We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,657)
Filter reviews
7,657 results
Traveler rating
2,664
3,084
1,202
445
262
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,664
3,084
1,202
445
262
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar jandia playa golf buggy sea view the main hotel plenty of sunbeds animation team heated pool half board buffet restaurant shopping centre fish main pool salad main part great holiday meal times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 7,657 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018

Me and my partner stayed here during the first week of June, we had a lovely time and would definitely return. We arrived after dinner service but the restaurant was left open for us which was very kind of them. Our room was lovely, great size, comfy bed and big bathroom with everything you need. We were ground floor and had an ocean view (I think most rooms will have the same) really beautiful.

Hotel grounds are very clean and tidy, staff are friendly and helpful. The pools are lovely and clean (not sure what some reviews on here are talking about). Yes the pools are cold but the country is hot - what do you want, a bath? Refreshing. Plenty of sun beds and lots of rooms, one of my fav aspects, lots of space and privacy for relaxing. The restaurant is nice, food is OK. After around 4 days we got a bit bored but it was good enough. Snack bar was convenient though food was often cool (pizza was best). TIP; go for dinner at 19:00 when it opens, food is hot. Best thing was drinks, a cold coke whenever we wanted was very refreshing. Strong alcoholic drinks too, they DO NOT water these ones down... Piano bar is a great place to sit, get there early to guarantee a seat though.

As a bonus, reception offered us a complimentary room for half hour on the day we left to shower etc. as we had a late flight - that was a nice touch. Overall this is a great hotel and is on our list for a guaranteed sunny break with everything you need!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJMeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

We booked through teletext holidays. Hotel clean and food very good quality.
Didn’t have to fight for a sunbed! Liked the choice of being able to get a bottle of wine at lunch/dinner.
Not ideal for those guests who struggle with stairs as there are quite a lot to get to and from reception and a walk downhill to the beach.
The heated pool was quite dirty so our kids didn’t use this one. Other 2 were fine. The foam party was good fun but got very very slippery on the floor after.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Seahorse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

The hotel is big but easy to get around
The rooms were clean and towel were changed everyday
The food was nice always plenty out even if it was 10 mins before closing they were still putting fresh food out
The swimming pools were nice maybe a little cold but some days in the heat it really helped
Staff were all friendly and spoke to you

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank sharontQ6099TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We really enjoyed this holiday. The variety of food was good, there was free wi-fi everywhere in the hotel, a well equipped gym, and easy access to the beach. A few families were reserving sunbeds early in the morning (which is apparently not allowed), but not many. We were always able to find a place if we wanted to sit by one of the pools.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank HangNail999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We were swapped to this hotel as Magic Life was being refurbished, all i can say is never again,
This hotel is dated needs a refurbishment itself. To go from one standard to a lower standard for you annual holiday is disheartening. We are disappointed in First Choices pick of hotels for us.
The pool was filthy and never saw anyone clean the pool nor the area.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank suehugheshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear Guest,

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.

Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for Occidental and we follow very strict protocols to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness in our hotels, for future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in the event of finding any area of uncleanliness, this will give us an opportunity to bring your remarks to the attention of our housekeeping management.

We want to thank you for the advice about the refurbishment and we do apologize for the problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all areas should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced.

Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Occidental Jandia Playa****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews