We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so isolated anymore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Pajara
spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not so isolated anymore”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I returned to this hotel after 15 years, "work" meeting. Originally, a Sol hotel now it has the Melia level. Complete renovation and extension. The beach is as magnificent as 15 years ago. The installations are quite well kept and the hotel is very comfortable. Due to is location and the use of the landscape into its architecture, the reception and main lobby are in floor 4, you have to go down to floor for the pool, restaurants and access to the beach; you can imagine, elevators are very busy; I opted to use the stairs all the time.
I stayed in one of the Casas de Mar, this are very nice studios (4 blocks) facing the beach, all of them with views to the see. Large bathrooms, spacious sleeping area and a small living/kitchenette area. Nice balcony (it is not a smoke free property but non-smoking rooms, so a lot of people smoking on the balconies). Air conditioning needed due to humidity, but very weak. These casas are detached from the hotel, the furthest rooms are about 4-5 min walk.
I would recommend block 1 or 2, 2nd floor.

Internet connection (wifi) available for a fee (waived if you have or register for the Melia Rewards card), 24 hour (real connection time) coupons are provided at reception. Some casas del mar have access to internet, some others (like mine) don't. Pool and main lobby area have good access.

I opted for the all inclusive package, but not the LEVEL one. There are two restaurants, one is exclusive for the LEVEL. Food in general was very good and with several options, I love papas arrugadas with mojo picón; fruit was OK but I would have expected better.

Drinks are included, including alcoholic (some specialties are not, strange enough, mojitos were not included) but the all-inclusive in bars stops 1 hour before closing time. You are asked to sign for drinks (any kind); probably for statistics

Parking is an issue.

As I mentioned, the trip was for a business meeting. The meeting facilities (one room in a lower floor) are poor, exclusive internet access, but weak signal. Air conditioning issues and the fact that you have to exit the hotel main building to go to the lower floor to access the meeting room made it a little bit uncomfortable, specially because it was raining (yes, raining for two days).

15 years ago this hotel was one of the few options in Fuerteventura; now there are magnificent resorts all around the island. This hotel is still away from the main fuzz but with a tourist complex just 3 kms away.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Casas del Mar, choose block 1 or 2. Ask for a second floor room for any of the bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acisclo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    1,071
    476
    197
    156
See reviews for
900
1,446
125
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here mainly for its location next to Sotovento beach and the windsurf centre at Rene Egli centre.
The hotel itself was busy but the service was good and the staff very helpful.
There was a good kids club and evening entertainment for the kids.

Room Tip: I preferred the sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKay1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meilen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have rarely experienced such an unengaged customer service. Most staff (there are few exceptions) look like they rather prefer not to deal with the customer. Check-in (4 parties in front of me) took more than 30 minutes. Asking for a nice room they sent me up with a key to check for myself. To get the free internet access, you have to get a ticket every day anew at front office. And you have to queue for it. One way to speed it up, is to lean over the counter and pick your new code yourself. If you happen to be in the room during the day, you may hear some loud trash metal used for the aqua gym with customer certainly above 60 years of age. I saw many people around the pool walking away and shaking heads. In the evening I heard comments in the elevator. This gives an idea of how much energy some staff invest in understanding the customers wants and needs. The food is correct but quickly boring and rather repetitive. Very little positive to say but that the renovated rooms (and only those) are about OK. Oh yes, that massage I had, was one of the worst ever - and I love massages and had some all around the world.

If you go for surfing or kite surfing at the Egli center and just need a close by place to stay, this hotel might be OK. But go with low expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms. The Level is not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoTravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel on many occasion's and would recommend anyone looking for a relaxing beach holiday, the staff are very welcoming and helpful there is a varied menu with many choices available each meal time

Room Tip: rooms facing sotavento beach benefit from setting sun extending the ability to enjoy the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank will l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is very good, we stayed here already 4 times. We prefer staying in the hotel part rather than the Casas del Mar which are self contained apartments, slightly separate and ideal for families with children. The location is the best part - unobstructed sea views and white sand. If you can afford it, ask for a room with sea view.
The buffet has plenty of choice and the food is good. Staff are friendly and willing to help, for example when we asked, they upgraded us to the sea view room twice without extra charge.
It can be a bit crowded within the hotel swimming pool area but if you like beach and sea, then you'll be fine as the hotel is right on the beach and after you see the beach, that's where you'll spend your time! Beautiful.
Not ideal if you like very busy places with lots to do, as there isn't much to do here but if you came for the windsurfing, kitesurfing and/or beach, then this is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaTeixeira16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

To be honest, I was shocked about how terrible mass tourism nowadays can be!
This hotel is just huge, it is noisy inside the hotel, it s noisy in the restaurant, it is noisy by the pool - if you want to relax or spend a quiet holiday, you must avoid this place. Around lunch time you feel like in a luna park. Hundreds of guests are stressing around, there are very few elevators and you can wait an eternity to catch one. They seem to save aircondition, because when we were there in august 2013 we measured 29 degrees in the public areas... No further comments, I just found it a dreadful place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel last week of August. 4 adults my son 3 and my daughter 8 months old. We have been looking forward to this break and to stay at this hotel for a long time, and perhaps depends the "grade" of your booking the treatment is different, which in certain way is acceptable. We booked stay, breakfast and dinner pack. From the moment we have arrived everything is an add-on and costs you money.
From the moment we have arrived it was notorious that the hotel lacks maintenance, and that is visible on loose floors, humidity on the walls and an a/c that does not fully work.
The first day was ok as everything was new for us, we were on a holliday mood and did not play too much attention to obvious things.

NEGATIVE ASPECTS:
- lack of maintenance
- Cleanning is very bad. the restaurant thats erves breakfast, lunch and dinner (it's a very busy restaurant) has had the same towels on the tables during the 7 days we stayed. It is riduculous but on the 3rd day we have eaten on the same table we had on the first night and under the table was still there the yougurt and lid that my little baby dropped. A bit more yellow and mouldy by now.... waiters just pass a cloth over the table and ready for the next! what goes under the table cannot be seen.
- during 7 days the beds linen was never changed, neither the towels! is this a 4 start service! I am full geared up with the environment, but 7 days is a bit too much!
- Having small children the hotel needs to improve more on safety! windows floor to ceiling that open outwards without any key lock! on the 4th floor! staircases/ramps without hand rails or visible marks.
- The swimming pool edges are EXTREMLY DANGEROUS and you badly hurt yourself if you touch it, I understand it should be anti-slip but not made of vulcanic sharp rock and on the kids pool!
- Whatch out for loose pool tiles! they might cut your feet
- the climatized pool is nice and the salty water lake too, but do use swimming gogles
- Why are all sun beds reserved by guests when signs say they cannot be! Why staff sees it everyday and does nothing! a bit unpleasant when you have kids and come down early to see all sunbeds reserved by guests that come down at 12:00 or never come?
- I understand is a busy hotel and maids are busy cleaning rooms but the floor cleaning is only made where the mop passesfrom the window walking back to the door leaving a trail of hairsand and our balcony was never cleaned during the entire stay. One day at loby area we could witness how with only one dip in the mop bucket the entire floor was cleanned! Potable water is hard to find in Fuerteventura, but this is not espected to be this way not even in a back packer house.
- the food is OK but becomes repetitive if you stay mre than 3 days and quality could be improved, but acceptable.
- when you arrive at the restaurant be prepared to have the waiters all over you to sell you drinks, even before you sit down or know what you are going to eat! once eating never loose sight of your plate or drop a knife because if you do so your plate is gone! if this happens to you don't look fot it, just look at waht is left otherwise they remove the rest of your stuff to be cleanned! whished the staff was more focused in cleaning the table towles and floors after the service.
- Our bed mattress was terrible, and perhps as old as the hotel. could not sleep well the entire stay.
- The amount of ants in the room was worrying with a baby sleeping almost at floor level! understand it's a resort but were is the pest control?
- You have to pay for INTERNET, even in public areas? hey! for the price we pay and the times we live on this should be revised!
- FF&E is old and lacks care. doors at bathroom are so swollen that we must push them to close.


POSITIVE:
- The hotel has 2 convenience stores that come really handy, although a bit overpriced. the one on the reception floor is more affordable but does not have too much choice regarding food and snaks as the one on the ground floor.
- There are 2 RENE EGLI shops with nice stuff
- The hotel provides music shows and entretainement for the kids ar night wich is great as there is nothing around the hotel for miles, unless you have rented a car.
- Proximity to the beach
- The staff is friendly but don't go further than what is the minimum smile and greeting.
- Leaving the hotel

In general the poor comments are due to a extremly lack of maintenance of this old hotel that is due a full renovation and safety improvements. The management could be more on top of the operational items that cannot be resolved with a coat of paint such as cleaning of outlets, sun beds reserved by the pools.

Room Tip: Ask to check the room before you enter and ask questions regarding cleaning, frequency, what is done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
7.5 mi away
No photo provided
3.1 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
8.5 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
29.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,419 reviews
1.0 mi away
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
#4 of 26 in Costa Calma
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura

Property: Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Address: Playa Barca S/N | Fuerteventura, 35627, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Pajara
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pajara
#19 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Melia Gorriones is located in the south of Fuerteventura on Sotavento beach, which is listed as a protected natural area and where sand dunes extend over 30 km to the end of the Jandia Peninsula. The famous Rene Egli centre, the largest windsurfing and kiteboarding school in the world, provides courses and hires out windsurf boards and kiteboards right on the beach in the lagoon opposite the hotel. Amongst the facilities and services, Melia Gorriones has WiFi Internet in the hotel lobby, 1 children´s pool and 2 adult pools including a spectacular saltwater lagoon-style pool measuring 1,455sqm, spacious dining areas, playground, 24 hour gym, 1 tennis court and 1 paddle tennis court, large gardens, Spa, and an astronomical observatory. Choose The Level with exclusive access to The Level Lounge, private breakfast area and sun terrace with two whirlpools, as well as superior services and facilities in your room including pillow menu, bathrobes and free minibar with soft drinks, water and beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Gorriones Hotel Pajara
Melia Hotel Gorriones
Melia Hotel Pajara
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing