We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Level”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Pajara
Reviewed April 16, 2012

First of all, we are a couple of 28 and 30 years old. This was our first all-inclusive vacation, purely aimed at relaxing after a few months of hard work. We chose Fuerteventura over other destinations in reason of weather conditions and stable political situation. We stayed there April 8 to April 15 2012.

There is a 1 hour transfer from the airport by Minibus (we booked via TUI).

We booked the Level-services and got a room on the 7th floor (out of 9).

The hotel-lobby as well as the entire building are typical for this region of the world, I would generally say that the 4-star rating is slightly overdone. Typical of the Melia-chain is the attractive design of the lobby and the bar.

The Level includes a personalised welcome, a special room on the same floor as the reception featuring a JURA coffee machine as well as snacks and free Internet. The room was OK for the price, the bathroom was rather smelly even though the cleaning lady did a good job. Beds were surprisingly good and the view of the lagoon was impressive. The room was located away from the bar/restaurant terraces, no problems with noise at night.

The large swimming pool was very cold (salt water) and you needed to get up very early in order to reserve a seat by the pool unless…you booked the Level, which included a large area with drinks and snacks (again) as well as two hot tubs. We appreciated this a lot as we don’t like “fighting” for a spot to sunbathe.

As to food and beverages, due to high occupancy of the hotel a second restaurant (OASIS) was reserved for Level guests for dinner, featuring a nice terrace by the pool. The food was OK but everything tasted the same, every day. The waiters were very nice and efficient, the choice of wines (all-inclusive) was good.
The last evening, they closed this second restaurant, and we needed to eat at the big restaurant/cantine. Honestly, we were shocked! Loud, warm, smelly huge seating areas with cold food and need to fight to get something to eat. I don’t think we would have stayed for the whole week at this hotel if we had to do this every night. The only good this is that they have a small terrace with (supposingly) priority access with the Level.
The choice of beverages at the bar is excellent with the Level but it would not pay 14,50 € for a gin-tonic...

Shows at night play at 21.30 and were of very low quality, except a magician show that was entertaining.

The clientele is 80 % Germans, 10 % British, 5 % French, 5 % mixed.

Beware of the long walk to Jandia and back, which took us 7 hours. We are in good shape but walking in the sand, climbing over rocks, against the wind is more tiring than we thought.

Please bear in mind that there ist NOTHING around the hotel except the René Egli Surf and Kite School, unless you walk for one hour. We rented a 4x4 for a day and had a lot of fun on the many dirt roads discovering the "other" side of Fuerteventura.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 3,336 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for some 'get away from it all' winter sun! Spent a week here in March and it totally recharged my batteries. Food very good, and a wide variety. The waiting staff are excellent and you never wait to get a drink. Room was very nice. We upgraded to a sea view room but would probably wait and see what we was given if we had the chance again before paying the extra 18 euros a night for the seaview. It was worth it though. I would say though that there is a struggle to get a bed in a decent spot around the pool if you don't get your towel on one early, however if you are not too fussed about laying around the pool then there is miles and miles of beautiful beach to laze on instead. The hotel is aimed at german tourists but we didn't feel treated any differently being an english couple there. The children's entertainer was very good and had the kids all dancing. (We don't actually have any children but we watched the children's disco a couple of nights and it was quite amusing as he gets the parents involved!) Evening shows in the fun pub are also good. There isnt an awful lot to do in the resort - just a few shopping centres and a couple of restaurants but worth a walk to get some mags/souveniers. I recommend a walk along the beach to Jandia - took a good few hours about 16km but worth it. You can get a bus back. Half way along the walk is a beautiful lagoon. We also went to the capital by bus one day but to be honest it isn't really worth the two hours by bus it took to get there. There is a very good shopping centre there though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvparis28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Big family group of eleven from 77 to 7 celebrating birthday and gold wedding. Staff very helpful and kind when trying to teach us some spanish. Food varied and in plenty. Good cleaning of rooms but some cockroaches in ground floor rooms. Breathtaking surroundings with sand and water depth changing in the lagoon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nils a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Young couple who had an amazinly chilled holiday. Stunning hotel, magical out of this world beach (to rival Whitsundays in Australia!!), cracking views from balconey of 3 miles of powder white sand and aqua grreny blue waters, clean rooms, good choice of fresh food (steaks and fish cooked to order) and nice staff. massive main pool, and 2 other ones to choose from too. daily classes like yoga and spin were brilliant. 30min walk along beach to nearest small town costa calma. great surf club there, lessons were great. kiteboarding and windsurfing lessons available too. 15 min taxi ride to Jandia, bigger town with shops/bars etc and another cracking beach. Pretty windy on parts of the beach thats leads down from the hotel, but its easy to find sheltered areas under the palm trees. Mostly a German (and in parts a nudist) resort but don't let the nudity deter you from the absolute hidden gem of the canary islands. Will definately be back!!

Room Tip: sixth floor with south facing sea views means you gte the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We went to this hotel for 3 weeks. First of all this hotel is aimed at German tourists. Room was ok. Internet available only in reception area, where in whole area only one electric socket was in working order others were like someone pulled them from position in anger. Staff was not helpfully at all, there were two girls at reception who were helpful. All instruction for Internet login were in Spanish and tough life if don't know it.
This hotel is not suitable for families with children. Intertainment in the evening was only 30min and it was sluggishly done.

It is a brilliant spot for kitesurfing especially if you have own kite as the hire rates in sport club were very high.
Instructors would not make a move to help you untill paid time started. If you did not have windy days then you would have to spend all lessons money in their shop as no refund given. So if you planning to have lessons pay in the morning if there is wind.

Stayed: April 2011
6  Thank Woodlandbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

we were in a party of two couples, hotel had stunning views, rooms were up to standard, but patio doors were not sealed correctly so when it was really windy you could hear the wind howling. The hotel is geared for Germans and Russians hardly any english speaking staff, we were on an all inclusive package, breakfast was fine, lunch was ok but the hot plates in the oasis Restuarant were not working properly so some foods eg cassoroles or pasta were quite often cold, dinner was in the main restuarant but food choice was virtually the same as lunchtime, after 14 days we were all fed up with veal, pork or fish. On the second floor and first floor we saw cockroaches in passageway but not too many. The hotel is in a lovely setting and pool areas really nice, hotel entertainment was good but the adult bar soon got crowded as too cold to sit on outside terrace. We did eat out twice to releive the monotomy of the food but taxi to Jandia abit expensive if only two travelling as there are no bus services in the evening from hotel. Although we had a good holiday we would not go there again, especially as some of the german children were very rude and some of the adults as well.

Room Tip: a room overlooking pool above oasis restuarant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosemary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

It's a week since we returned from our holiday to this hotel on Fuerteventura. It's a great location for getting away from it all, relaxing and soaking up the sunshine. The hotel is very clean and mostly very well run. I've written my review in sections, so you don't have to plough through the whole lot.

FOOD

We found the food varied and very tasty. There was always plenty to choose from, and pre-cooked meats and fish or the option to have these cooked to order. Obviously at peak times there may be one or two people ahead of you, but you're on holiday - what's the rush? On a number of lunchtimes I enjoyed freshly cooked fish and baby squid with a beautiful salad and fresh bread. I also very much enjoyed sitting outside at breakfast time with a freshly cooked omelette - you certainly won't go hungry.

DRINK

I had been concerned from past reviews that the all-inclusive drinks menu was somewhat limited, however we were pleased to find that full bottles of red, white and rose wine were available at lunch and dinner times, and also beer, spirits, cocktails and soft drinks. The only restriction seemed to be that liqueurs were not available at the outside bar. Our 'usual' became 'Cuba Libre' - white rum and cola. :-)

WEATHER

We had sunshine every day (early March) and on the day we arrived the wind was very strong indeed. I'm glad to say it wasn't nearly as strong on the other days, however there is usually a breeze and it can be quite a cool one. Find a sheltered spot and it's roasting.

There are 3 swimming pools, the main one is salt water so bring your goggles if you like to go under the surface, as some said it made their eyes sting. Hotel towels are available with the card given to you at check-in.

ROOM

Our room (670) was excellent. It was a standard sea-view room and was nicely furnished, made up every day with fresh towels if wanted. The balcony was a good size, with two sun beds, a small table and retractable drying lines.
The bathroom had a magnifying mirror as well as other large mirrors, a shower and bath and built-in hairdryer, so no need to pack one of those. Also power point in the bathroom.
The bed was 2 twins pushed together, but made up separately. Not a problem except I did fall down between them at one point and have to be rescued by my husband!
There's a dressing table with its own light and drawer space, a desk with chair, a large flat-screen TV (but not many english channels), a fridge, settee and bedside tables. Also a large mirrored wardrobe with hangers provided, air conditioning and a safe. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, so if you like an early morning brew you'll need to take your own travel kettle.

STAFF

All the staff were friendly and helpful, if I have one complaint it's that having arrived at 1pm, our room was not yet available and the check-in staff were very slow and spoke to one another about our reservation in spanish, meaning we stood there for around 15-20 minutes not having a clue what was going on.

MOSQUITOS

Having read reviews, I went armed with a plug-in mosquito repellent and spray. I wish I had also taken a mosquito net and bite cream as we did get bitten quite severely and the bites drove us dippy for several days and even after we got home. It didn't spoil the holiday but it wasn't fun.

OTHER GUESTS

The majority of guests at the Melia Gorriones are German, and live up to their reputation of reserving sunbeds, bless them. But there are plenty of sunbeds, and it's a case of you can't beat them, so you may as well join them.

SURROUNDING AREA

The hotel stands alone on a massive beach, so you have plenty of space to roam. If you're taking children to play on the sand, bear in mind that some of the pools are very inviting but suck your feet in quickly so be careful. There are also nudists on the beach, but don't get too excited as the ones we saw were all over 70.
There is a market in Costa Calma on Wednesday and Sunday, we got the bus from outside the hotel which cost €1.20 pp each way. Reception can give you a timetable. Get back on the bus where it drops you off.
The market seems to be from the nearby coastline of Africa, selling leather goods, jewellery and wooden carvings. I had expected a spanish traditional market. Once you've seen the first four stalls, you've kind of seen them all.

ENTERTAINMENT

There was entertainment to be had every evening in the Fun Pub, which contrary to it's name turned out to be quite a smart venue with comfortable seating, dance floor and stage. We saw a Four Tops tribute band, some Argentinian traditional dancing, a magic act and a Donna Summer tribute (tenuous link there). We were glad not to have to sit through an hour of bingo and a tiny-tots disco beforehand, although I don't know what goes on peak-season. We did see the Yabba Dabba Doo children's club and pool, but it wasn't open as there were hardly any children there at the time.
There was some kind of music being played in the reception area bar every night until quite late, which was also broadcast to the empty terrace area, as a consequence we could hear it in our room. I think you could request a quieter room if you think this will be a problem for you.

EXTRAS

Wi-fi is available, but is restricted to the reception area and bar, and costs €35 for the week. For this money, it's a shame access is not available in rooms or around the pool. However, one access code can be used on as many devices as you like, so share amongst your party or if you're really savvy, go halves with another family :-)

On the photographs, you will have seen the luxurious Balinese beds, jacuzzis etc. Be aware that these either cost extra to use or are part of the upgrade to The Level, and as such NOT INCLUDED in your 'all inclusive' package. The outdoor terrace with the mosaic seating and beds is not open during the day, and we found it too chilly (and mosquito-risky) to go out there in the evening. We never saw anyone sitting out there at all, other than a few smokers up at the bar.
There is a tennis court and other activities are also available, but as I wasn't interested in any of them I can tell you no more, other than there is an extra charge for them.

All in all, I had the holiday I wanted. I read 3 books, laid around all day in the sunshine eating and drinking, with no stress or worries.

Room Tip: Decide whether you need quiet before midnight, and request your room accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank smitchell999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pajara
7.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
3.1 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
7.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
591 reviews
7.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#18 of 73 in Pajara
5,561 reviews
29.8 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
5,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura

Address: Playa Barca S/N | Fuerteventura, 35627, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Pajara
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pajara
#20 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range: $117 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Melia Gorriones is located in the south of Fuerteventura on Sotavento beach, which is listed as a protected natural area and where sand dunes extend over 30 km to the end of the Jandia Peninsula. The famous Rene Egli centre, the largest windsurfing and kiteboarding school in the world, provides courses and hires out windsurf boards and kiteboards right on the beach in the lagoon opposite the hotel. Amongst the facilities and services, Melia Gorriones has WiFi Internet in the hotel lobby, 1 children´s pool and 2 adult pools including a spectacular saltwater lagoon-style pool measuring 1,455sqm, spacious dining areas, playground, 24 hour gym, 1 tennis court and 1 paddle tennis court, large gardens, Spa, and an astronomical observatory. Choose The Level with exclusive access to The Level Lounge, private breakfast area and sun terrace with two whirlpools, as well as superior services and facilities in your room including pillow menu, bathrobes and free minibar with soft drinks, water and beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Gorriones Hotel Pajara
Melia Hotel Gorriones
Melia Hotel Pajara
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing