We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,059)
Filter reviews
7,062 results
Traveler rating
2,343
2,689
1,253
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,343
2,689
1,253
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 7,062 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

I've never gone all inclusive before but it proved ideal for our party of 11 family members. Great value for money.
Lots to do at one pool and relaxation and fun at the other. Impressed with the regular 'towels on bed chairs' checks which meant we also were able to find space when we needed it at all times of the day.
Every single member of staff was helpful and friendly and the standard of food was amazing. We found the main restaurant easy to use and excellent in every way. No need to upgrade to AI plus as the 'superior' small restaurant looked a bit dull compared to the main one. And if you wanted a better cocktail they were just 3euros50. Wine by bottle was lovely and on tap was fine.
Loved two outings - one to the zoo but especially the second on the Catamaran Magic. We swam in wonderful turquoise sea, had lovely food and had fun on the banana boat.
Also loved the two nearby beaches, stunning and lovely. We used taxis which were really cheap.
Altogether a great week and our thanks to Jet 2 holidays as well as Linda Hill from LAH Travel for making the whole experience seamless!

Date of stay: August 2018
4  Thank HoboScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Dear HoboScotland,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Jandía Mar was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds . Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Guest Experience




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

My first impressions were the hotel looks tired, Then the fun begins with being given a map of the hotel and circles being drawn on where to go for our rooms by a lady who was very polite but understood very little english. Told to go for food in the dining room which looked as if a bomb had gone off dirty plates and glasses, the food was horrible it was either cold, half cooked, or burnt, food was left uncovered or chilled with flies landing on it such as the cheese cold meats and deserts, I think the beer pump is a medical contamination waiting to happen as you have people with half filled glasses pushing it back onto the pump so the next person get a drink and part of the last persons saliva! Lets hope no nora virus hits the hotel. Bedrooms ok but vey basic, walls are paper thin so you can hear everyones buisness in the next room including their toilet buisness. aircon not very good , tv non existant, best food served at the snack bar hats off to the chef and the ladies who try to keep the area clean.Had two rooms in our party asked forlate check out to be told one room was ok until 14:00 but the other was not available as guests were coming in, which i understand but to sit in the snack bar and see the room we had was still not cleaned at 14:00 after being made to vacate at 12:00 just topped this holiday off. So if you dont mind cold food , sharing saliva with total strangers, miles from airport 1 hr 45 min transfer unless you pay private £80 and based up a cardiac hill then this hotel is for you! Not to my taste but some do like the hotel guess it depends on your expectations

Room tip: Try a differen hotel
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank nigee3468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2018

Dear nigee3468,

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success.

Although your comments do not seem to quite match with the usual feedback that we receive both on this support and onsite, for a future stay, please do not hesitate to voice your concerns and approach the management team to inform us of the service imperfection you report on your review, we will be more than pleased to assist for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us. 

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Just came back from occidental jandia mar with my husband. I wish i could give the hotel a 4* but i think it has the potencial of being very good, but some things are not great. Location is quite good, 5 minutes from the beach, yes hill is horrible, we did ended up getting a couple of taxis, only 4-5euros so no bad. The hotel provides a bus to the beach. We never used it but if you are elderly or got kids, i would recommended. Morro jable is about half hour walk, its a nice walk..and there is a small shopping center at the bottom of the hill. We were all inclusive barcelo plus. Food was ok, fresh and clean. It was the first time we went all inclusive, as there wasnt a lot of restaurant close by, we chose that option. We did go a couple of times to morro jable for dinner as we like trying local restaurants. As barcelo plus you get to have breakfast and dinner on a separate restaurant. The lady at this restaurant is fantastic and she never seems to have a day off! There wasnt a lot of options for dinner in this restaurant, so we tried the main once...food was quite good for a buffet but its mayhen, so after that either go out or the small plus restaurant(much more relaxed!) For lunch you can go to main restaurant. Food was quite good again or used the snack bar open till6..with burgers, sausages and all that. Snack bar is very basic, cheap food but quite handy so you dont have to hurry up from the beach for lunch.
As Barcelo plus we could have branded drinks and the nice coktails( the other one are allready mixed). I wouldnt recommend the plus for someone who plans to drink beer or wine, as you can get that with the basic all inclusive.
Now a few bad points, there is no enough staff, and sadly thought they work very hard and allways smiling, some of them dont seem to know what they are doing.some stuff in bar didnt know how to make most drinks in the menu...big lack of training here. That was only one or two, rest of staff was great, but in a four star i expect better service. The rooms in the plus wing are lovely, nice sea view, but the poor lady who cleans them doesnt have enough time in my opinion to do a bit more indepth cleaning...no a critism to her and i think she works very hard, but more staff is needed.
The facilities in the hotel are really good, pools are great, top one is busier but sunnier. We allways managed to find a sunbed, i would recommend to take a hat as there is not a lot of umbrellas.
Common toilets allways clean.
Entertainment isnt very good, and though we didnt mind ourselves, from 11music used to go crazy with loud music, we used to stay in the balcony listening...some nights we did wonder if we were in Ibiza! But this seems to be a family orientated hotel, so it doesnt make much sense to me. The music used to go till midnight or later.
I general hotel is good, i just think service for a 4* is not there yet.
But for the price we pay, we went with jet2holidays and quite happy with the holiday.
All inclusive finishes at 11, no very good, specially if you are barcelo plus. I think alcohol is serve from 11 to 11....couldnt be better if it was served 12 to 12...as 11 is very early!!
All together this is a perfect hotel for a quiet holiday...(besides the crazy disco at night).

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 46carolinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2018

Dear Carolina E,

Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Jandía Mar; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.
Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.
We understand your preference for more tranquil accommodation. However, it is our goal to provide all our guests with a memorable holiday with the option of evening entertainment and we try our best to combine lively attractions for the action seekers with a well-organized distribution in our hotel's facilities to ensure that our guests preferring to relax are able to do so.
Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

Best regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Excellent hotel. Great value for money with 2 great pools, friendly staff and really good range of food. Free WiFi connectivity was also excellent throughout the hotel without the requirement to continually enter log in details.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank antsburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear antsburke,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Jandia Mar. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Our 3rd time at this hotel and it still exceeds our expectations would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Great for couples all ages as well as families . Good access if had a disability well catered for

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank grayjane68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear graykane68,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year.
We certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews