We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,064)
Filter reviews
7,068 results
Traveler rating
2,346
2,690
1,255
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,346
2,690
1,255
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 7,068 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2018

The biggest issue with hotel is the food, you will read many reviews that complain about the food being cold, please take note, the food is always cold and not particularly great. Think twice before you book this one!!!!!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank duncanclay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear Duncanclay64,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel.

We regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because this comments does not follow our standards.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel on this occasion and for the courtesy of your time.

Kind regards, Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

We arrived on the 30th May and on booking in I didn’t realise my wife had booked us as Barcelo Plus and what a surprise I got.

From check in with the lovely evening reception staff to seeing our room on the 6th floor I knew this was going to be a great holiday. When we arrived late on and checked in around just before 11pm we were told the restaurant would be opened up for us and the other guests who’d just arrived. This was a nice touch after a long day travelling.

Breakfast in the morning was in the restaurant on the 3rd floor and the staff greeted you with a smile and were very courteous and attentive.

Lunch in the main restaurant on the 2nd floor and dinner has a lot to choose from and myself and my wife who can be a fussy eater had no complaints. From visiting a lot of other all inclusive hotels this one is pretty good.

Pool side there is plenty of loungers and if you like the shade you can find places to hide from the sun. Pool side bars are good and the snack bar caters for all.

Rooms are cleaned every day and towels are replaced daily. Maids do a great job here.

We are still here finishing off our holiday but we’ll definitely be returning guests.

Special mention to the waitress in the restaurant on the Saturday evening who also covers the plus section of the main restaurant on the 2nd floor and the breakfast You are a credit to the hotel and are very pleasant in your manner.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
8  Thank kiliflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Dear Iangoldie,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Jandia Mar.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. Moreover, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, we are glad to hear that they all contributed to your wellbeing while staying among us, from the housekeeping team, doing their best to guarantee spotless accommodations and installations at all times. We definitely will share this comment with out team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

We thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

Just came back from a great holiday and a nice stay at the Occidental Jandia Mar. Food and drinks were good- however I’ve never done an all inclusive holiday before so haven’t got anything to compare it to- I thought there was good variety and didn’t feel the need to eat outside the hotel.

The pools, scenery and entertainment for kids were good. Only things that were annoying were the bugs (cockroaches, ants, spiders), but comes with being on an island I guess- my little one is absolutely terrified of insects. House keeping were cool with spraying the room when requested.

We were without TV and Wi-Fi for a day in our room- I think it effected our whole block as there was an issue with the antenna - it was resolved within 24 hours. Expect TV to be all German, French and Spanish, we only got 3 UK channels, BBC 2, BBC News and Film 4, and some random English Chinese channels.

The hotel room itself was spacious, clean and had all the usual amenities. We stayed there most days, one day was spent going to the oasis safari park which was tremendous. We also went to the beach a few times which is a 10/15 min walk down a steep hill- great to go down but difficult to walk up, they have a shuttle bus but it only runs 3 times down and 3 times back a day which didn’t leave many options. A taxi from the shopping centre that’s close to the beach cost about 3 euros.

Back to the hotel, there’s a playground and splash area for little ones as well as the Barcy club for kids- we didn’t use that but we did enjoy the kids shows in the evenings which were nice.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
5  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Dear Lisa D,

Thank you very much for leaving these comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

We greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates. We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities. We are also very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

This is a lovely hotel. Had a great week here but I would not recommend it to anyone with walking difficulties. We were in block 9 which was quite far from the restaurant and bars and it was uphill all the way. In saying that it didn’t stop us enjoying ourselves .
It’s a big hotel but we always managed to get a sunbed at the pool or a drink at the bars without any difficulty.
Food was good and plentiful and was always replenished
Rooms were big plenty hanging space. Spotless. Cleaned every day
Definitely one I would return to despite the hill
On the positive We did have a lovely sea view from block 9

Room tip: Ask for block 2 or 3 you won’t have the sea view but not such a steep climb
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank boothsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Dear boothsa,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel for your holidays in Fuerteventura and for the review you shared online.

We greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies. We also thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of your room, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel.

Again, we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

Not what we were expecting for a four star rating, lack of information, some staff not interested and unable to offer advise. Some staff do not engage with guests, raised issues with holiday rep at the hotel as staff don't want to discuss issues of concern. They let themselves down, what a shame as it is a nice hotel but not a nice holiday experience, lots of issues which we raised and submitted, hopefully they will take on board the comments and improve the holiday experience for those who decide to stay at this hotel. Unfortunately we didn't like it and would not return

Room tip: Beware, double rooms are standard
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank rowlandb889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2018

Dear rowlandb889,

Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision.

We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews