We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,059)
Filter reviews
7,059 results
Traveler rating
2,343
2,687
1,253
463
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,343
2,687
1,253
463
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 7,059 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Our hotel was much nicer than we expected after we’d read many reviews on here. But I appreciate everyone has a different experience, so here is ours.
We booked the Occidental Jandia Mar when we knew it was a Barceló hotel. We have stayed with them several times now and have always found them to be quality hotels.
Check in : easy and everything explained well.
Room : nice, good size ground floor room with large terrace containing chairs, footstools and nice new sun loungers. I had requested a room near reception with my bad back and that was fine.
Plenty of hot water. Nice big TV. But what I loved the most was the bed. The comfiest bed I’ve ever slept in..... I might’ve stayed in bed the whole week!
Pool and grounds : the grounds were very nicely presented with plants, flowers in abundance and, my favourite, a fruit and veg patch with mint, tomatoes etc growing. All very well tendered. Some of the walls and wood balustrading could do with a lick of paint and some tiles were missing from the bottom of the pool but this was purely superficial.
We only used the pool at the bottom - the larger one. It was stunning, absolutely amazing! Freezing cold, just what you need after sunbathing.... Plenty of lovely new loungers (you can lift the middle leg part to slightly raise it and that made them much comfier for me)
Food ; I’m a dreadfully fussy vege and was worried after what we’d read on here pertaining to the food. Yes the dining room could use a make over (table clothes? More staff on hand? ) however the food was some of the best we’ve had on holidays. There was always plenty of choice and beautifully displayed.
Different theme nights were nice (tex mex (my fav) Chinese, etc) and always plenty for us veges... the salad selections were excellent as were the choice of breads and fruit to help yourself to.
Another thing to mention is the amazing puddings! Good lord, never have I ever had such delicious cheesecake and big chocolate cake.... and ice creams. I’ve never been keen on puddings in most hotels but these were deliciously sweet and could well explain my shrinking wardrobe....Really well thought out with the food and options available but I agree with the previous ‘canteen’ comments.This was the difference for me between a rating on here of 4 or 5 and the dining room set up - not the food - let’s the hotel down slightly.
The drinks stations you helped yourself to and there was a choice of soft drinks (coke, diet coke, sprite, tango etc) hot drinks and bottles of still / sparkling bottled water, red / white / rose / sangria ) and bubbles at breakfast..... similar to the bars throughout the rest of the hotel. I loved the Piano Bar and their cocktails. We were all inc but didn’t upgrade to the Barceló Plus which meant there were a few cocktails inc on offer although we paid €3.50 for our cocktails which I thought wasn’t bad but what made it special for me was the Barman whose name I can’t remember. He made the best margarita I’ve ever had. I would like to pass on my thanks especially to him.
Staff : the staff in the restaurant were all polite especially the manager. Reception were very friendly and helpful. Housekeepers were lovely and clean towels provided daily if needed.
Animation team : lovely group. Loved Water Yoga in the mornings then did some cocktail mixing (great fun) They all worked so hard in the evening shows too....
Beach : most magnificent beach I’ve been on in years. Take goggles and snorkel with all the fish....
The hill : it really is awful to climb up. Yes there are buses running but only at set times. Could the hotel perhaps use golf carts to transfer guests to the bottom of the hill? We debated getting a taxi one evening......
We didn’t visit the spa although several people we spoke to us commented on their excellent treatments they had had there.
All in all we both commented on what a wonderful holiday we had and how much we enjoyed the small details which really made the hotel special like the superb comfy beds and sunloungers, the bottles of wine / water in the dining room which you could take to your table and lastly another big plus for us was the ‘early breakfast’ they started at 4.30am for those departing very early in the morning. These had to be booked at reception the day before.
All in all, an excellent holiday and an excellent hotel...

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear Amanda B,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

We are very pleased to read your satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel.
We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates.
We are truly happy to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations in regard to hospitality and service delivered.

Again, we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2018

Lovely hotel. Spotless and well run. Reception efficient and very helpful. 'Animation' staff fabulous., . Enthusiastic cheerful and energetic. . Lovely rooms and pool areas . Evening entertainment was exactly that, entertaining and what it lacked in professionism was made up for in enthusiasm, was well attended every night. Food was very good and beautifully presented, varied and plenty of it. This brings me to first niggle. I had read reviews about cold food and because it was a consistent theme I (mistakenly) thought this would have been rectified. It was not and the food, especially at breakfast was lukewarm at best and more often cold. Two microwaves were provided but this isn't what I wanted on holiday. The bars were mostly manned by one person . The piano bar was busy and when only one bartender , which was most of the time, was mixing cocktails a queue quickly built up. The cold food was an issue and had that been rectified I would have rated this excellent. Not a great location for folks with mobility issues but that is stated in the info. A free courtesy bus was essential as the hill was long and steep. A taxi was only 3 euros though. All in all it was a lovely holiday with only the food that let it down

Date of stay: May 2018
4  Thank lixxie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2018

Dear lixxie123,

Thank you very much for leaving these comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

We take note of your comments about the food, please be assured that your review will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining experiences.

We appreciate your words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets.We also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

This hotel is a great location for access to the beach. As stated in other reviews, the hotel is on an incline so the beach is downhill then back up for your return, this is no problem for me and my partner as we are young and fit and have legs so use them, yet anyone who is unhappy can use the shuttle service they do 2 trips back a day from the beach and 3 going down. The only problem with the location being down South is that there are absolutely no watersports except for kite surfing (no jet ski, no para sailing) so if you are under the impression you can get this, I would hire a car as the closest would be Puerto Rico approx. 20 mins drive each way, we unfortunately did not book a hire car and there are definitely NO TRANSPORT LINKS.. even the websites that say they pick up do not collect form Jandia. My first niggle is that any day trip out requiring a coach collection is picked up from the hotel across the road (Jandia Playa) which is quite odd, even the hotel recommends them most of the time which makes is feel like it is worth just booking there instead. The resort is lovely, plenty of seats by the 2 outside doors and food was very nice each day we attended.
We went all inclusive; the evening A'La Carte dining is extra, which is quite norm and we never found we required an upgrade as the food was different most days. I was a little sad to find that inclusive drinks finish as 11pm, the bar is very quiet and atmosphere ideal for middle aged or retired, sad to pay extra after 11pm especially when the bar shut at 11.15. The cocktails you pay a little extra for some, also a little strange for an inclusive hotel. The rooms do not have a mini bar, only 1 bottle water per stay and the fridge was broken. No iron and ironing board (apparently they only have 1 to lend out and that was in use) and 4 UK channels on TV. I was not at all put off as the hotel is in lovely scenery and well fed and watered throughout our stay. Beach is beautiful but be careful, loungers are 7 Euros per person! Would highly recommend going a little further into the 'town', will need a taxi (4 Euros each way) and go to a bistro called 'Simons House/Place' - can not quite remember the exact name but if you ask the man at the beach bar by the 'Spar' shop he will recommend as they do the best burgers I have ever had. Best burgers in Jandia, made fresh (even the buns you see them do by hand) thick tender meat, lashings of burger sauces and cheese with home cooked wedges. Beautiful meal, very very nice (and the Pizza's!) There is a lovely café/bar 2 doors down from this bistro which has a fantastic sea view, the waves nearly right at your feet. Would not recommend a ferry excursion if you get sea sick, the ferry we took to Lanzarote was very choppy, lots of poorly people and then a lot of coach time. Perfect holiday for relaxing and enjoying the local attractions.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Dear SamanthaF,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Occidental XXX hotel for your holidays in Occidental Jandia Mar, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us.

We understand that the hotel might not be the best location for your holidays, this is why we encourage you for a future occasion to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance to make sure you book the Barceló destination that can make all your dreams come true.
At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

Very good service in the reception and friendly entertainment team.
A large selection of food and good quality.Service and alcoholic drinks at the pool bar very good. And most important for small kids , heated swimming pool.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank krystianledniowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Dear krystianledniowski,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for the review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

We are truly happy to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations in regard to hospitality and service. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews