We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,064)
Filter reviews
7,064 results
Traveler rating
2,344
2,689
1,254
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,344
2,689
1,254
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 7,064 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Hotel is huge and clean. Rooms are big enough clean and comfortable. Food in main restaurant is amazing so much choice. Pools are lovely. Lots of comfy sunbeds. Music played all day around the pool. Lots of activities going on in the day and great eve entertainment too. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank d0uthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Dear d0uthwaite

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Jandia Mar Hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.
We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times.It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.
Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds.
Finally,we also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay and for mentioning the genuine friendliness of our team.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Guest Experience


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

After booking we kept an eye on reviews and really started to worry, so much so we looked into cancelling. So pleased we didn’t. We decided to go with a complete open mind.
We have had many family holidays on cruises and to the Canary Islands, and have to say this has been our best.
The hotel is beautiful, well maintained and clean. We had a large family room with sea view. Although its not a full sea view as the hotel in front is directly looking the sea.
Reception staff were helpful when we arrived late at night. The only issue is trying to find the room in the dark as there was no sign for block 8. This was frustrating with carrying bags and being tired after long day travelling.
Arriving in the room we had a bottle of Sangria and water, as I had emailed the hotel prior to advise of special occasions.
Food during the stay was lovely, always hot. Plenty of choice, there are wide range of dishes each night with different themes. Whilst the dishes may not be to everyones tastes, we were always able to find something. The desserts are impressive!
Drink choice was brilliant and we had considered upgrading but did not see the need. During the day would get drinks at pool bar and after 5pm would go for a drink upstairs, people complain this bar is not open during the day but there is no point when everyone is outside.
Entertainment team were very good and always something going on. Special mention to the kids club team - Fatima, Felesta and Mica. Plus not forgetting Barcy (you will debate what Barcy is, I thought he was a whale but he is water!).Our son was not quite old enough to be left alone as has to be 4, but we went with him. The girls were fantastic, enthusiastic and so caring to all the children, speaking various languages. On holiday our son turned 3, the kids club team arranged during mini disco for Barcy dancing and everyone singing happy birthday. This was so thoughtful and made the occasion more special.
The hotel is 10 minutes from beach, there is a hill down to it (which is well advertised in brochures so don’t understand complaints). We were able to manage the hill even with the push chair. Beaches in Furteventura are beautiful.
One day we walked to the Harbour which took us nearly 2 hours!!! We didn’t get lost, just was optimistic that we could walk it. At the harbour there are sting rays, so well worth seeing. There is turtle sanctuary open on mornings. Returning we got a taxi and only cost 5 euros.
the only issue we had was the photography team and they need to be more upfront with the photo prices. The sign on desk says 9 euros and when booking we asked and where told that would be the price and could get electronic copy on usb. When going through options this wasn’t the case, and we did express the dishonesty for the high prices. The price was not the issue, and if had know in advance would have probably still gone ahead with the photo shoot.
overall, we had such a lovely holiday and our son is asking when he can go back.
We may return in few years time as always like to go to different places.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Dear Ms. Laura D,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Jandia Mar Hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. In the same way, we thank you for not allowing yourself to be influenced by other comments, for us the best review is the one that is made once the experience has been lived. Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity!

First we thank you for the wonderful description of the room we accommodated you in during your stay, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much. We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.

Also, we are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us.Thank you for referencing so many of our team members by name, as we are now able to reach out to them individually and let them know how they made such a positive impact on your stay. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Short stay for just a few days sun but really wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer nor return.This hotel appears to have forgotten it's customer service and and basic care and attention towards guests.No help whatsoever to get our cases to our room - Just given a map of this huge hotel and left to wander about in the dark dragging our bags. I had never thought to pack a head torch!I had to actually abandon the bags and hike back to reception eventually in order to request some assistance after mindless wandering about looking for block 8. Reception were not hugely helpful but did send somebody from security eventually to assist. So then we all wandered about for a bit longer still dragging heavy cases before we realised that block 8 is the one NOT marked 8! Every other number you can think of but no 8An unexpected lateral thinking experience we could have done without really after a long days travelling.Really grim first impression of the hotels attitude in general and our opinion was not changed during our stay.Staff generally unhelpful and possibly even a tad rude here and there.Rooms spotless and comfortable.Food - You won't starve that is for sure but just basic all inclusive.Pool areas where spotless and comfortable sun-loungers although could possibly become sun-lounger sardines during high season.Weather fab and a good chilled out short break but definitely not a hotel to visit if customer care is something which matters to you.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank mandyoldroose43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear Mr. Mandyoldroose43,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Jandía Mar.We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.
We first would like to extend our sincere apologies for the imperfections of service you describe in your review and although your comments do not seem to match the usual feedback we receive both onsite and online, we will make sure to discuss your review internally so as to avoid giving this kind of impressions from our dedicated employees.
Thank you for your insights regarding our buffets, although we lament reading that we weren't able to meet your culinary wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining expériences.
On the ohter hand, we are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times.
Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Best regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with my fiancee (I proposed to her on our sea view balcony here in room 2217) and would definitely stay again.

Check in was a breeze and didn't take much time and at the end of checking in you are given a slightly vague map of where to find your room so make sure you listen to the directions the receptionist provides.

We had a sea room view which was beautiful and I would recommend the extra cost for this. The rooms are clean and spacious but the bed was 2 doubles pushed together which was annoying when I fell in the gap but this didn't impact on the holiday so we didn't complain.

As we were all inclusive we were able to enjoy the benefits of this and I have to say the food was decent in the main buffet restaurant and had some variety as in the evening they do have themes to change it up a bit plus you have a wide variety of drinks ie bottle of wine/water/pop/tea/coffee. The only real negative we had was that on the digital menu, items were labelled to say if they contained seafood but many options didn't notify whether they contained meat. I would say going forward items on the menu need to say whether they contain meat ie chicken beef etc and also we noticed that the food provided often differed from the digital menu and would like to request that going forward the items in the restaurant each have a label attached to specify ingredients/allergens to help those who don't eat certain foods for religious/cultural reasons as well as ethical and allergy reasons. I would also like to say that if you sit by the far windows there may be ants.

Also I forgot to mention that the snack bar food was the same every day and I would have liked to see a bit of variety. It was a bit of a shame as well because the food items here were not labelled to say if they contained meat etc and often times people used the wrong tongues and cross contaminated the food.

Based on this I wouldn't recommend this resort for vegans and vegetarians.

In the bar you only have a limited amount of free cocktails and only local alcohol is free and also all inclusive ends at 11pm and after this time you have to pay for cocktails but you only have to pay the all inclusive rate. You can also buy premium alcohol throughout the day and only pay all inclusive rates for them.

The pools were both really good and I enjoyed lounging by them and really enjoyed swimming in them. I will note that the bottom pool had a few missing tiles which could be a hazard but this didn't impact on my holiday at all. Another good thing was that there was always a spare sun lounger when we checked but if you want a good spot you would need to get there early or be eagle eyed and wait for a good spot to open up.

We also went down the hill to the shops and the beach and going down the hill is quick and easy and there are a few shops and a spa if there's anything you need. Walking up the hill isn't as bad as some reviews say but if you have mobility issues there is a bus and taxis are cheap.

The beach is beautiful and the sun loungers are only €13.50 for 2 ppl for the day. All you need to do is just sit on them and do your thing and eventually a guy on a quad bike in a yellow tshirt will come to collect payment.

I would wholly recommend getting a taxi which cost €3 each way for 2 of you each way to Faro which has a lighthouse, a whale skeleton, plenty of bars and shops and a cafe bar on the beach (if we come again this is what we'll do if we go to the beach).

We also had a photoshoot with the photography team which I thought was a lot of fun and enjoyed but when it came to buying photos the pricing structure wasn't overly clear before we went mad selecting all the photos we liked. I do recommend that you do a photoshoot but before selecting any photos I would request a list of packages and prices to avoid embarrassment when told that the amount the photos will cost is greater than your small budget.

Overall I would definitely stay here again because the nearby beaches are beautiful, the sun is always out (I got a nice tan for someone who is quite pale) , lounging by the pool is relaxing even when the animation team do there morning and afternoon "time for fiesta no siesta" song which is quite a fun song, the evening entertainment is decent especially the animation teams take on The Bodyguard and Dirty Dancing which were hilarious, there's even kino golf which was good but save it for the evening when it's cooler an there are also cats that wander around the property as well which is a bonus if you like cats.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frazer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Dear Frazer P,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel for your visit to Fuerteventura and for live such a special moment with us. We are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

We are glad to read that you liked the way our réception team greétéd you on arrival and that you were promptly checked in without any hassle as expected. Moreover, we are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable despite the incident with your double bed.
It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.We have taken note of your observations regarding the information on the screens/buffet. Your comments will be transmitted to the corresponding department. For this reason we would like to thank you for sharing your comments and constructive crictics due to it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.
On the other hand, we are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program (like Dirty Dancing or The bodyguard) organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team.


Finally, we are also glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Fuerteventura.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon, maybe like newlyweds.

Best regards,
Guest Experience


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews