We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,635)
Filter reviews
7,635 results
Traveler rating
2,654
3,076
1,201
442
262
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,654
3,076
1,201
442
262
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar jandia playa golf buggy sea view the main hotel plenty of sunbeds animation team heated pool half board buffet restaurant shopping centre fish main pool salad main part great holiday meal times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 7,635 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Staff is very friendly, all managing is very well organized. Hotel is a bit far from airport,but if you take some cavas from Castillo beach, way going fast. Beach is very good ! Pacient place for vacation.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Meander05124796159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Not terrible but not good for a 4 star. Certainly more niggles than would have expected.
Arrival. Most hotels we have been greated with a drink and warm welcome. Not this one. Only 2 staff on reception. We were given a band and told check in is from 2. Not an issue as we knew this before we arrived. However, at 2 we returned and told room not ready and check in is anytime after 2. In my mind that means we can check in any time after 2 at our convenience not the hotel. So now we've been up since 3, hot and just want to go and change. We were not given a time but returned at 3 and luckily the room was ready.
Room-block 6. Couldn't fault the room. Kettle and tea/coffee. Didn't use TV. Very clean. However on our last day, check out is 12. Took our cases to reception early but sti left few bits in room to return for a freshen up. Went back at 11.15 and cleaners were in. All my shampoo egg was gone and room ready for next occupants. Needless to say, I used the room so apologies to the next people who checked in. Reception staff didn't understand so gave up complaining.
Food-now where to start. One buffet restaurant. No waiter service so only drinks were self service, wine, water, lager and soft drinks. Tea/coffee pots were offered but only on our last day were we also given a jug of milk. Until then we had to go to the cereal bar and get some. Plenty of choice but all the hot food was cold. I don't like my food too hot but this was just plain cold that you could not eat. Not just one sitting but every one. We lived off salad. I have read reviews on this and response is that food plates are regularly checked. They might be but this is totally unacceptable and surely like warm/cold paella/pork is dangerous.
Bars-Not enough staff. Often queued with 7 or 8 people waiting. Cocktails were mediocre, there were no cocktail glasses but a plain pint glass with no frills *umbrellas, sparkly bits. This may appear picky but all other hotels I've been to take a little pride. There was also no waiter service in the piano bar which I'd expect in the evenings.
Pool bar-looked uninviting and never once received a smile.
Pool area. Plenty of sun beds but all places in a row with no room between so ended up moving them. Beds looked tired. Pools were very clean.

Snack bar-not much choice. Burgers/sausages and all set out in large trays. Self service drinks and no bar. Clean and pleasant though.
Location-hour or so from airport but that should be no surprise. Beach can be reached by a lift to a few shops/cafes not part of the hotel and a short walk across the road. There is also a hotel bus. We didn't walk to the town but gather it's a mile or so. The hotel is on several slopes with lots of steps. Lighting is poor in the evening getting back to rooms as they are in the grounds.
Trips-we dud the day trip Fuertuventura uncovered which was fabulous and worth doing. Our guide Bernard I think was excellent.
All in all, not bad but glad we didn't pay full price and got a last minute booking. Would I return? No and would not go to another occidental. This is the first and last all inclusive I will take in Spain/Europe. Far better service outside Europe.
Staff need a better understanding of English. I appreciate I am in their country but they are providing a service. Turkey/kenya/Vietnam have all been superior in there understanding. We were not even asked if we had a good time at checkout.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 353lynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Dear Lyn,

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

We lament hearing that the service provided at réception fell short of your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests to fully enjoy their expérience among us.

We regret your disappointment for being unable to check in upon your arrival and understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about the appointed check in time starting at 14:00 o'clock, although it should be reported on the booking confirmation; at the hotel we always do our utmost to make sure our guests can check in as soon as they arrive, unfortunately during periods of high occupancy it may not be possible considering that check out is at 12:00 and our housekeeping staff needs to undertake a thorough cleaning of the rooms before assigning them to new arrivals.

We also regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests.

We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service in bars and Buffet restaurant you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. However let me explain, that as mentioned in our website, our restaurant is a bueffet restaurant, and there is no service at the table.

We would also like to inform you that all trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

We have taken good note of your remark on the queues at times in our bar and regret reading your dissatisfaction, our barmen shifts are studied to ensure an impeccable service throughout the day and are reinforced during peak hours, nevertheless we commit to improve on this aspect of our services so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel on this occasion and for the courtesy of your time, even though we understand that this was not the best fit for your travel party, therefore we strongly encourage you for a future occasion to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to give you all the relevant information to make sure that you book the Barceló hotel that can make all your holiday wishes come true.

Kind Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018

Never got asked how the stay was so posting my review here.

Location wise around hour from airport dependent on transfer option, not direct access to beach but shuttle bus or 10 minute walk. Supermarket and shops outside of hotel.

From the hotel website its not obvious the difference between the rooms except the view. The rooms in royal level are no different to the main hotel. The rooms are dated and general maintenance is poor. Our room had loose floor tiles were, crack in ceiling, wardrobe door hanging off, air con was inefficient, tv had good selection of english channels bbc 1 & itv available the room was made up before lunch eveyday which was good.The main building has only 2 lifts which had seen better days, so got busy, the other blocks had no lifts.

The bars had long queues lunchtime and evening, only 1 member of staff serving customers, no table service. Drinks selection is good but cocktails pre made, Smirnoff & Gordons included in AI, other branded spirits bombay saphire etc AI+, cava of gd quality but wine poor, mineral water by the bottle is only available at cost at the bars unless you AI+, crisps & nuts also available.

Only 1 buffet restaurant which had queues for tables at peek times and snack bar no a la carte unless your royal level but even the menu on offer was average. Food was plentiful but cold, no themed evenings just a mixture lunch n dinner everyday so got repetitive. Unless your AI+ drinks are self service, though trying to get refill in the plus area was difficult at mealtimes again not enough staff to offer efficient service, also getting plates cleared was struggle.

The pool area had plentiful beds all in long rows but no umbrellas although covered areas at back. The tiles around the pool area are lethal especially once children running around from pool or any rain. You slip slide your way around, during our stay at least two accidents occurred during our stay.

Entertainment programme was available during day and evening, staff were friendly. Although no wet weather programme. Sun terrace bar and guest services available limited hours during day or closed. Reception had queues most of day and staff unable to make mangement desicions without going to back room. Never saw a manager all day apart from one eating in the restaurant getting 5* service.

Hotel needs a lot of money spending on it to modernise and more staff in all areas to offer higher level of service. Although royal level is better, still not as good as other hotel groups and definately not worth the extra money, I would stay at the new iberostar for the same money.

In conclusion if you don't mind a second rate hotel with poor service stay here, if you don't go elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Dear Angela,

The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review.

We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms and areas should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced. However, we do not seem to find records that our staff had been made aware of that while staying with us; naturally we would have changed you to another room.

We have taken good note of your remark on the queues at times in our restaurant and bar and regret reading your dissatisfaction, our waiters shifts are studied to ensure an impeccable service throughout the day and are reinforced during peak hours, nevertheless we commit to improve on this aspect of our services so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future.

We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision.

We understand that Jandia might not be the best location for your holidays, this is why we encourage you for a future occasion to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance to make sure you book the Barceló destination that can make all your dreams come true.

On the other hand We thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018

We spent October half term at the Occidental Jandia Playa and had a fabulous time. The hotel is large and spread out, which means it doesn't feel cramped at all. We were in block 9, the closest to the beach. The grounds are clean and well kept and there are some beautiful plants and trees to enjoy.

The 3 swimming pools are lovely and big, and there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone. We preferred the lower pool as it was quieter.

My girls, aged 12 and 9, didn't do any of the children's activities and we didn't see any of the evening entertainment either as we prefer to do our own thing.

The staff at this hotel are incredibly hard working, particularly the cleaning staff and the restaurant staff. We were all inclusive and the restaurant did get busy in the evenings, but the staff were very quick to find tables. They cleared away very quickly - a little too quickly at times!

The food was decent, with lots of choice, but it did get a bit repetitive. The snack bar was fine for getting drinks and ice creams, but the food here seemed to be the same every day. Clothes (rather than swimwear) and shoes have to be worn in the snack bar, which I think is a good thing.

The only problem we had came right at the very end as we were leaving. We had our luggage collected in the golf buggy and we walked to Reception to meet the driver. We were the last pick up as the buggy didn't have much space left. The driver got our cases in but balanced a Bag for Life on the top and our hairbrushes, toiletries etc fell out on his journey. When asked, he described all the missing items, so must have seen them fall but didn't stop to pick them up! We went to look but we didn't know which route he had taken so didn't get our things back. Frustrating, but not the end of the world.

We had a fabulous time here and it was lovely to see some sunshine at the end of October!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Myself and my 3 friends had a fantastic holiday. The food was great, there was a wide variety of drinks. The staff were brilliant, Aneta the bartender was great at keeping out glasses full. The entertainment staff (Amarius, Sophia, Richardo and Modif) were spot on! Would definitely holiday there again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank rebeccacollymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews