We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,112)
Filter reviews
7,112 results
Traveler rating
2,365
2,700
1,262
466
319
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,365
2,700
1,262
466
319
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday barcy club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 7,112 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2018

Went with a few families with 5 children under the age of 6, so it was never going to be a relaxing holiday, but it was fun, and we had a good time.

The hotel is quite expansive and on a relatively steep hill, so there's a bit of walking and quite a number of stairs to get to your room depending on where you are.

Considering the amount of rooms I'd consider the pool area quite limited. The beds are fairly crammed in and there's defiantly not enough to go round. Depending on the pool attendant, the 'no reserve towel on bed rule' is not generally applied.

The kids play area is ok, but there is a great water play area next to the kids club (which also runs through the day). There's a cracking crazy golf course, but keep an eye on the kid as here's plenty for them to hurt themselves on if there not steady on their feet.

The food on site is ok, there's plenty of it but the large food hall is loud and not relaxing. It is possible to book an a le carte restaurant, which would be worth it if you want some peace.
There's also a spa area which is well laid out, with a jacuzzi and sauna.

The evening entertainment is well laid on, and keep the kids focused through the evening to.

It's situated at up a hill side, and the walk to the beach is a trek. there is a bus that takes you down once ever few hours, and there's a few bars at the bottom of the hill which plays the football if you want to watch it.

The staff on site were great, the entertainment staff were very friendly and enthusiastic as you'd expect.

All in all, a good holiday, but I don't think I'd go back.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwaindibley6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2018

Dear dwaindibley6969,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Jandia Mar we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.
We regret reading that apparently we failed to ensure that our hotel policy, forbidding the reservation of sun beds, was respected during your visit. Your mentioning of this in your review did not go unnoticed and we are pleased to inform you that with immediate effect we will be enforcing the communication reminding guests that reservation of sunbeds without immediate use is forbidden in our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2018

We had a great time from the start of the holiday to the end, there was a huge variety of food available, the whole hotel was very clean, the rooms were cleaned to a high standard indeed ( every day) Staff were all great and helpful, only small downfall is the hill you have to take to get to the beach!!!Weather was beautiful!!! We will definitely be back very soon!!!!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2018

Dear Janet

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Jandia Mar Hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.
At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours.
Last but not least, thorough cleaning being an absolute must for Barceló we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is basic for a comfortable holiday expérience in any hotel.
Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2018

Slow staff, at check-in was force to pay again for the booking I have already paid online. Was hard to explain them but eventually I succeeded. The check-in time took forever. The hotel overall was super noisy. Especially the huge restaurant - the eating experience in such noise was terrible. be aware they want to pay extra for parking. The free parking is available on the street outside. Overall experience? For the money I paid for Occidental chain 4 star hotel I would expect something completely different.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank GrandTour53008780135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2018

Dear GrandTour53008780135,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel.

Our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strenghts and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at our the réception desk; nevertheless we will not fail to share your comments with our head of department for information and further revision.

Please be assured your comments regarding the service you received during mealtimes has been discussed with our Maître so as to prevent these kind of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

Very nice hotel which is only a 15 minute walk from the beach, 2 great outdoor swimming pools, there was a good variety of food in the all inclusive buffet, friendly staff and nice clean rooms. Would definitely return to this hotel

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Sherpa545716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Dear custormer

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018

Relaxed family friendly atmosphere The room was clean and spacious..great quality food and variety Friendly helpful staff. Excellent children's facilities and animation staff. The pillows could have been a little softer and it would have been nice to see a no reservation policy for towels on sunbeds by the pool but neither detracted from the overall holiday experience. We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank GoPlaces15387084590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2018

Dear Customer,
First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Jandia Mar hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.
We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis.
It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Best Regards
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews