We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,112)
Filter reviews
7,112 results
Traveler rating
2,365
2,700
1,262
466
319
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,365
2,700
1,262
466
319
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jandia mar steep hill snack bar fish self service animation team crazy golf indoor pool salad pork mini golf plenty of sunbeds sister hotel ice cream evening entertainment great holiday barcy club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,149 - 1,154 of 7,112 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2017

Upon arrival at the hotel we were very impressed with the overall appearance of the hotel. The reception area was spacious and clean and we were checked in immediately. Our room was ready for us straight away and we were directed to our room which was in the main building. Though we only booked a standard room, when we went out to the balcony we were pleasantly surprised to see that we had been given a sea view room - not sure if this was lucky for us or if others are normally upgraded, but we were very happy regardless! The room was very clean and was of a good size for the two of us. The balcony was lovely and in addition to the sea view, we also had a great view of the swimming pools below us.

The all inclusive help-yourself drinks were great. My partner especially made the most of the Tropical beer that was readily available at various locations around the hotel throughout the day from 10am. We really liked that you didn't have to always queue up at the bar to get drinks like in most other all inclusive that I have previous stayed at. Some drinks are not included and the cocktail menu was fairly limited on the all inclusive package, but drinks are drinks for us and we were very happy with the variety that was available, including wine, sangria, beer and a number of soft drinks. The hotel also sent a bottle of cava up to our room on my partner's birthday which came as a surprise to both of us. Such a small touch that made a huge difference.

I was a little concerned that the food would let down the trip due to the reviews that I had read before arriving at the Occidental Jandia Mar. This was not the case by any means. The choice of food was vast and we didn't have the same meal twice during our trip. There is a special counter that serves themed food at each meal time and also fresh fish that is cooked in front of you. There is something for everyone and considering how much we paid for our trip we were so impressed. The snack bar, which is available from 12pm-6pm, had similar options each day but we really liked helping ourselves as and when we got hungry to a slice of pizza or a burger, hotdog or toastie.

The pool areas are very clean with plenty of options to be in the sun or the shade. It was never too overcrowded and we didn't struggle to find a spot. The walk to the beach isn't as bad as a lot of reviewers made it out to be, however, it is quite a steep walk. We didn't mind this as after all of the food and drink that we ate, it was good to feel like we were working it all off to some degree. The beach is stunning and I've never seen water so turquoise-clear in Europe. It is windy, a little more windy than we would have liked, however, thats what we expected when we booked a trip to the island so certainly no surprise or complaints. Just a general observation. It was lovely and sunny during our stay so we still came back with a great tan.

Our holiday was perfect due to the great facilities at the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would really recommend it to anyone thinking of booking a trip to the area.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BethanSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Experience at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

Dear Bethan,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel for your visit to Fuerteventura and for recommending us to the travel community of Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your mention regarding the appearance of our hotel, we had renovated our reception ad lobby area few months ago so it is rewarding that you found it spacious and clean.

We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, with themed evening meals, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to exceed your culinary expectations.

Once more, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions, it is a pleasure to read that you found your holiday perfect and we definitely look forward to welcome you back when next time you decide to visit Fuerteventura and the beautiful beach of Jandía.

Kind regards,
Zsofia Berta
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017

I've literally just got home and I'm already missing this place knowing I'm not going to be waking up to such beauty upsets me lol... no but really we paid for barcelo plus and it is great if you can afford it it meant we got all drinks free meaning like all branded stuff, and we got attended to every breakfast in a private corner inside or out, for my friend who it was her first holiday barcelo plus was a great deal, I'm not sure if all rooms had wifi ours did and it also garenteed that we would have a great room which we did sea view and pool view it was lovely, we got a different breakfast menu from the resturant by the piano bar la toscana it was good having crepes every morning lol, i loved the intractive menu outside it was very handy as my friend struggles with food what can can't eat and with this you can select what you can have or can't i.e dairy wheat and it categorises it all for you very handy also our food was never cold like some reveiws said.. then the interactive board outside to tell you about all the entertainment which was brilliant aqua gym was brilliant and mr "justin beiber" always had us laughing, if you have kids as well they are well looked after and all the children were in their element... entertainment team were fantastic always had high sprits to get everyone going shows at night were amazing overall really really good and my friend had a brilliant first holiday... will defo come back also the hill wasn't bad but if you have a buggy then taxi might be better option but i enjoyed the walk back up as i could burn off all the brilliant food id been eating lol..

Room tip: upgrade to barcelo plus and your garenteed a brilliant room.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank leahsearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Experience at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Dear Leah,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental hotel, we are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

Reading your words we would like to add that due to the location of our hotel we provide free shuttlebus every day to the unique beach of Jandía and to the village also.

Thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our waiting team, they indeed have a great impact on the overall dining expérience of our guests and we are thrilled to read that their attentive service contributed to your wellbeing during mealtimes.

We also are very grateful for your highlight of the entertainment program during your stay and for mentioning the genuine friendliness of our team.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards from sunny Jandía,
Zsofia Berta
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017

We read lots of reviews before coming here and lots of them were quite bad. We always take things on face value and decided not to be put off and I'm so glad we did. The food and drink was plentiful and lots of choices especially for those who love fresh fish. The staff were polite and attentive. The rooms were excellent. Very large with beautiful bathrooms and a balcony with patio chairs. We stayed in block five. It was quiet at night with no noise to be heard from other residents. The only very small negative is that everything stops at 11 o'clock at night which was fine for us but some people would like to drink later. Drinks were pretty much self service for beer, wine and soft drinks but everything else was bar service. All branded drinks were chargeable but the non branded stuff was ok. The hotel was at the top of a very steep hill which on our first day here we walked down to the shops and the beech but walking back up was a killer. There is a free bus that takes you down three times a day and picks up three times a day so well worth using unless you like the exercise. The shops and the beach are well worth a visit and also the old town worth visiting too. Would definitely come here again.

Room tip: There are lots of steps all over this complex so if you struggle with them this will not be the hotel for you.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Experience at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel, we are delighted to read we could provide you with excellent all round holiday experience.

Of course we have taken good note of your remark regarding that the all inclusive service is until 11 o'clock at night, although our lobby bar is open till midnight and we have a discoteque open till 1 a.m., we are going to take into consideration and forward it to the departamental managers for further revision.

On the other hand, it is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs, especially the fresh fish plates as we offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all plates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.

Once again, thank you for sharing your opinion online and we definitely look forward to welcome you back for your next holidays in Fuerteventura.

Kind regards from Jandía,
Zsofia Berta
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017

This is a lovely hotel In a very nice area near a gorgeous beach ,the only downside is a steep hill,but there is a free bus to the beach.The pool areas are great with plenty of beds.The rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable.The restaurant has a variety of food although it is sometimes cold.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Experience at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Dear Jenny,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your early holiday and for taking the time for sharing your impressions.

We highly appreciate your kind words, considering us as lovely hotel, and we are happy to know you liked the room we accomodated you in during your stay, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much.

We hope you had a nice travel back home and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards from Jandía,
Zsofia Berta
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

Just came back today from Fuerteventura.
Had a lovely stay with my friend at Occidental Jandia Mar- great hotel, friendly staff, freshly cooked food, good entertainment so I would definitely recommend it! We will be going back again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Marcela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalJM, Guest Experience at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Dear Marcela,

We thank you for making our Occidental Jandía Mar your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community of Tripadvisor, we are happy to read we could meet your and your friend's holiday expectations.

We definitely look forward to welcome you back when next time you visit Fuerteventura.

Kind regards from sunny Jandía,
Zsofia Berta
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews