We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Juma but”
Review of Juma Amazon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Juma Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
wales
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“wonderful Juma but”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

To walk in the rain forest when it's pouring, to catch and eat Piranha fish, to marvel at Pink River Dolphins and Caymans and Howler and Capuchin monkeys and Cardinals and Kingfishers and Toucans and Tarantulas; it was all just fabulous and the place too and especially our guides Leon and Matteus. Lovely beds and hammocks but watch out for the runs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timjanewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    63
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
90
143
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Nestled in the Amazon jungle this amazing lodge was one of the best experiences I have ever had.

You travel by speed boat from the nearest city through the jungle where you get to see all kinds of wildlife, then, in the distance you see these amazing buildings on an island on stilts.

I had one of the lakeside lodges, it had a double bed, a shower and a balcony with a hammock, table and chairs. the whole lodge is link by high walk ways and it was like being in the Ewake village from star wars.

when you arrived at the hotel you were group up with other guests and looked after by a local guide, who ate with you and took you on all your excursions.

While there I fished for piranha, saw the sun rise over the jungle, walked through the jungle and made friends with two orphan monkey's who lived at the hotel.

I can not recommend this place more highly. You will read reviews about lots of bugs, well Dah! you are in a jungle, about the cold showers, but as it doesn't dip much bellow 20 degrees at night, so a cold shower is a welcome sight, and some people didn't like the food, I thought is was amazing!

Room Tip: Lake side as they have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Fantastic, amazing, magical, wonderful, beautiful, stunning! I ran out of adjectives by the second day there. Absolutely everything about this trip was perfect. Special shout-outs to Cida, the owner who gave me an upgrade to a lakefront bungalow for my birthday; Nilsao, my guide; Jonilson (?), expert piloto and piranha fisherman; Matheus, my friend forever; Leon, another helpful guide; and Fabio, my main man in the kitchen who took care of my vegetarian meals and hooked up my surprise birthday cake!

The only thing you need to know is that the main office in Manaus is very slow on answering questions and confirming reservations. All of the other people at the lodge complained about this as well. So be patient and persistent when getting your stay organized. Once you are there, it's magic all the way!

I did a lot of comparison shopping before choosing this Lodge. In my opinion, Juma offers the best value for the price. The price is all inclusive, from airport transfers to meals and snacks, to all of the adventure excursions. In the end, it's not very expensive at all, especially considering that you will have an experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sadakne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is one of the most memorable excursions I have ever been on! Juma lodge lived up to all the expectations; the lodge itself is beautifully kept with a focus on sustainability, it is very remote and seamlessly blends into the surroundings, and the jungle comes alive around you! The daily activities are engaging, guides are knowledgeable/fun, and the food is excellent.

We were there for two nights and felt comfortable at all times. The transportation is also very well organized, from pick up in Manaus, to drop off at the airport, everything ran very smoothly.

Room Tip: definitely stay in the private hut rooms - they are not connected to another room and offer a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andreeadascalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

There are a lot of positive things about this lodge. The bungalows are gorgeous, very well maintained, very clean and you sleep really comfortable. A friend of us recommended this place and we trusted her. We could have had a great stay, but our guide was a nightmare! Matheus was his name and he had very very little english knowledge. We has learnt all the standard texts about the trips, animals etc. But if you wanted to ask him additional questions, simply because you are interested in the amazonian culture, he was not able to understand or to answer. We seemed to be pissed when you asked him too many questions and he got really rude. There was no manager speaking english. Only the guide. The group of people for activities are huge! we have been 13 persons out for the jungle trek. Imagine 13 people walking in the jungle. Of course it was not possible to see any animals. everyone was walking after each other and the last persons couldn't hear any of Matheus explanations. I have read in some review comments from the management, that they make groups of max. 8 people. This is just a lie! We asked for a private guide and were willing to pay whatever they have asked us. But there was no guide available. Only 1 English speaking person for 13 people.
It's been really a pity because the lodge itself is really nice. I don't think a local guide would cost that much money and with more guides available they could easily turn the lodge into a very special place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbaraR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Proprietário at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear BarbaraR_11

Thank you for your review.

It was a surprise for us your comments about Matheus. Most of our clients love him. He knows a lot about the Amazon Rainforest and loves what he does. He is a shy guy, so maybe you tought that he didn't want to answer you. We spoke with him about your review and he is speaking more now, trying to be less shy.

Unfortunately Nilson, one of our guides, got sick during your stay. So we had to put two groups together. We always work with up to ten people in a group, this was an exception.

Cida, our manager and my partner, is improving her skills in english. And we also hired another person, Tarcisio, to help her at the lodge. And he speaks a good English.

Sincerely,

Caio Fonseca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The lodge comprises a series of thatched bungalow/lodges and a dining room on stilts, right on the edge of the river. The rooms are well spaced and each has a private balcony with seating and a hammock. The room was large, had a large bed and had a good shower room. It was great to be amongst the trees – to look out for birds, monkeys and dolphins in the day and listen to the insects at night. There was no refrigerator or aircon unit but we accepted this as being in the middle of the rain forest.

The staff were attentive and friendly and the trips offered were very good. We stayed for 3 nights and did 2 jungle treks, piranha fishing, canoeing, river swimming, cayman spotting, a visit to a plantation and sunrise on the river. All were good though it depends on the group size what you might see during the trips. The guided trips are cyclic so any longer than 3 nights and we might have found ourselves doing the same trips again.

The food was good and provided on a buffet style in a central dining area. It is worth topping up your water bottles at meal times, to save buying bottled water during the day. There was a bar with inside and outside seating but we found that few people used this after dark and so it lacked atmosphere. Occasionally there was tea/coffee during the afternoon but it was usually after trips and we felt that it would have been nice to have the option each afternoon.

A long journey out from Manuas by ferry, minibus and boat but well worth it. The staff say that there is no malaria in the area but there is still a variety of biting insects to protect against so be prepared.

Room Tip: all good rooms but some are close to the dining room/kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

There were 4 of us travelling together, we stayed for 4 nights in 2 cabins twin beds, the cabins were very comfortable, with a hammock on the balcony. We were lucky to be allocated Joao as our guide he was great fun and has a wealth of knowledge to share. All staff were friendly, Paulo the boat guy & Nee the barman! The food was great with a good variety, but of course the key reason to be in the Amazon is the beauty of the jungle and the river system. The activities were great fun (night Cayman spotting, piraña fishing, jungle walks, bird watching) with plenty of time to relax and chill in a hammock. I highly recommend the Juma Lodge its absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma-in-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Autazes
10.0 mi away
Dolphin Lodge
Dolphin Lodge
#1 of 13 in Careiro
87 reviews
8.7 mi away
Amazon Arowana Lodge
Amazon Arowana Lodge
#9 of 186 in Manaus
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reserva Natural Palmari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juma Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juma Amazon Lodge

Property: Juma Amazon Lodge
Address: Left Side of Juma River | Amazon Rain Forest, Autazes, State of Amazonas 69240-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Autazes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Autazes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Juma Amazon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juma Amazon Lodge is a small and comfortable hotel designed to be totally integrated to the Amazon Jungle. The construction and operation of the lodge comply with and respect the limitations of the environment, which is the very reason for the hotel to exist.Juma Amazon Lodge's goal is to offer a real and unique experience in the untouched Amazon Rainforest. All trips are organized in small groups; guests can take part on many activities around the lodge, each one is designed to help explore and learn about this unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Juma Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juma Hotel Autazes
Juma Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing