We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,728)
Filter reviews
7,728 results
Traveler rating
2,687
3,113
1,213
452
263
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,687
3,113
1,213
452
263
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar jandia playa golf buggy sea view the main hotel plenty of sunbeds animation team heated pool shopping centre buffet restaurant half board fish main part salad meal times main pool great holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 7,728 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Our checking was delayed with about 2 hours as the room wasn't ready yet , then when we got the key cards no instruction was given where to fallow the room itinerary I end up carring my luggage betwen sunbeds and people round the pool bit occrued.. the worse aspect of holiday was the room the block 3 avoid the room 3220 as looks after the world war 2 got the video and pictures to prove that , missing bits , blood insects all over the walls and ceilling ,big spilleage of urine on the mattress !!! not jocking , broken lights switches , very very poor cleanliness the old lady who "clean" our room start to put free bottle of water after we gave a tip and last only one day then again no free bottle of water in our fridge , the pool was alright but a bit busy , poor enterteiment and staff not very friendly cheap all inclusive soft drinks and alcohol not international , food is plenty and good quality , restaurant nice and tidy and good service , but 4 stars a bit to muck for this hotel for the infrastructure , and the pictures of rooms on website are from royal arrea where you don't have access bit tricky isni't ?? The reality a bit different ..

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 700ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Guest,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Jandia Playa hotel for your holidays in Fuerteventura and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough on this occasion, we work daily to provide the best possible service, and we do agree that you should not have had to carry your luggage, especially when travelling with young children.


We regret your disappointment for being unable to check in upon your early arrival and understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about the appointed check in time starting at 14:00, although it should be reported on the booking confirmation; at the hotel we always do our utmost to make sure our guests can check in as soon as they arrive, unfortunately during periods of high occupancy it may not be possible considering that check out is at 12:00 and our housekeeping staff needs to undertake a thorough cleaning of the rooms before assigning them to new arrivals.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the imperfections you describe in your review, all rooms reserved for new arrivals are per standard double checked by our head of housekeeping to ensure that everything is functional and spotless for our guests, clearly we were not performing to our usual standard on this occasion and we regret not being immediately informed at reception so as to be able to intervene in no time for you to fully enjoy your stay in our hotel, for a future occasion, please do not hesitate to contact the reception desk for anything you may need, the team will do its utmost to find an immediate solution for you.

We would like to apologize about your comments regarding the water in the room. This is a service inclusive, so we are very sorry that we have not been informed. For future occasion please contact the reception, the will send you strike away the bottle to the room.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of entertainment for information and improvement.


We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards
Guest experience Manager
Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel having paid all inclusive, this concept seems to have escaped them a bit as you have to pay extra for 1) pool towels 2) room safe etc. But some how the hotel managed to make us feel like a second class citizens.
The good points. I emailed the hotel before hand asking for my requests. All of which i got. The food in the restaurant is very good with a massive choice. The hotel over all is good but it escapes me how it managers to retain a 4 star rating as some of the public areas are very tired. some of them boardering on unsafe or dangerous, like the wooden bridge to the pool bar is a bit wobbley underfoot. And alot of the public paths have broken tiles and missing stones. This is a trip hazzard and i have seen two old lady's fall already and have only been here three days.
The bad points are
1) This hotel is set on a very steep hill.
2) The photos online, give the impression that the hotel is on the beach! What is not shown is, infront is a shopping centre and a road. Then the green area on the photo is a nature reserve. So you have to walk round. Or take the bus from reception.
3) The royal level idea shows you what you could have had but as second class minims you are not possibly permitted to use that.
4) The damage in our room on arrival 9219 was quite alot, too much to list but the main thing was the floor as i cut my foot on this the first night!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Client,

Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Playa, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

We sincerely regret reading that our location did not meet your expectations although it offers beach, restaurants, bars and shops all in walking distance or swift car ride, and encourage you for a future occasion to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you select the Barceló hotel that best meets your holiday needs and wishes

We understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about your All Inclusive plan upon reservation and would like to take the opportunity to point out that, as reported on our website, the All Inclusive is related to drinks, meals , snacks and the entertainment program; the towel service is available leaving only a deposit, which is returned on the day of checkout, the first change of towels is free, only subsequent changes are paid.

We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did feel attended enough on this occasion, we work daily to provide the best possible service.
We take this opportunity to inform you that the Royal Level is an area of the hotel for adults only and if customers of Occidental Jandia Playa are interested, it is possible to upgrade by paying extra. This would involve being located in the Royal side and availing the service until check out. It is not allowed to use the area for one day only because it is another Hotel, limited by availability.

We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced .

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Best regards,

Guest Experience Management
Hotel Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel having paid all inclusive, this concept seems to have escaped them a bit as you have to pay extra for 1) pool towels 2) room safe etc. But some how the hotel managed to make us feel like a second class citizens.
The good points. I emailed the hotel before hand asking for my requests. All of which i got. The food in the restaurant is very good with a massive choice. The hotel over all is good but it escapes me how it managers to retain a 4 star rating as some of the public areas are very tired. some of them boardering on unsafe or dangerous, like the wooden bridge to the pool bar is a bit wobbley underfoot. And alot of the public paths have broken tiles and missing stones. This is a trip hazzard and i have seen two old lady's fall already and have only been here three days.
The bad points are
1) This hotel is set on a very steep hill.
2) The photos online, give the impression that the hotel is on the beach! What is not shown is, infront is a shopping centre and a road. Then the green area on the photo is a nature reserve. So you have to walk round. Or take the bus from reception.
3) The royal level idea shows you what you could have had but as second class minims you are not possibly permitted to use that.
4) The damage in our room on arrival 9219 was quite alot, too much to list but the main thing was the floor as i cut my foot on this the first night!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Dear Neil, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Playa, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We sincerely regret reading that our location did not meet your expectations although it offers beach, restaurants, bars and shops all in walking distance or swift car ride, and encourage you for a future occasion to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you select the Barceló hotel that best meets your holiday needs and wishes We understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about your All Inclusive plan upon reservation and would like to take the opportunity to point out that, as reported on our website, the All Inclusive is related to drinks, meals , snacks and the entertainment program; the towel service is available leaving only a deposit, which is returned on the day of checkout, the first change of towels is free, only subsequent changes are paid. We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did feel attended enough on this occasion, we work daily to provide the best possible service. We take this opportunity to inform you that the Royal Level is an area of the hotel for adults only and if customers of Occidental Jandia Playa are interested, it is possible to upgrade by paying extra. This would involve being located in the Royal side and availing the service until check out. It is not allowed to use the area for one day only because it is another Hotel, limited by availability. We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced . Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Guest Experience Management Hotel Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days ... I can’t fault the hotel ... the Welcome at reception was efficient and as we had arrived late in even made sure we ate before booking in as Restaurant was closing.
Room is large with big comfy beds ... mini bar with water which was replaced daily ... we had a beach view on ground floor so views were amazing .

Pool areas tidy and loads of sun beds ... always managed to get one ..the pool area is large so there are quiet areas away from the daily activities.

I would stress this hotel is built on the side of a hill and a little walk from beach and main resorts so it wouldn’t be ideal for the less mobile... but it certainly kept me fit for my 10 days !!

Food in restaurant is always plentiful and lots of choices ... I’m not a big drinker but what I saw there was always plenty of wine and cocktails on offer all day ... snack bar again offered snacks from 10:30 to 6:30 with salads fruit burgers chips and drinks.

Would recommend the Fuerteventura uncovered tour .. great day with a fantastic tour guide who offered loads of knowledge of history on island with the right amount of humour .. well worth the money.

We did a quad bike tour this was ok but limited to on road due to being in national park not the ‘adrenaline junk fix’ as it was sold but as still nice to get out for resort ..

All in all fantastic holiday we would return

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Rolo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Our overall review of our stay at your resort means we are very reluctant to return.We will not be recommending your resort to any of our family or friends. As for this review needing to be two hundred letters long if I really got started I would not know when to finish

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank fredandlinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Guest,
We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one.

We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons.

Kind regards
Guest experience Manager
Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews