We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,074)
Filter reviews
7,074 results
Traveler rating
2,351
2,691
1,255
464
313
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,351
2,691
1,255
464
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday free bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 7,074 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2018

The Occidental Jandia Mar is a nice hotel, with friendly staff and good facilities. It is located on a hill and set back from the beach which is about 15 minutes walk away. It okay walking down to the beach but the hill on the way back is challenging so you might want to make use of the free bus service that the hotel provides.

Our room was located in block four which is a fair climb up those never ending steps, so you might want to request a room that is a bit closer to reception.

The food is ok but a little predictable. I'll leave it at that.

The rooms are clean and bright and there is a cleaner in every day to keep it that way.

All staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to be a problem.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ProductTest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Dear ProductTest,

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success

We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

Stayed here last summer...on arrival we were given keys but could not find the right apartment block easily because a sign was missing. I hope that was resolved. We had a balcony overlooking the sea which was lovely. Room cleaned everyday, no problem. We had a great one week holiday there, our only point to mention is the food needs to be kept warmer and if you didn’t get there early certain things would go quickly and not replenished. We had plenty of free cava on entry to restaurant which was gratefully received! The animation team were fantastic and made it very enjoyable even for us adults. Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2017
2  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Patricia C,

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on TripAdvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

Cleaning was terrible, with the same mop cleaning been done in a room and on a table. Food was not interesting and not tasty. Poor choice of food. We will not come back anymore. We booked our holiday 5 months ago, the spa was free of charge..but when we come,the spa was not for free.. and one swimming pool was closed for maintenance..but we didn't get any message about it.. Evening show was absolutely not interesting.. the worst place..never come back..

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Inga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2018

Dear Inga-Andrej L,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at Occidental Jandía Mar. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests.

We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Barceló we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future ocasion please do not hesitate to contact our réception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards.

We also regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests.

We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

Hotel was spacious and kept clean every day and clean towels were left by the cleaning staff .one pool was undergoing some work when we were there but this had little effect on our stay .the hotel is located at the top of the HILL OF DEATH!!!Walls are paper thin plenty of banging at night can be heard.
Dinning room! i can had on heart say over the 8 nights we stayed i never ate a hot meal, every thing was just warm or cold .The warmest thing i ate was a freshly cooked egg for breakfast.The food was plenty full with something for every taste .
My biggest problem with the dinning room was the food hygiene .next door to the dinning room entrance is a public toilet, most people i saw use this were not washing there hands at the sink then entering the dinning room with out using the alcohol hand wash provided at the entrance to the dinning room!on more than a few occasions i followed these people from the loo and witnessed them picking food up with there un washed hands!
Every 4 and 5 star hotel i have stayed at (anywhere) apart from this one has one basic last line of hygiene before entering the dinning room,That is the dining room manager /matredie standing at the entrance greeting guested and insisting they use the hand wash before entering the dinning area but not here! it was a free for all and i am afriad to say this hotel is at some point going to have an out break of sickness due to this one basic food hygiene requirement washing your hands .my other gripe is the dinning room staff ie cooks never once wore gloves while handling food .The salad was sat under lights on the counter?All basics that you would think this hotel would have at the very top of they hygiene list..
The resort has very little to offer,if your going for a quite break this place is great and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.
But the food and dinning room hygiene let the hotel down

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear d m,

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success.

We take note of your comments because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure our guests. However, you can be sure that your opinion will be shared with our department heads.
All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

I mostly felt positive about this hotel. The hotel was clean and tidy, and the room was similar to most others I’ve experienced in similar hotels. There were plenty of deck chairs, and chair “marking” was actively discouraged. I thought the food was actually very good for an all inclusive resort, with a different theme each night. I didn’t experience any issues with clean tables each night. It was easy to access the included free drinks, and I’d recommend the filter coffee for breakfast over the machines. Actually drinkable.

I found a couple of the staff unnecessarily rude, which was absolutely no reflection on the staff overall. Most were lovely, but those who weren’t were just down right aggressive and it’s not what you expect on holiday. The regular cleaning over the week was a bit slap dash. The hotel needed fixing in places. Bits were taped up or cordoned off. The gym was also too small for the size of the hotel.

I’d say my complaints are minor, but stop me from giving in 5*. Not to say I wouldn’t be back, I felt overall the stay was enjoyable and relaxing.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank CharlotteFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Charlotte Flondon,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our Occidental Jandía Mar.

We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our facilities, being fully aware that this is an aspect of fundamental importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your All Inclusive meal plan, as our chefs go to great lengths to conquer all palates. We are glad to read that we have been able to conquer yours.

Once again, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and for sharing your experience with us.

Best regards,

Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews