We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,068)
Filter reviews
7,068 results
Traveler rating
2,346
2,690
1,255
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,346
2,690
1,255
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 7,068 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

I am currently on my last day at this hotel and wanted to share my personal experience.
If, like me, you read the reviews of your booked hotel and it frightens you to with in an inch of your life, fear not. This hotel is magnificent!

Rooms: I found the room fantastic, cleaned daily comfortable, excellent air conditioning with a nice view over looking the pool area with good sound proofing so heard nothing of the neighbors.

Food: again, brilliant, fair enough it wasn't always piping hot and maybe they need to invest in some new Bain Marie's but the sheer choice was second to none that I have experienced. Great selection with themed nights almost every night we were there. Vegetarian, meat lovers can take bottles of wine to your table. There are three shifts for when you can eat (at tea) 1st shift is 18:30-19:45 2nd 20:15-21:30 and third 22:00-23:15. So if you have any small people go for a swap to the first shift. While I was there the second shift seemed most popular. Their snack bar was fantastic, offering a great range of fast food 12-18:00.

Drinks: I loved all the drinks, the beer is local but surprisingly tasty the cocktails are excellent, with 4 you can choose regular and they have one 'special' in a slush machine everyday. Superb. (Picture provided)

The "Hill" everyone is talking about is rough, not the hotels fault though but if you have mobility issues you may feel confined to the hotel. (Provided picture)

The staff were great, tried to get people involved and enjoy their holiday with no overt pressure to join in. There were 3 or 4 that stood out for me with Kevin on reception, the head (?) Animacion guy and two people who worked on the pool bar (should've got names sorry) I think one was Elli(?) Lovely warm and seemed to enjoy their work.
The beach is phenomenal and goes on for literal miles, although there are some "sights" of the naked variety, each to their own.

The shows in the evening were well done, it's clear not all Occidentals budget goes onto them, but good none the less.

The heated pool was lovely it's where lots of the activities take place and the other pool was quieter but just as nice in my opinion.

We loved our holiday here and would love to come back some time in the future. Thank you Occidental Jandia Mar.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank Frankmenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear Frank L,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process.

Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your All Inclusive type of meal plan, allowing our guests to take advantage of our different bars and restaurant throughout the day and are grateful for your highlight on the quality of the products and drinks including in its board.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2018

Fantastic hotel, well designed, great location, great entertainment team! Good choice of food, fantastic wine and cheese, very tasty desserts, missed only cup of tea for dinner, but enjoyed a lot a glass of champagne for breakfast! The bigger pool quite cool so spent most of the time in the other heated one. Lovely Animation team, they did a really good job!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank alex201108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear alex201108,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel for your holidays in Fuerteventura and for the review you shared online.

We greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates. Moreover, we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area. We also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay and for mentioning the genuine friendliness of our team.

Again, we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned yesterday from occidental jandia mar in jandia fuerteventura ,and this is my honest review.
After a late arrival around 11pm our check in was quick and friendly by young man at reception and a nice touch is that they open the restaurant for late arrivals for cold buffet and drinks ,after getting direction to our room we had no issues accessing a lift room was spacious and airy with fridge and a complimentary bottle of water in it with air con hairdryer great shower very comfy bed and balcony with chairs and table .pool area is clean and spacious with no issue to find a space to sunbathe (I encourage to join in the daytime entertainment round pools ).the food was not as bad as what some reviews have stated ,drinks are all inclusive except for some such as Guinness etc which is what is usually expected local drinks are your ai anything else you pay for which is normal (anyone expecting everything for free is deluded .) AI up to 11pm .evening entertainment was only about 45 minutes but still good every wed Sat and Sun a lovely couple do up to 3 hours of singing at the pool bar starting at 3.30pm they are great .the beach is at the bottom of hill we are both 43 years old and had no issues walking back up we walked to morro jable which was about 40 minutes walking taxi is about 5 euros if you don't fancy walking beach is beautiful and try Simon's kitchen it's amazing .We found all staff to be friendly welcoming and helpful ,Vanessa from the pool bar is lovely with great customer service , we are already looking at booking again in october ,all in all you make your own holiday so enjoy instead of picking faults occidental jandia mar we will keep returning

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank maggi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear maggi1973,

Thank you very much for leaving these comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

Thank you for the description of the room we accommodated you in during your stay, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your All Inclusive type of meal plan, allowing our guests to take advantage of our different bars and restaurant throughout the day.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Once more, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

No evening entertainment, almost no music during the day either, same food every day( almost no seafood apart from fried fish) food overcookef, have to wait for drinks like 10 mins not enough staff, the hotel is up the hil aso if you wanna go to seaside you have yo walk down the hill but it is quite difficult to get back thus not convenient for beach lovers.xkeaners do not change bedding every morning, they just make it look 'neater' as if they changed it.they juat cover the sheet with duvet, had to ask for clean towels, disnt leave toiletries after the 2nd day of stay...

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank rodrigues552018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Dear rodrigues552018,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of enteratiment for information and improvement.

We have taken good note of your remark on the queues at times in our bar and regret reading your dissatisfaction, our barmen shifts are studied to ensure an impeccable service throughout the day and are reinforced during peak hours, nevertheless we commit to improve on this aspect of our services so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Jandía.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

The hotel is up a very very steep hill there is a shuttle service to and from the beach but there is only 3 a day, check in tome takes to long, rooms very nice we were barcelo plus and on arrival you have a stocked fridge but never gets replenished, food terrible meat and fish all over cooked and like chewing rubber, most of the other food was only just warm and not hot, luckily there is a Burger King at the bottom of the hill and a couple of other restaurants, entertainment around was brilliant but might let it down it doesn’t start till 10 and this is due to the eating times if your on the second sitting you can’t eat till 8.15, staff friendly overall a very nice hotel it’s the food that lets it down, the hotel comments on they value customers feedback but yet they do nothing to rectify it. Nice robes and slippers, nice breakfast area free use of safe and beach towels for barcelo plus customers.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank joanneclayton12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Dear Joanneclayton12,

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are relevant to our future success.

Thank you for your insights regarding our buffets, although we lament reading that we weren't able to meet your culinary wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining experienes.
On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews