We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,635)
Filter reviews
7,635 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar jandia playa golf buggy sea view the main hotel plenty of sunbeds animation team heated pool half board buffet restaurant shopping centre fish main pool salad main part great holiday meal times
Selected filters
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 7,635 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is located near to shops restaurants and bars. Is within easy walking distance to the beach. All inclusive packages give you access to two pools including a shallow child friendly pool. For 10 euro you can rent a beach towel, so no need to take up valuable suitcase space. There are ample sun beds and they operate a 'No reserving sun beds' rule. We never had any difficulty finding sunbeds. The catering offered buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner with a wide selection of dishes. There is also a snack bar in the grounds offering light bites, hot and cold drinks and alcohol. For a small fee you can access the Spa which includes steam room, ice room, sauna jacuzzi and an external pool with various water massage features and sun beds. Nightly entertainment in one of the bar areas also includes early entertainment for children. This hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. The rooms are a little 'tired' but clean. I would come back to this hotel without hesitation.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019 via mobile

We are lucky enough to go on holiday 4/5 times a year, often on an all inclusive basis, so have lots to compare. We have been to Jandia a number of times & usually stay at Club Magic Life which we rate highly. We wanted to try something different & booked this hotel as we got such a great bargain with Thomas Cook & had previously stayed at the Occidental Jandia Mar. We opted for the basic ‘blue band’ level (not Royal or Premium) and were a bit apprehensive after reading some of the negative reviews on this site but we went with an open mind and here is our view which is based on the price we paid:

Great bits!
• It’s a very relaxed & friendly hotel & we met some lovely people.
• Staff are really efficient and some are really friendly.
• Great location - a 10 minute stroll to a beautiful sandy beach and a 25 min walk to Morro Jable past some lovely high end shops, bars and restaurants.
• Drink quality for a Spanish all inclusive was very good. Gordon’s and Beefeater gin, Smirnoff vodka & not watered down. Tropical beer was great.
• We met people who had upgraded to premium (cream band) for €5 each per day and that gave access to a separate pool area, more branded spirits, premium drinks & mixers & a separate dining area. That seemed to be good value.
• Some of the entertainment was really good - ABBA, Beatles & Jersey Boys tribute bands were great.
• Lovely white, soft towels - which is important to me!
• Pool areas - always lots of sunbeds no matter what time of day - no towel reserving which was a big bonus & made for a relaxing holiday!
• Hotel gardens - tropical & really well kept.

Things we thought could be better (but wouldn’t stop us going again):
• The room - clean, sheets changed every few days, comfy bed but typical Spanish style with dark wood headboard, wardrobes so a bit dated as was the bathroom although the rainhead shower over the bath was great.
• The food - although I always found something to eat, in my view it isn’t high quality and there is limited variety compared to other all inclusives we have been to. The fresh fish was good & some other things were really tasty but lots of pork or chicken so got a bit boring for me after about 5 days. My husband however thought the choices were really good.
• Some maintenance needed - cracked tiles around the pool area for example.
• The photographers were a bit of a pain. We were approached a few times & although we politely declined they were persistent!

Some other tips:
• The safe is €3 a day & the pool towels were €10 euros each refundable deposit.
• Spar supermarket underneath the hotel is well stocked & reasonably priced.

Overall we thought if the food was improved and the bedrooms / bathrooms were updated this would have been a 4.5 star review. For what we paid we felt it was fantastic value for money & we would definitely return if price was right!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank M9768XHmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

We have just returned from 7 Day Holiday at this hotel. Not very happy with the location and the general maintenance. The tiles around the steps had parts missing and their was a lot of loose tiles around the complex. Our room was at the bottom of the complex and at night the path ways lights was not working in places. We booked a sea view but when going onto the seating area looking out towards the sea their was a large sign obstructing the view. The restaurant let the hotel down a lot of the hot food was cold, the Toasters for breakfast toast you had to put the bread through 4 times to get it to brown. The bacon was swimming in its on oil after being cooked in the same tray. The main and evening meals seemed to be the poor quality meats.
Their was only one place to get a hot/cold drink through the day has the pool bar was not open and their was no facilities in the main hotel. All in all I don't think we will be going back to this hotel again.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamB1780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear Guest,
We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

We are sorry that you found certain imperfections resulting from wear and tear in the Hotel. Our maintenance staff work hard to keep the facilities in good condition, so guests feel comfortable.

We are very sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with the view of your room but would like to point out that we allocate our rooms according to the room category, whose detailed description you will find on our website. However, we do not find any reports showing that our employees have been informed during your stay with us, otherwise we would have given you another room immediately.

Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking.

As a close-knit team, we are collectively committed to providing our guests with a superb experience. Our reputation and high return guest ratio attest that we usually get it right, so it is distressing not to have been able to in your case, for which we again apologize.

Kind regards
Guest experience Manager
Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

We spend very good time in this hotel, food, staff, room was OK, our child was happy in the swimming pool, no matter for him that it was colder. We really enjoy it, no stress, everybody with smile on face.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Happiness364762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

went last minute for a sunshine break and we werent disappointed. Its a very big complex of different blocks, we paid for a sea view room and were in Bock 2, which was central to amenities.
The staff here are the biggest asset, everyone has a smile and a friendly greeting.
The grounds are beautifully kept and our room was kept very clean every day.
The food and drink was good, sometimes not as hot as others have commented but always an enormous choice including fresh pizza every day.
Pools were cold but it was pleasant to lounge outside in sun or shade if it got too much,never an issue finding a sunbed here.
There is a snack bar during the day serving drinks and hot and cold food, we tried the drinks but found it offputting that the local birds also enjoyed the food on offer! we saw sparrows sampling the prepared pizzas and the chips, not the most hygienic. This should be addressed.
A very special mention should go to Jessica on reception my husband had his wallet stolen in Morro Jable the day before we came home, we sought assistance at reception and Jessica went out of hr way to try to help us.
Overlall we had a good time.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbc1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews