrival we found the door would not lock and reception simply told me maintenance was finished for the night. I have eaten once in the hotel the rest outside as i don't like school canteens nor do I like an evening drink where i must form a queue like a dingy Wetherspoons pub. The all inclusive alcohol gave me heartburn and tasted like rocket fuel so i opted to pay extra for the premium alcohol again if you want it form a queue. There are no duty managers on in the evening they o my work days so if you want to complain at night youl have to wait. I will submit a further review when my stay is over.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank lochaslh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Dear Lochaslh3,

Thank you for taking the time to read about your recent stay at our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel.

We do our best to ensure that the noise level always remains within reasonable limits, so that our guests are not disturbed by neighbors or outside noise. Sometimes it is impossible to guarantee this. However, we are glad to know that we were available and could offer you alternative accommodation.
We are very sorry that the technician was not around at midnight. We have done our best to ensure you a peaceful night in a fully booked hotel.

We have taken note of your comment on the queues in our bar and regret having read your dissatisfaction. Our Barmen shifts are checked to provide impeccable service throughout the day and during peak hours. Nevertheless, we undertake to improve this aspect of our services in order to avoid receiving this type of feedback in the future.

Thank you again for making this your choice hotel. We look forward to serving you soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews