We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,068)
Filter reviews
7,068 results
Traveler rating
2,346
2,690
1,255
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,346
2,690
1,255
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
457 - 462 of 7,068 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Lovely Hotel, however its a steep bank and decent walk (especially with kids, or a pram) to beach and random bus service to and from. 3 going too on a morning, 3 coming back on an afternoon.
Food has to be checked as often found uncooked. Typical cues so not great.
Tricky to get a bed ( unless your German)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank nigelhickey2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Dear nigelhickey2018,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel for your holidays in Fuerteventura, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us.

Thank you for your insights regarding our buffets, although we lament reading that we weren't able to meet your culinary wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining experiences.

Thank you once again for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Room not what I booked when booked the holiday I asked for a room with balcony with possible see view I got neither put on grond floor with view if next hotels car park. Food was nice when it was warm and felt safe with the children with being on a complex but will not go to this hotel again

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Jason R,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel.

I am very sorry that we weren´t able to make your room request come true and would like to take the opportunity to explain that we always allocate our rooms in accordance with the room category reserved as they are decisive to the cost of your stay. Nevertheless it is our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction, and when we can we always try to make special wishes come true.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

I think this is a fair and honest review of the hotel having stayed previously here and at other similarly rated all inclusive hotels in the Canaries:

Pros
- Spacious family room
- Rooms cleaned well each day
- Good sized pools
- Great entertainment staff
- Good location

Cons
- One bottle of water provided for entire stay
- Toiletries not replenished for entire stay
- Lack of staff most notably in eating areas, reception and cleaners in public areas
- No organisation for restaurant, large queues, food not replenished quick enough, lack of tables, tables not cleared quickly enough
- Public areas dirty especially snack bar, food, wrappers etc on floor
- Long queues to check in, seemed to be a lot of paperwork needed
- Lack of sunbeds most of the day
- Extras charged for - towels, changing a towel, drinks after 11pm, the privilege of using the a la carte restaurant and a roped off section of the main restaurant

Guest tips
- Go early to breakfast, lunch, dinner to avoid the worst of the queues
- The restaurants in Moro Jable are lovely if you fancy a change. Taxi is around 4 euros
- If you want a more restful day by the pool chose the lower one. The top pool is a lot busier, louder and packed with beer swilling Brits

Recommendations for the hotel
- Provide water daily in room - it’s an all inclusive?
- Replenish toiletries in rooms as and when required
- Employ more staff on reception (even for just peak times - you must be aware when you are expecting arrivals?)
- Upgrade check in process - didn’t seem very modern and all paperwork based
- Use the a la carte as another restaurant for everyone to use, would cut down on queues. Open the snack bar til later also to help with this
- Control the main restaurant. Seat guests individually to turn tables properly and keep control over food supply - employ more restaurant staff and waiters! Every other all inclusive I have stayed in this service has been provided and makes for a nicer experience than feeling like a school canteen
- Employ more cleaners to keep public areas clean, no one likes stepping on dropped food around the pool
- Sort our the reserving sunbeds policy. If left for 2hrs remove. Enforce throughout the day not just in the morning.
- Alternatively do not allow reservations before 10am, this has worked in other hotels
- Scrap the all inclusive+ to just be upgraded drinks / room. There doesn’t seem to be a point to the reserved area in restaurant as anyone who sits there serves themselves just like everyone else. Also opening up a la carte to everyone reduces demand on main restaurant
- free towels, no drink shut off - I’ve never experienced this before at an all inclusive and seems to be an underhand way to make more money out of guests

Hotel need to make some serious changes to bring this to standard and make a good experience for guests. Will not return unfortunately. There are better hotels nearby.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
9  Thank 911FoodiesofH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Dear 911FoodiesofH,

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success.

Please be assured your comments regarding the service you received during mealtimes has been discussed with our Maître so as to prevent these kind of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion.

We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. Moreover, we are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Fuerteventura.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

A pleasant hotel, just in need of a good freshening up. Went all inclusive which was great having food and drink on tap. Two large family pools, with plenty of sun beds, so no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve one :-) Didn't use a lot of the facilities e.g. Spa or Gym as on holiday. The staff all very helpful and polite.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank 196jeannetteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear 196jeannetteb,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.

Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

We spend a week in this hotel as all inclusive. Definitely not 4 star. We have been very surprised when at the check in time we have been given map and number of room and we had to find it by ourselves what wasn't actually easy to do especially if this hotel has got many steps and blocks. Room was quite big, but slightly overdate,our fridge didn't work, what we reported but nothing was done with it.There wasn't any coffe/tee facilities at all in the room, we had to pay for deposit box per day, and deposit for beach towels as well? (if you would like to change your towel for fresh one you had to pay for this extra as well)as additional in our bathroom wasn't any wentilation just the window which was screwed so unable to open. Only one bottle of water on arrive and that's it!!-no replacement,one restaurant and one ala carta restaurant only.... so no choice...
Food was very basic and nearly this same every day, very limited choice for fresh fruits, most was form cans...That was a good challange to find table wich was ready to use and not wobbly! because of the amount of guests staff didnt manage with clening and floor was very sticky and slippery (we have sen few bad falls).evening entertiment was good but with limited seats so many guestst have to stand up.
Walk to the beach was about 25/30minutes on hill to way back to hotel and if you want sunbed you have to pay 13.50 euro per day.
we will not come back to this hotel again

Room tip: avoid top rooms very hot!! with one fan and aircon not working properly
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank smonika1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Dear smonika1976,

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success

We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit.

Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for Barceló and we follow very strict protocols to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness in our hotels, for future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our réception in the event of finding any area of uncleanliness , this will give us an opportunity to bring your remarks to the attention of our housekeeping management.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews