We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Massa Martana
Certificate of Excellence
Maldegem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
“Like a dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our arrival at the Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque was as a dream. The owner gave us a little tour and we fell from one amazement to the other.
The personnel is really friendly and they helped everywhere they could. The facilities that we used were amazing, we used the mountain bikes, the swimming pool and the tennis court.
Our stay was really relaxing, the rooms were big and the Wifi was of very good quality.
The hotel has also a really good restaurant where we ate three times and every time it was good.
If we are in the neighbourhood again in the upcoming years we would definitely go back to San Pietro Sopra le Acque!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bieke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    87
    16
    13
    2
See reviews for
31
197
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey and Molise
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I just enjoyed a four-day stay at Residenza San Pietro on the recommendation of an American professor we know who has led an annual archaeological program for the past six years at a nearby Roman site along the Via Flaminia. The restored monastery is simply beautiful, everything is tastefully done wherever you look, the bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, the site and view are marvelous, the restaurant offers excellent food and a wide variety of fine wines at fair prices, and every member of the staff with whom we interacted was as friendly and helpful as anyone could hope. Not to mention the beautiful outdoor swimming pool and the gorgeous indoor spa with huge warm pool, sauna, steam room, and more. We are already planning our next stay there right after New Year's in January. We know we will find reasons to stay at San Pietro a few times a year for as long as we have a home here in Italy.

Room Tip: The sleeping rooms are all on the second floor. Depending on what's most important to you, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillKnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this property with colleagues for a few days during a business trip in the area. The location is very picturesque and hotel was converted from an old monastery that maintained many of the old world charms with modern amenities. From arrival to departure all of the staff was very friendly and accommodating. In particular the general manager ensured that we enjoyed our visit to the Umbria region and went out of his to arrange restaurant reservations and visits to Olive farms during our spare time. The food of the restaurant was very good. On the last night of our stay our regular waitress, Shayla organised a special meal for us with wine to ensure we had a memorable evening to cap off our stay. I will certainly be back again and would highly recommend the San Pietro to anyone visiting the Umbria region.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the valley. The configurations of the rooms are all different and have their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmuseBouches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

San Pietro Sopra le Acque is a nice hotel at a nice location (old monastery which was well transformed into hotel): spacious rooms with wonderful and clean bathrooms and a nice relaxing swimmingpool in an old park with many high trees (drawback: shade in early evening hours on the pool). Hotel personnel is very friendly and willing to give you a pleasant stay at the hotel
BUT
the food at diner in halfboard was terrible and most of the products at breakfast were expired! We were almost the only guests which we find strange for July, a summer holiday month... At the other side, luckely we were almost the only guests because at the swimmingpool there were only 10 sunbeds and 4 sunshades for 15 rooms. Furthermore, not all accomodations were well-maintained and available, e.g. golf.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fox14_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Unfortunately I did not stay at the San Pietro but had lunch for many times during a business trip to Massa Martana. The atmosphere of the restaurant is very nice. The waiters can speak fluent English and are very willing to help. Both the taste and the presentation of the dishes were perfect and I was very happy about the wines of the house. I would strongly suggest the readers to have a lunch here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

San Pietro sopra le Acque

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for one night, making use of the Smartbox gift package.

The hotel is hosted in the building of an old abbey, and the owner has done a beautiful job making it a four star hotel. It is not that easy to find, and the telephonic instruction from the hotel reception helped a lot.
Ours was a standard room, very comfortable, plenty of space in the wardrobe, two chairs and two nightstands. The room also offered complimentary satellite TV.
We had dinner in the restaurant: it was a wonderful experience – the menu offers regional specialties (with typical regional ingredients) from Umbria, they were outstanding. The selection of Christmas (home-made) sweets was delicious, in particular panettone and torrone di pistacchio.
Staff very polite and eager to advise and explain.
Breakfast was abundant and of great quality, plenty of fruit and yogurts as well, all very smartly stacked in the old cupboard.
The surroundings look amazing, very green, and definitely we will come back in the warmer season.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Myself and my husband got married in San Pietro recently and it really was a fantastic weekend. San Pietro is a beautifully restored monastery perched on an Umbrian hillside and we immediately fell in love with it when visiting last January, while hunting for the perfect wedding venue. Both before and during the wedding, Diego, the owner and all the staff looked after our every need and were friendly and polite in doing so. We found this venue particularly suitable for our medium size wedding as the church and facilities are all within a very short distance of each other which makes for a flowing, hasslefree and fun day and night. Outside of the wedding, I must say that we'd highly recommend San Pietro for couples and families....luxurious bedrooms, immaculate spa, rolling gardens, forested walkways, swimming pool, tennis courts etc provide a lot of options for your break. Food is delicious and there are any number of big bodied Umbrian reds to wash it down with. If I had one recommendation, it would be that the bar area is attended more frequently as we and some guests had to go to the kitchen or reception to look for snacks and drinks during 'non breakfast, lunch and dinner slots'. Overall, I'd highly recommend San Pietro to all - enjoy :-)

Room Tip: Junior suites are generally split level and more luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCorkClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Martana
2.5 mi away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
11.4 mi away
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
#1 of 1 in Camporoppolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
21.2 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Valle di Assisi
Valle di Assisi
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
21.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
23.7 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque

Property: Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque
Address: Vocabolo Capertame 533, 06056 Massa Martana, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Massa Martana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Massa Martana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residenza San Pietro Sopra Le Acque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing