We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,633)
Filter reviews
7,633 results
Traveler rating
2,653
3,076
1,201
442
261
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,653
3,076
1,201
442
261
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar jandia playa golf buggy sea view the main hotel plenty of sunbeds animation team heated pool half board buffet restaurant shopping centre fish main pool salad main part great holiday meal times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 7,633 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel last week, for a week all inclusive in the superior sea view suites. We had a lovely time and the hotel itself is based in an ideal location really close to the beach and a small cluster of shops. It was only 5 - 10 mins away by car to the local town.

Our hotel room was lovely, very clean and well presented. We had a sea view from our balcony which was worth spending a little bit extra money on, as it was a beautiful view to wake up to every morning.

The choice of food and drink at the hotel was great. The food itself we found was fresh, varied and well presented. The buffet had a wide variety of food to choose from along with live cooking. Guests are welcome to help themselves to a choice of drinks along with bottles of wine/ cava and water. The house red is actually really nice!
We liked the set up of the canteen that you pretty much just find yourself a table and help yourself to food and drink. The waiting staff are very polite and friendly, they are very prompt at clearing plates and setting up tables etc.

The canteen is massive with plenty of tables inside and some outside. There is signs around the hotel letting you know when the busy times are for the canteen. I would personally avoid going at the peak times, just so you can get yourself a table of your choosing and avoid any queues etc.

My partner and I loved having a few drinks in the piano bar. The bar staff were always so lovely and again a wide variety of drink to choose from. The hotel bars can sometimes go through busy spells with some slight queuing - but nothing really major to be honest. There are many bars at the hotel. So if it is busy at one there is another not far away really. We did watch some of the hotel’s entertainment shows which can sometimes be a hit or a miss to be brutally honest, but overall good.

Overall we loved our stay here at the hotel and would probably visit again at some point.

However we do agree with the comment further down the page about a particular member of bar staff who worked at the main pool bar Sandra. She was not the most polite or warm to my partner and I or many other guests for that matter (from our observation). But I do want to say apart from that member of staff - all of the other hotel staff were so lovely, attentive and professional.

Thank you for a lovely stay at the Occidental Jandia Playa!

M

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank M777OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

A beautiful hotel near the beach with a fantastic choice of food, drink, entertainment and very polite and friendly staff. A great memorable holiday that we all enjoyed. 4G available in rooms when wi fi wouldn't connect so our 20 year old and 23 year old were happy! A visit to Oasis Park....Zoo...is highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank fiske12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jandiaplayarrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments and recommendation on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.

We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team.

We are rateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and we promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.

Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Can't fault anything about our stay at all.
- Rooms were great, had a balcony, bath/shower, air con, tea/coffee making facilities and water replenished daily, really comfortable beds.
- Variety of pools which are kept clean.
- Location of hotel great - right above shopping area and short walk to beach front and shops down the promenade. Only issue is quite far on the coach from the airport - took almost 2 1/4 hours back to the airport from the hotel.
- Entertainment not amazing, but we weren't there for that really.
- Buffet restaurant had great variety of food with lots of freshly cooked options too. Breakfast had especially great variety. Pool bar restaurant very handy too .
- Drinks on the all inclusive were amazing! Could basically get as much as you want of most spirits with a wide variety of mixers too.
All in all, great hotel and holiday - maybe not so great for those who cannot walk far as lots of steps, but fantastic for the majority of people.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Love this hotel. The service is great. All nice, kind, polite and friendly. We came here to relax and exactly that is what we received here. There is a small supermarket just under the hotel so if we missed or forgot anything we needed, we just bought it there. Everything else was in the hotel and the beach was also only a few minutes walking distance away. We will come to stay again at this hotel. It was such a nice relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank sajasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

We love this hotel so much that we keep going back. The staff are so friendly and the level of customer service is always of a high standard. The changes to the restaurant worked well and the extra poolside entertainment was great fun. Been back 2 days and have already booked for next year. We cannot wait to get back

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews