We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,740)
Filter reviews
7,740 results
Traveler rating
2,694
3,115
1,214
453
264
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,694
3,115
1,214
453
264
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar jandia playa golf buggy sea view the main hotel plenty of sunbeds animation team heated pool shopping centre buffet restaurant half board fish main part salad meal times main pool great holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 7,740 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2018

We were disappointed to find that the hotel is not, in fact, on or near the beach. It is across a dual carriageway and some scrub land, with a considerable climb from the lowest levels to the main building. There is a minibus service from the hotel to the beach. Our room (3121) was comfortable, clean, and had a sea view and balcony. Food was acceptable - good breakfasts - but on several occasions we saw guests having to queue for access to the dining room. The main bar area is rather soulless and could be anywhere in the world. The garden areas are beautifully well kept. All staff we met were helpful and friendly. A bottle of bubbly and some chocs on my birthday were an unexpected and welcome surprise.

Room tip: It's worth paying extra for a sea view room.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValFromBishopsCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018

Terrible rooms, same food every day (the main courses were changing, but they were often from previous day), and many different bad things like broken terracotta in the room, water was pouring from the ceiling in the main entrance to restaurant.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Coastal57078892528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2018

Dear Guest,

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all hotel's areas and rooms should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced. However, we do not seem to find records that our staff had been made aware of that while staying with us; naturally we would have changed you to another room and we would have find a solution for that room.

We also regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests.

We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018

large hotel with plenty to do and just 20 minute stroll to main resort however the area around hotel has a few shops and bars and a great beach bar just 10 mins walk. The gardens are beautiful and all plants and shrubs are clearly labelled with their names. Rooms very airy and clean although a little dated. overall a great hotel

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank citybreaker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018

Although there are parts of the hotel buildings that are looking "a little tired" and in need of "a make-over" it is clean and the gardens with all the plants are excellent. The staff are cheerful, friendly and helpful and the food and drink choices are very good. This was our second visit to the hotel and we'll be back again in 2019 .

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2018

For whatever reason this was our fourth visit in some 10 years... we love the beach, area and the hotel grounds are lovely. I have touched on issues in previous reviews. So what's new or different 2018?
When we arrived they asked if we had been before.I said fourth visit and off they went...oh, I thought, a loyalty surprise. It was a surprise but nothing loyal. They give us (two couples) a spiel about a storm which had damaged roofs of 'some' sea view accommodation and a view of the sea (for which we had paid 90 quid) would not be ours. We were suspicious about this damage, couldn't see anything that suggested it - and when we sympathised with some staff over the issue they didn't have a clue what we are on about! Anyway we negotiated compensation which included an upgrade to Plus (waiter drinks service in an exclusive part of the restaurant and always had a table ready for us which we found more useful, beneficial and satisfying than looking at the sea. So ok, no probs. All done with good humour. Got to say staff in Plus were excellent, Cassandra and Ada (sorry can't remember full name of this lovely chap from Senegal) were top class and treated us royally. Thank you to them.
There was a a huge variety of food to choose from. Couldn't complain about choice, Only gripe was the usual... some of the 'hot' food was often stony cold. One night I asked a counter chef did they have any potatoes that were actually hot. He told me to put them in the microwave. I suggested they just handed us microwaveable dinners on the way in if it helped. Can't believe in 10 years the management, who will no doubt respond with usual claptrap on bottom of this review, haven't sorted this. Got to say though our dining experience was generally good.
So to grumble no 2...if you go into a pub in the UK and there is one person behind the bar and a queue of 20 waiting to be served you wouldn't be happy... welcome to the Playa Jandia. At the lobby bar Jose Miguel was a total legend trying to get the drinks out as fast as he could but to be honest the staffing level behind the bar has been appalling over the years and still is. I reckon over a night you could spend 40 minutes queuing for drinks.
The night entertainment was average, Bruno Mars tribute was good but the Beatles tribute band was abysmal.There were only three of them for a start - and a number of people left before half way.
Around the pool there were soo many sunbeds you would never be stuck... and for 10 euros you could enjoy the excellent Spa/pool area. Reception were very efficient and when our bedside light switches simply fell to bits on use they were round double quick to fit a new one.
There was no shortage of management doing the rounds in the hotel, but while the troops on the grounds were absolutelymagnificent perhaps the chiefs should have been doing more to improve the issues I raised. Overall we enjoyed our holiday but as ever it was always windy!!!!

Room tip: sea views in block 9...if they are unaffected by storm damage
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christheblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews