We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,112)
Filter reviews
7,112 results
Traveler rating
2,365
2,700
1,262
466
319
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,365
2,700
1,262
466
319
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday barcy club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 7,112 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2018

Room tip: Top floor with sea view is excellent once you have found out which lifts are best for your room area
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 4, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 10 days, on arrival reception informed us that service would be ending soon in the restaurant so to pop our bags to the side and go down and eat and check in after. This was so thoughtful as the kids were hungry. Loved the drinks choices and always took a bottle of wine or sangria and a bottle of water to our table. The food was perfectly hot, no idea what people are talking about when referring to cold food. We then checked in and had a fabulous suite in the main building with a huge balcony sea view and overlooking the pool. Had a coffee machine in the room, only got enough capsules for 1 coffee each per day but we didn’t ask if we could have more either. There was a fresh bottle of water in the room every day and we used to bring up a second, I highly commend house-keeping who after 2-3 days seemed to notice we used two bottles and started to leave us two bottles, small thing but very impressed. Our room had a bedroom and a sitting/dining room with access to the balcony from both. A large bathroom with toilet and bidet, large round deep bath (loved this) and a separate shower. There was air on and ceiling fan and we used air con mostly and kept room at a lovely cool 18 degrees. You can drop it to 15 but we found that a little too cold. The couch in the sitting room opened to a bed but the bed in our bedroom was huge and the kids found it a giggle to sleep
In our bed some nights, loads of room for all 4 of us. There was a tv in both the sitting room and bedroom and there was a small fridge. We didn’t get allocated an eating time in the restaurant we just went when we felt like it. Reception were great to inform us about the outdoor pools and which was the heated one, delighted to find it was the one closest to the pool bar. The pool snack bar was great and due to weather was closed two days but the opened the indoor restaurant instead do you could still have food, and take it out to have by the pool which we did. If the poolside bar was closed (again this only happened 2 days) the indoor bar was opened and it was fine. The outdoor bar had help yourself wine, sangria, beer, and mineral taps and also help yourself slushee machine, and order if you wanted anything else. Every day there were pastries and biscuits on the bar to help yourself to also. There was also tea and coffee machines just inside the pool level lobby under the stairs. Also loved the ice cream and waffle cones in the inside restaurant. We did not have any issues with smokers, there were very few, I suppose that’s luck of the draw. There’s plenty of loungers and parasols and always staff cleaning up around them throughout the day. Lots of butterflies, which was pretty, we had no issue with flies or ants so not sure what some reviews are on about. Saw one cat and it was always outside and not bothering anyone. Loved the frozen margaritas, or monitors or whatever the special drink of the day was. Plenty of aqua classes and fitness classes next to the heated pool also. Kids club looked lovely, we didn’t put our kids in though as we like them to be with us. Indoor pool was €10 for 2 hours and kids were only allowed in until 12 so I did not agree with paying for use of that pool and access times were way too short. The restaurant ran themes but yes, the food was lovely and hot but did get a bit repetitive. But lots of choice in general to be fair. I can’t comment really on entertainment in evenings as kids were so exhausted after their day, they went to bed early. A new bar opened downstairs when we stayed and it was a lovely addition. All the staff were great throughout the resort always so pleasant. There’s a small shop in the reception area for gifts and snacks. The beach is at the bottom of steep hill but it did us good to get the walk, there’s a small shopping centre at the bottom of the hill and a taxi (just under €4) takes you to a bigger shopping area with bars and restaurants too. Our room was spotless and cleaned everyday, we had some laundry done and it was excellent service. Halloween was fantastic, the restaurant was brilliant with a trick or treat station, flaming drinks for adults on the way in. A Halloween scare tunnel done for younger kids with an older kids/adult version done also. Fantastic by the hotel and great fun. We went to the zoo 1 day, swam with sea lions, and it was amazing, fed giraffes and rubbed them, a real treat. On check out day, we were leaning at 4 so we packed up and left our bags in the luggage room, and enjoyed all the hotel facilities all day, then we were offered the use of the showers and changing facilities in the spa before we left which were ideal. Do be aware, if staying in main building the noise is loud up to 11.30/12 at night but our kids were so worn out from swimming and playing all day that they slept through it and my husband and I took turns popping corn for drinks and enjoying the entertainment from our balcony so it suited us. I would have no problem recommending this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank jennsiocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Dear jennsiocha,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

We regret your disappointment regarding the extra charge for SPA for our All Inclusive guests.
We understand reading your review that apprently you were not properly informed about your All Inclusive type of meal plan upon reservation and would like to take the opportunity to point out that,as reported on our website, the All Inclusive is related to drinks, meals , snacks and the entertainment program; the room safes, the parking and the Spa are reported to be available against an extra charge.

We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times.

We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

Great value 1 night stay. We live in Fuerteventura and use this hotel for a occasional treat or to celebrate an event. Excellent buffet meals with some fresh cooked items and good quality wine for all inclusive.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Happiness37581428769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director of Sales at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Dear Happiness37581428769,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Jandía Mar. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours.

We also greatly appreciate your highlight on the good value of our All Inclusive type of meal plan and wine

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel we were here last year at same time and loved it , ,what a difference a year makes , everything has changed , pool bar closed at 5 , we used to sit there til it closed , food choice has definitely changed, and most of the meals we ate were lukewarm or cold , desert choice not to even half as much choice as last year, entertainment team were much better last year , sorry but we were planning on having our end of year holiday here for a few years but definitely this year has changed our minds and sadly we won’t be returning
Cleaners missed half the room all the time
Nighttime entertainment wasn’t up to much this year
Check in was a long event
Dinner hall wasn’t staffed enough even got a row for sitting a table of four when there was only two us down at first waiting on our daughter and her friend not amused at that, the staff need to worry about clearing the tables and resetting them more
Loads of flies and ants in the dinner hall as well really annoying
Not a good review this year

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank gartul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2018

Dear gartul10,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel.

Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for Barceló and we follow very strict protocols to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness in our hotels, for future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our réception in the event of finding any area of uncleanliness , this will give us an opportunity to bring your remarks to the attention of our housekeeping management.

All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

Hotel location and view from sea view room was st9unning. However food quality was poor and food always cold for later sitting, not alot of variety in meals and desserts. Meals in restaurants and desserts were basic and not reflect the images online of variety on social media. Alot of different items but difficult to make a meal. Check in was a lengthy process with a very long wait. No welcome drinks offered after lengthy transfer and long journey. Reception staff not understanding of English and answering telephones mid conversation. Was not informed of a la carte restaurant and if this could be used during stay all inclusive. Entertainment team enthusiastic , although evening entertainment offer little variety as mostly staff dancing or miming not in sync with music being played, public lost focus in show and alot of noise.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank laineym2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2018

Dear laineym2k,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel.

We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you expérienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones.

All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

Thank you for the wonderful description of the room we accommodated you in during your stay, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much with the fantastic sea view.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews